1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

RevolutionDCM for BTS

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by glider1, Feb 11, 2008.

  1. phungus420

    phungus420 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,296
    If you could look and just make sure you included all the source files, that would be nice. AUA works fine in the RevDCM available for download, but if you try to build a core with the source code provided, the above error occurs - also the gamecore built is a few kilobytes smaller then the one that comes downloaded. I think we're just missing an altered source file.

    If Firaxis would just release the source code, I'd look at Civ5 and start working on something. But I'll be damned if I start working on hacky LUA mods. I want access to the damned objects themselves!
     
  2. glider1

    glider1 Deity

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    Where animals hop not run
    Hmmm the odd thing is that Mamba took my source files and built Diversica out of it and don't remember him complaining. I'll take a look. Anyway, enjoy life, you and the other modders have done a big service to Civfanatics by leaving them LoR!

    Civ5 will be a great platform to mod with the multiprocessor support. Civ5 in single player is totally broken because of the impossible AI under 1UPT, and so I've been dabbling in Europa Universalis III and so has Jdog5000 I heard. The dream is to take the Civ5 platform, strip it down and start again using some of the best concepts from EUIII. Magna Mundi is coming out in the next couple of weeks and could well put Civ5 to shame in terms of depth of game play.

    Enjoy it, buddy.
     
  3. phungus420

    phungus420 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,296
    Just upload whatever you used to compile the last gamecore for RevDCM. Just zip it, and attach it here to a post. I'm sure there is just a missing file.
     
  4. mamba

    mamba Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,520
    Actually, I did not build RevDCM, but used the latest version (i.e. compiled dll).
     
  5. glider1

    glider1 Deity

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    Where animals hop not run
    Eh Mamba happy new year.

    OK Phungus my old RevDCM laptop still works after sitting in the garage for a year! The battery is dead and so is the plugpack and the screen is loose. Fixed that up and bingo. The old girl even logged me automatically back onto the SVN and recompiled the DLL without a complaint! Man, that is one loyal laptop. Attached are the 206 C++ and header files as per one year ago when RevDCM 290 was released. According to what I am seeing, the SVN is completely up to date if you need to use it.

    Cheers
     
  6. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,530
    Location:
    israel
    hey guys,

    i see some chatter in this thread...

    u guys are back to modding?
     
  7. phungus420

    phungus420 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,296
    I already tried to build a gamecore from the SVN files, no dice, same issue. Like I said, you can build a gamecore fine, it just causes a python exception, and if you turn python exceptions off, the game loads but no unit actions are possible. And again, if you build a gamecore with these files it is a few KB smaller then the gamecore that comes in the RevDCM download. There has to be a file missing, no other explenation.

    If you or afforess can't find the working files to build the current RevDCM 2.9 gamecore, I'll have to try to merge back in AUA line by line from afforess's stand alone AUA modcomp. That'll take hours or days, so I'd rather not do that since I know one of you succesfully built a working gamecore, since the download version works, so one of you must have all the working files. Anyway, thanks for going into the garage and looking. I'll hold off on trying a line by line merge for now and hold out hope either you or afforess find what's missing to save myself extra work, but if neither of you can find anything by tomorrow I just roll up my sleeves and do this the hard way.
     
  8. phungus420

    phungus420 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,296
    And yeah, just tried it again. Copied the RevDCM mod and renamed it to RevDCMTest (changed the ModName.py file and created a valid UserSettings folder in My Documents path in a new RevDCMTest folder as needed). Rebuilt a new gamecore using these files, and also one from the SVN just for shts and giggles. Game loads up fine with no problems using the gamecore that comes with the download, but same problem if I use the freshly built gamecore using the SVN files, or those in the attachment - no unit actions possible or critical python exceptions (if Py exceptions are left on). So again, there has to be something missing in the source files.
     
  9. Habitus

    Habitus Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,138
    Location:
    UK
    Hmmm i can't remember getting that problems during my RevDCM merge with Unique Civics and some other civic modcomps. I'll load it up and check in afew mins as i know several of my test plays i just him enter as it was mainly to make sure the AI would use their UC.
    When i get tme i should really finish my merge too :/
     
  10. glider1

    glider1 Deity

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    Where animals hop not run
    Thanks Habitus. Eh Kel happy new year. Sorry Phungus I was off air yesterday, only catching up the news now. Nothing has happened on RevDCM for so long I'm kinda a bit shocked for the activity. In about six hours time from this post, I'll see if I can fire up the old laptop and take a look in greater detail what is going on. I really don't want to hold you up for the sake of you being able to get into modding again.
    Cheers
     
  11. glider1

    glider1 Deity

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    Where animals hop not run
    Phungi I tried to attach the makefile I used for the final build of RevDCM290 here but Civfanatics upload rejected it for some crazy reason even after zipping it. So I've uploaded it to the SVN and so you can grab it from there. I think the problem could be the makefile because I have memories that I used my old makefile format for RevDCM290. Not sure it's only a guess. At worst it will cost you 15 minutes to recompile. Sorry for any inconvenience.
    Cheers
     
  12. EMBX

    EMBX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Hi guys,

    Almost a year ago I "pestered" Glider allready with this.
    For who want to read our little conversation it starts on page 173 of this thread.

