1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Return of the Shadow: The War of the Ring

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Scenarios' started by Lord Malbeth, Jun 12, 2009.

  1. ReindeerThistle

    ReindeerThistle Zimmerwald Left

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,048
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA.
    I did not design the mod, and ifmyou see some earlier posts, I played early on the 2012 tweak Lord Malbeth did on his 2009 version ( which I maintain is superior). However, Rohan is still the best to play, hit Isengard hard and fast before they know what hit 'em, and don't be afraid to spend the gold to get moemRiders faster. Build Battleield Medicine after 15 turns and take mthe tech tree to the Oath renewed. You will build two armies and overrun Mordor.

    I have won ten VP games as Rohan.


    In General, Play at Elf level, with normal AI agression, and you will stand a good chance.

    Either way, I agree, it is an easy 8/10 mod, and my favorite of the LOTR mods.

    Good Hunting!
     
  2. Dane338

    Dane338 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Santa Rosa
    Hah! I somehow won as Gondor on Dwarf!

    Got the Fellowship to the Marshes, where I left Boromir behind in Cair Andros (the garrison as well as Faramir were long dead) and then gathered what I had, totally ignoring the defense of my cities aside from Minas Tirith, and marched through Osgiliath (losing it the next turn) past Minas Morgul (I found a way through!) and to Mt. Doom. Nearly gave me a heart attack when I didn't automatically win, but I had it to the next turn. Essentially I did a suicide run akin to the march on the Black Gates, and it worked. Now that I know you can do this, and that it' is like the book, I find it much less frustrating and more fun.

    Lost Pelagrir and another city in the end, though. Most invisible units still and unnecessary annoyance in my opinion.
     
  3. ReindeerThistle

    ReindeerThistle Zimmerwald Left

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,048
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA.
    Yay! Way to go, Dane338! Thanks for the tips.
     
  4. Lord Malbeth

    Lord Malbeth Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,839
    Location:
    Tower of Fornost
    I know that not much has been happening on this page, but I just gotta say that it tickles me pink that people are still playing this! This was kind of my lost hooray into the foray of a Civ III scenario (and my first... this scenario took me YEARS to create). I'm glad people are still enjoying it. If you feel like you can improve upon it at all, go ahead and make a patch! I'd love to see what y'all can do!

    Sorry I don't reply much anymore. I haven't regularly played Civ III in a few years (the last thing I remember doing was patching this guy up). If there are any serious errors, I'll see if I can fix 'em, though.
     
  5. ReindeerThistle

    ReindeerThistle Zimmerwald Left

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,048
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA.
    Lord Malbeth, with my schedule now, it's practically the only Mod I play. :)
    Thanks for your hard work!

    Sent via mobile; apologies for letting Sauron get the Ring in Turn 60!
     
  6. Mayer09

    Mayer09 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Hey everyone, I'm using Civ 3 through Steam, but, I don't have a program files x86 on my computer. For whatever reason, my computer was reformatted and runs an illegitimate version of windows. I have a program files, which has steam in there, but it's an internet shortcut. Basically, Steam isn't a folder I can open up. I'm fairly sure there isn't a place for me to extract this file to. Any help?
     
  7. Lord Malbeth

    Lord Malbeth Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,839
    Location:
    Tower of Fornost
    I'm not sure that I can help you here. Maybe try a different thread that is more about crashes, bugs, and the game mechanics?

    Sorry for the late reply. I'm very happy you are enjoying it! :)
     
  8. Lincoln77

    Lincoln77 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA, USA
    Hello!
    I recently DL'd your scenario and think it is great. I am being attacked by invisible units and thought maybe I did something wrong during the process. Are there supposed to be invisible units?
    Thanks for any light you can shed on this.
    Joel

    I see now that certain units can see these invisible Barrow-Wights, for instance Gimli of the Dwarfs. Are there other units that can see them too or just special ones?
     
