1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

RFC Europe playtesting feedback thread

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall: Europe' started by st.lucifer, Nov 9, 2008.

  1. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,601
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    Both savegames don't cause a crash for me on Windows 7.
     
  2. Civciv5

    Civciv5 Grand Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,087
    Location:
    Nergenshuizen, Belgium
    Well, I have Windows 8, which is notorious for causing games to crash. My old computer rarely crashed while playing Civ4, but runs games quite a bit slower than my current computer.
    EDIT: I fixed it by adding Civ4 to the programs that are granted full access to my computer. :D
     
  3. gilgames

    gilgames Priest-King

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
  4. PinkPallin

    PinkPallin Chieftain Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    Northern Italy
    I tried the Ferdinand game in Windows 10, running BtS in Windows 7 compatibility mode, and it didn't crash.
    Maybe the solution to CTDs is simply asking the player to set BtS this way - it shouldn't affect the other mods, I think.
     
  5. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,601
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    I found the problem. I will upload the fix when Absinthe has committed his upcoming changes.
     
  6. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,646
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Cool, than I dont have to look into it :)
    Still got some WIP stuff, but I will upload the changes I already somewhat tested to the SVN tonight
    No need to tease the players anymore after all the waiting :)
     
  7. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,646
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    I also had experienced less CTDs recently, and I think I even managed to fix some issues in the past few days.
    Furthermore as I already stated last summer, the main problem with the most common CTD was that it tried to access memory cells it wasn't supposed to, which easily has something to do with the OS itself, memory handling, and various drivers.

    I'm fairly certain that all the new stuff (civs, leaders, and whatnot) had nothing to do with the increased number of CTDs. Apart from the fact that additional art and data made it more apparent, but it wasn't because some coding mistakes.

    Anyway, it's awesome news if the mods seems more stable on some more recent windows versions :king:
    Do you mind doing some more tests? I have some various CTD savegames lying around, and I'm really curious if there is a difference for you when you try to run them differently.
     
  8. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,855
    Location:
    Canada
    What exactly did you do?
     
  9. PinkPallin

    PinkPallin Chieftain Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    Northern Italy
    My pc has an AMD A10-7700K apu with integrated Radeon R7 graphics, no other graphic card, 16 GB ram, clean Windows 10 Pro fully updated.
    I run a VMWare Player 12 virtual machine with 2 processors and 6 GB ram, clean Windows 10 Pro fully updated, dedicated only to games.
    In this virtual machine I installed (run as administrator) Civ 4 Vanilla, Warlords and Beyond the Sword. Patched BtS to 3.19. Then right clicking on Civ4BeyondSword.exe I went to Properties and in the Compatibility tab I chose Run in compatibility mode for Windows 7.

    Sorry for being so didactic, I never know if I'm clear enough.
     
  10. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,855
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks - I was really looking for the last statement. Let's see if it works.
    But one can never be too clear or exact. ;)
     
  11. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,855
    Location:
    Canada
    It did work, my save isn't crashing anymore. Thanks!
     
  12. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,855
    Location:
    Canada
    Getting a CTD on this save (yes, it's a continuation of the last one I posted).
     

    Attached Files:

  13. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,601
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    It doesn't crash for me. Here is a save 1 turn later. (Copenhagen and Eisvoll finished production. You should change their production)
     
  14. Baron03

    Baron03 Baron

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    I noticed the start times were still based on fives, so I ran a couple of load times and averaged the beginning civilization starts. I'm just picky that way. On my computer there was a range of ten to twenty seconds or so as the start times grew longer. Rounded up or down if within twenty seconds of a single minute.

    Arabs 1 minute
    Bulgaria 1 minute
    Cordoba 2 minutes - consistently 1:28
    Venice 3 minutes
    Burgundy 3 minutes
    Germans 3 minutes
    Novgorod 4 minutes (rounded up)
    Norway 4 minutes (rounded up)
    Kiev 4 minutes
    Hungary 4 minutes
    Spanish 4 minutes
    Denmark 5 minutes
    Scotland 6 minutes
    Poland 6 minutes
    Genoa 8 minutes
    Moroccans 9 minutes
    English 11 minutes

    Also, Bulgaria starts with orthodoxy as its state religion and the civic paganism.
     
  15. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,855
    Location:
    Canada
    Hmm, so it seems that switching out of Windows 7 compatibility mode and back into Windows 10 resolved the crash...
     
  16. gilgames

    gilgames Priest-King

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    ill do that start up test on my laptop, to represent the players with a "weak" machine too. will post results soon.
     
  17. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,646
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    You have a good machine I guess, they are signifcantly slower for me on my modding laptop :)
    We can set those values to whatever you guys tell us to, but it would be good to see how fast is it for some other players, and find the mean value for them

    Maybe the Bulgarian setup would be best if they started without missionaries or state religion, and with the pagaism civic.
    More historical that way, also leaves more freedom to the player which path to follow.
    Even though orthodoxy is required for an UHVictory, there is plenty of time to switch if you want to go for it. You won't really start to accumulate faith points until you establish the basic infrastructure.

    EDIt:
    Cool, thanks
     
  18. gilgames

    gilgames Priest-King

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    ok here is my result, tho i was a bit lazy to do all:

    arabia 1.25
    bulgaria 2.10
    cordoba 2.50
    venetians 4.45 and -1 turn appeared
    hungary 7.10 they should've start with farries and militarism imo
    genoans 14.20
    english 18.40

    but the point is clear how those times goes up.
     

Share This Page