    I think it is the makefile as I also stated in the conversation then with Glider.

    Not sure anymore but I pretty sure I used a makefile from this forum with that fastdepp stuff and then it worked, Still a kb difference (But less then the first not working builds) but the buttons were back.

    Hope it helps you guys.
     
  13. Habitus

    Habitus Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,138
    Location:
    UK
    Now that I think about it, I think I used a different makefile as well (probably the UC one if it was included)
     
  14. glider1

    glider1 Deity

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    Where animals hop not run
    Well done Habitus for being able to compile RevDCM on your own! I totally realize that some people don't have the same skills as you and so we try to help them, but.....

    Pestering does not work when you are dealing with volunteers like myself. It might work if the volunteer is fresh and enthusiastic, but after enough pestering the volunteer gets burnt out. The problem with Civfanatics is that there is no recognition system for volunteers. What happens is that a volunteer like myself will work for nothing for years at Civfanatics without recognition. My upload limit is still only 10MB and the other day the uploader complained about me wanting to upload the makefile!

    But new users keep on coming into the system such as Civfanatics. They don't see the 1000's of hours of work that the volunteer have put into Civfanatics because the system doesn't show it. So the volunteer get's all these ungratefuls making request after request which is ok for the first year or two, but then starts to cause burn out. There are very few people on the internet that have enough insight and perceptiveness to see what the person is doing behind the scenes in the online community and how they may be feeling. At Civfanatics it is total anarchy. A long term responsible contributor like myself, has no officially recognised status on the system, and so new users come in and say what they like at the exact same status as a long term modder, developer or moderator. Now that is fine and "democratic", but it just causes burn out.

    I'm not saying that people shouldn't pester. It's just that it comes down to a simple equation in an anarchical system like Civfanatics that appears to be an online democracy when it isn't. It's a simple equation. When does the pain exceed the gain when you are working for free? At the time of releasing RevDCM290, I was absolutely burnt out after years of modding and the equation went negative. The issue is even worse when the modder is not in the same time zone as the rest of the community (like myself).

    Enjoy it, and sincerely best wishes to all the Civ community out there.
     
  15. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31,211
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Anything which could be done motivation-wise?

    You sometimes have to look around and check how well you're doing.
    RevDCM has more than 18 000 downloads.
    It's #22 in the total Civ4 modpack download statistics. It would be higher if there were not other mods before it, which are also using it.
    "Revolution DCM" has mor than 1000 hits on CFC, there are more than 20 000 hits in the net, "RevDCM" more than 38 000 on CFC and another 2000 in the net.
    You now have to say to yourself "I'm awesome". Your work has left a considerable mark in the Civ4 community. This work here is just great. That's it.
     
  16. 386968798

    386968798 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    nice MOD, I love it ! I think this mod is better than RFC mod!
     
  17. Ferocca

    Ferocca Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    162
    I am playing this mod for quite some time now, and, yes, I love it!
    It's definitely the best mod out here, for me at least.
    I also have one question:
    I know that cities don't culture flip anymore, but that nationality heavily affects the stability in a city. That city either rebels or does not rebel against his leader, or the leader accepts the rebels terms to join 'your' empire: the leader allows the culture flip to your country. Then you get the message that they have been allowed to join your empire, and you can either take it or leave it (and another civilization will emerge). I believe it's okay when you say 'no' - the rebels form their own city state - but when I say 'yes' nothing happens, the city stays foreign property.
    I've been looking around and somebody said you had to walk into that city with a military unit once you accept, I tried it, but it didn't work. Any idea what could be wrong, or is there something simple I am missing that I have to do after accepting the city to my empire?
     
  18. ripple01

    ripple01 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,247
    Location:
    New York City
    I love this mod and would be thrilled to see development on it continue. That being said, I'd be almost as equally thrilled if someone could fix the AI Autoplay bug where it stops for Revolution events.
     
  19. Ferocca

    Ferocca Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    162
    If you mean a national revolution, during which you are asked again about another national revolution within the curren national revolution: I have the same problem.
    It's strange but doesn't really bother me though;)
     
  20. ripple01

    ripple01 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,247
    Location:
    New York City
    Am I going crazy or has the Limited Religion option been removed from the latest RevDCM, v. 2.90? I cannot find the options for this anywhere. If it has been intentionally removed, any plans to add it back in?

    EDIT: Nevermind, I found it. It is a standard game option now.
     

Share This Page