  9. Lord Malbeth

    Lord Malbeth Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,839
    Location:
    Tower of Fornost
    I haven't had the chance to play this in a long time, but my guess is that you are being attacked by Barrow Wights.
     
  10. Lord Malbeth

    Lord Malbeth Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,839
    Location:
    Tower of Fornost
    Here's a small patch I've made. Mostly just cosmetic things. I increased the Riders of Rohan's attack by 1 (returned them to what they used to be), made Barrow-Wights and The Undead visible, and really made the wonder "The Return of the King" something to strive for. It's now the equivalent to having Wall Street, a commercial dock, police station, Leonardo's Studio, the Great Wall, and a few others, all rolled into one. You can only get to it if you play as either Arnor or Gondor, though, but it is worth it. "The Oath Fulfilled" also produces a Rider every three turns now.

    Enjoy! Tell me if it makes it better!
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Nimitz96

    Nimitz96 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Middletown,Ohio
    I stumbled upon this, and the other mod "Lord of Middle Earth" while looking for a LOTR mod. I had one a while ago, back when I owned a hard copy of C3C (lost that years ago...thank god for the steam sales....).

    Anyway. I noticed that you thanked ROTCWinter, who made LoME. Is this the successor to all the previous LOTR Mods?

    Thanks!
     
  12. Lord Malbeth

    Lord Malbeth Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,839
    Location:
    Tower of Fornost
    I'm glad you like it/found it.

    In all honesty, I thanked ROTCWinter because I used some of their ideas that were incorporated in the LoME scenario (I think that's where I got the idea to do the Argonath like it is in the game). I guess you could see this as a 'spiritual' successor to the other LOTR mods, since it seems that it is still being played. If anything, its more of a reboot/remake/successor to Quasidemo's fantastic "Lord of the Ring" scenario that was made a long time ago!
     
  13. Apollo12

    Apollo12 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Good game, I'm addicted at the moment :goodjob:
     
  14. Lord Malbeth

    Lord Malbeth Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,839
    Location:
    Tower of Fornost
    Hmm, I really should try to get this working for Macs. As it stands, I can't even play it on my computer due to this reason.

    Stupid sound files...
     
  15. ReindeerThistle

    ReindeerThistle Zimmerwald Left

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,048
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA.
    Weird, Malbeth, because I have CivIII Complete for Mac and it works fine. Sound and all. Mine is a G3 though...
     
  16. Lord Malbeth

    Lord Malbeth Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,839
    Location:
    Tower of Fornost
    I wonder if your G3 is the key. I have a MacBook Pro running OS X, so I could just be "too advanced" in some regards. :p

    The important thing is that you can play it!
     
  17. ReindeerThistle

    ReindeerThistle Zimmerwald Left

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,048
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA.
    Sad news: G3 MAC won't start...

    but I still have the laptop, with Ubuntu 12.04 Precise (Linux) and I run CIV III Conquests in Wine. So... all is good. I can still spend hours at it!

    I had OSX 10.4.11, btw... the latest OSX that could run on a G3.
    So... :dunno:
     
  18. Lord Malbeth

    Lord Malbeth Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,839
    Location:
    Tower of Fornost
    Sorry to hear about the loss, but at least you can still run it.

    That's weird. I wonder what the deal is. I know a few others have had issues, but at least no everyone is sunk!
     
  19. pvincent100

    pvincent100 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    I've been running this on a Mac for ages, no problems - this game is a ton of fun

    Im running a 4 quad Intel Mac 8mb RAM - if you have a G3 probably too old these days...

    No special requirements neededfor a Mac... the biggest issue appears to be files get 'lost' when they unpack. Download it twice, be prepared to make notes and duplicate particular files and rename them and drop them in - exactly where the error tells you too... initially it's a little frustrating, but a bit of patience you will get a very stable game.... (that goes for all of these Mods/Senarios)

    rgs

    Phil
     
  20. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,072
    Location:
    Timeless Isle

Share This Page