1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quot Capita

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by avain, Jan 29, 2008.

  1. mice

    mice Moose

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180
    Location:
    tundra
    I'm loading saved games without a hitch. Playing th previous version though, as my marathon games take a while.
     
  2. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    RPG,

    you mean a new game started with beta 3?
    Please send me the savegame! Thanks
     
  3. RPG

    RPG King

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    Cambridge
    It was a beta 3 game, but unfortunately I deleted it.

    I have started another game, this one is loading just fine.
     
  4. Martin79

    Martin79 Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Montréal, Québec
    Will you consider the possibily to add [BtS] "Extra" mod to this super mod? I would love that! This mod comes with the features from Next War and certain features from other default mods. More civics, more wonders, few more units, future era...
     
  5. söör

    söör Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Hi!

    Likes very much !I test it , particularly multiplayer in a manner.
    We have some ideas, but we cannot accomplish it. Would you be able to work on him?
     
  6. RPG

    RPG King

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    Cambridge
    avain,

    Have you been able to get CASA & Influence Driven War to work together?
     
  7. Echo of Celts

    Echo of Celts Just Plain Crazy

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    If you ever do, I would love to know how.
     
  8. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    Hi all!

    About "Extra": I'll most probably try and do my vision of an "extra" mod, which will be this one as soon as it gets done...

    About multiplayer: I don't know how multiplayer-friendly this mod is, or will be - as I never played in multi. At least one info I know about this - even Dale stated that DCM needs improvement in this regard, which is part of QC.

    CASA and Influence DW: I'll check that and see if I can remedy the situation (even though I don't intend to play with CASA, but I see there are big fans out there).
    So this task is on the list for sure, just the current priority #1 is:
    - Checking the CTDs. I'm still getting CTDs with test plays, and I want to solve this issue. Currently I'm in the process of debugging the SDK, which involves some manual log inserts and such to isolate the crash, which is more of an intermittent issue of the WORST kind as far as I can tell.
    But I'm working hard on it!
     
  9. RPG

    RPG King

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    Cambridge
    We appreciate your hard work!
     
  10. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    Well, unfortunately there's still nothing to really appreciate:(
     
  11. RPG

    RPG King

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Nonsense!!

    There is plenty to appreciate! Varietas Delectat, the Modern Era Expansion, Hungary & I'm sure you'll get this mod in good working order!

    BTW, the game I'm playing is going well, I'm a bit over 600 turns into a marathon game. No problems to report. This saved game loaded every time.
     
  12. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    Just a quick note to modders strugling with their (big) modpacks:
    I've found that using modular loading CAN/DOES cause problems, and I've decided to abandon it for my modpack.
     
  13. mamba

    mamba Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,520
    Is this (you abandoning modular loading) true for VD as well ?
     
  14. doronron

    doronron King

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    Home or Work...
    Hmm. That may mean dismantling VD 3.3 into a standard mod. Gonna have to figure out how to do that. Will just dropping the VD artdefines XML stuff into the assets\art\units directory work?

    Same goes for the ethnic art module...

    I do know that when I combined several non-module mods alongside VD 2.1ish, they suffered no errors. Of course, the only SDK change I had was 34 man, and I don't recall any Python stuff.
     
  15. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    Dunno yet. I think it works ok unless we are talking about huge modpacks such as this. It will be de-modularized in QC for sure.


    As VD is only some changed XML and art files, there's no issue with python and SDK. Also, Python and SDK were never subject to modular loading in any mod, so you shouldn't fear about those - it's only XML merging.
     
  16. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
  17. mamba

    mamba Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,520
    So basically you are saying modular xml works with the regular dll but you get into trouble with custom dlls and / or Python changes ?

    I would not expect that, unless there were errors in the dll / Python changes which cause these - but then I never gave it a try.

    What kind of problems did pop up for you related to the modular xml ?

    Curious as I was thinking about adding Bhruic, DCM and maybe some other stuff myself ;)
     
  18. doronron

    doronron King

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    Home or Work...
    I am aware that it is only XML. What I meant was, should taking the XML out of the Modules\XML directory tree and dropping them into the Assets\XML directory tree be sufficient (provided the files those XML tags point to are also moved)?
     
  19. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    Exactly. I wouldn't have expected that either. But sometimes when you rule out everything possible, what remains is the solution.
    Now I'm not 100% dead sure that there are no other errors affecting this, but what I experienced is:
    - Random crashes after loading a game with QC. Random means - sometimes after loading you hit Esc and it crashes, and sometimes you load the exact same game and can continue without problems.
    - Since there's a dll change to save game params, I could not straight remove the modified dll to check the problem, but I could replace it with Dale's dll (which has AIAutoplay and thus the same savegame params), and with Dale's dll, without the Python modification and only with VD modularly loaded - bamm! - there's the same (random) crash.

    Now what I did was remerge the modular VD into the XMLs, and voila! I haven't had the same problems anymore...
     
  20. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    Well, some merging of separated XMLs is needed. I'll upload my next beta and you can check it yourself.
     

Share This Page