1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

RFC Europe playtesting feedback thread

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall: Europe' started by st.lucifer, Nov 9, 2008.

  1. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,628
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    Great to see you back. I lost my motivation too, but seeing you here again brought it back.
     
  2. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,895
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    :beer:
    In fact, I'm playtesting right now, fixing/improving various stuff along the way
    Had some really fun test games with Aragon and Morocco earlier this week
     
  3. gilgames

    gilgames Priest-King

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    690
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    Tell us more aout it, we love fun! also..

    Finally you are back!!! It's really makes me and us happy!!!

    But be warned, we will pour our deas on you!

    btw, what about the CTD problem? do you have any solution?

    btw2, you are right, middle ages armies were mostly footsoldiers, and heavy cavarly only supported them. also i would like to see and use more meele/ranged units, imo the key is to modify building costs, dramatically and add further penalities. Knight do not have any right now.

    adding to this, from my studies, i remember countries armies were packed togather and were in move. not station in the cities! thus you cant use your units historically! also the bonus happiness for cities if army is in the city, make it worse...
     
  4. PinkPallin

    PinkPallin Chieftain Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    Northern Italy
    As far as I remember, it happened only under Windows 8 and 10, not under Windows 7.
    Quite a lot of Windows 10 updates since then, I'd like to check whether it happens again.
    Does anyone have a savegame before a CTD?
     
  5. Baron03

    Baron03 Baron

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    A -25% city attack penalty should do it. At least that's what A New Dawn has for most mounted units.

    Without making it too complicated, An extra step could be placing a build limit on the number of knightly units a player can build (maybe a +1 gold per turn as well). For instance 1 knight per city limit. Embyrodead's Sengoku mod uses that to curb powerful units.
     
  6. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,895
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Currently some mounted units have 10% or 20% penalty, while some others don't have any. For example Knights.
    I did not make my mind on it yet, should it be uniformized to all mounted units, or keep it separate, trying to keep some of the current differencies?

    I am familiar with that mod and the mechanics, but RFCE doesn't have any clear line of units connected to nobility.
    While I really like the concept, it would be strange to have it only for Knights and maybe a couple other specific units.
     
  7. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,895
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Also, should Keshiks and Mountes Seljuks have city attack penalty?
    Obviously both are there to bring devastation to the civ, so they will always be balanced in stats/numbers to be successful
    But would it help immersion if they had some penalties against cities nevertheless?
     
  8. Baron03

    Baron03 Baron

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Good question. I like simplicity but keeping it separate might be best for balancing. An earlier mounted unit vs an archer isn't the same as a knight vs a longbow. Good question for the Keshiks and Seljuks because they're unique mounted units... It almost seems irrelevant because you point out the balancing of stats/numbers.

    I liked the idea for limiting knights because they're powerful feudal units. I also liked the idea of adding a halberd/poleax unit to counter the knight (while tying that to running a feudal civic), but that's a lot for a small problem. To me it would be worth limiting the knight.
     
  9. gilgames

    gilgames Priest-King

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    690
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    i say lets add a penality for keshiks too. They are a bit overpowered amyway. no real counter for them only raw power! i was wondering on a unit storng against light cavarly only, ie str 3 + 100% vs light cav. advanced srt 7 + 100% vs light cav.

    btw heavy cavarly - to city atk and + city def but no def bunos or fortify bonus
     
  10. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,887
    Location:
    Canada
    I have this one from several months ago. Still crashes, unfortunately.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Civciv5

    Civciv5 Grand Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Nergenshuizen, Belgium
    I downloaded the latest SVN today, played a game as Spain, went nicely until my game crashes in 1562 AD, and it keeps crashing if I reload. Now I feel like I wasted 2 hours of my time.
     
  12. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,895
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    If you upload a savegame, I can probably tell you how to continue your game
     
  13. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,895
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    I was able to continue your savegame for at least 5-6 turns without any issues
     
  14. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,887
    Location:
    Canada
    Could you post a save from one turn later? Maybe it's something with my specific computer/operating system (I have Windows 10).
     
  15. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,895
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Sure, this is from the beginning of the next turn.
    Mind you, that I have quite a few changes already implemented, or in the process of being implemented.
    Most shouldn't affect savegames at all, but there might be some small differences.
     
  16. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,887
    Location:
    Canada
    Well, it seems to have worked. :)
     
  17. Civciv5

    Civciv5 Grand Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Nergenshuizen, Belgium
    Well, here is a savegame the turn before it crashed.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. PinkPallin

    PinkPallin Chieftain Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    Northern Italy
    I tried the two games in version 1163.
    They both went smooth under Windows 7 and crashed under Windows 10.

    If you want to keep on playing, Civciv5, here's your next turn save.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,887
    Location:
    Canada
    Now the question is why it would be more unstable on Windows 10...
     
  20. Civciv5

    Civciv5 Grand Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Nergenshuizen, Belgium
    Thanks, I'll try it out!
    I have Windows 8, so that might be causing something.
    Crashes again on th turn after 1604 AD.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page