1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

RFCE OMG! Look what happened!

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall: Europe' started by Lady Eleanor, Apr 14, 2011.

  1. Shadow Warlord

    Shadow Warlord Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    272
    If you're asking me, then yes, i'm pretty sure i am (it's been a long time though, but i remember actively keeping updated with the mod until development stopped).

    I remember the major changes being a few new provinces added in (i.e. Holstein), the addition of waterways for ships to pass through land (Denmark, Gallipoli) and some general map redesigns (seriously, looking at the old map in RFCE++ makes me realize how different things were back then).

    But yeah, my pictures have evidence of the dynamic names i added in. I think they look quite nice compared to the static names from before. To my knowledge, the only civs who have actively changing names (not counting vassals, civics, or religion) in the base mod are Arabia, Bulgaria, and Vikings.
     
  2. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,909
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Yeah, those were along my latest changes for the current svn version
    I consider that to be RFCE 1.2

    Most civs have some dynamic names, but you are right, most are set up poorly. and the rest are simply outdated, especially compared to the DCN thread
    To be honest, DCN always seemed somewhat low priority to me, was on the bottom of my list
    So implemeting those plans in the thread was kinda left out in the end, unintentionally of course
     
  3. 2phunkey4u

    2phunkey4u West-Eastern Divan

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    way out west
    NATO intervention in Libya 700 years early...never thought the AI could do that.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,910
    Location:
    Canada
    Speaking of which - are the French dynamic names going to be fixed so that at least we don't see "Frankish Empire" the entire game?
     
  5. 2phunkey4u

    2phunkey4u West-Eastern Divan

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    way out west
    I lost the screenie, but I witnessed Scotland build a city in Galicia after I (as Portgual) had razed La Coruna. Not kidding.
     
  6. gilgames

    gilgames Priest-King

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    694
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
  7. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,909
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Umm.. why don't you trade for more happiness resources?
    Both the Ottomans and Arabia are willing to trade some.
     
  8. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,909
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
  9. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,910
    Location:
    Canada
    Wow, the map was quite different back then...
     
  10. Osakasayama

    Osakasayama Hominid in decline

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    St. Louis
    This is what happens when you get 3 Crusades in a row.

    1st :)
    Spoiler :

    2nd :hmm:
    Spoiler :

    3rd :wow:
    Spoiler :
     
  11. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,909
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    I'm not really sure what do you mean here.
    The increasing number of units?
     
  12. Osakasayama

    Osakasayama Hominid in decline

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    St. Louis
    I think I'm getting waaaaay to many crusader units, especially on the last. Didn't historical crusades scale down in each attempt? Even when the troops go home, the last crusade had 30~40? units left, obviously enough to obliterate Arabia.
    Note that they aren't cumulative, all units from previous crusades in each of the pics were either dead, flipped or goofing around elsewhere.
     
  13. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,909
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Yeah, I agree, but that's an indirect increase, not something directly set this way.
    ATM rules of units are the same for all Crusades.
    The increase is because for later Crusades civs contribute more units, as they have more excess units in most games. There are usually more Catholic civs too.
    This is not always the case though, in some games where there were lot's of wars, most later Crusades were indeed weaker, as it historically happened.
     
  14. Swarbs

    Swarbs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    938
    Not exactly - some of the later crusades (particularly the 5th and 6th) were comparable in size to the earliest ones. But they were less successful, largely because they faced the more powerful Ayyubids and Zengids rather than the disintegrating Fatamids, and also because the Crusaders had effectively severed their own supply links through the 4th Crusade.

    But I do agree that the scaling up of units is a bit much - 73 units is ridiculous in that game! Is it possible to cap the total size of a crusading army at 25 units? That seems a reasonable number, particularly in light of the weakness of the Arab civ in the absence of much of Egypt, Arabia and Mesopotamia from the map.
     
  15. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,909
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Will try to set that later Crusades are roughly the same size, or only somewhat smaller than the first one.
    Also, I reduced even the first one to some degree.
    These are only if the target is an AI civ, for the human player Crusades should remain a huge threat.
    Also found some mistakes in the setup which resulted in some unintentional units in some cases.
     
  16. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,366
    Civ4ScreenShot0087.JPG That's what could happen to real life Europe when Austria becomes Ottoman vassal. Ottomans had 239 Pistolliers.
     
  17. gilgames

    gilgames Priest-King

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    694
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    Dude this France is soooo small, idk what kind of game this was, but obviously not a regular uhv march. Really strange though... :D
     
  18. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,366
    Well, I was trying to keep France more or less historical. Morocco vassalized to Turkey -- you can see how big Morocco is, so that's imidiately triggered Ottoman victory!
     
  19. El Bogus

    El Bogus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    Leipzig, Germany
  20. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,673
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    It's not that special. Cordoba has a special respawn as the Hafsid Empire, which is likely to be the case here.
     

Share This Page