1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

RFCEurope 1.5

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall: Europe' started by AbsintheRed, May 5, 2017.

  1. Mouthwash

    Mouthwash Escaped Lunatic

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,300
    Location:
    Hiding.
    I dunno. Something that isn't used in that region. Green?

    No idea. I just used the Dutch spawn. Every time I've done so I see Castile irrelevant, Kiev huge and powerful, and (forgot to mention) France totally gone.

    One more thing: England's name becomes "Great Britain" once it vassalizes Scotland, but shouldn't Scotland have a better name than "Earldom of Lothian?" It is part of the union after all.
     
  2. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,895
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    I thought Prussian Blue will be the first suggestion.
    At least that's every other one in EU4 :lol:
     
  3. TheMulattoMaker

    TheMulattoMaker Dictator of RF

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,474
    Location:
    Far-GO!
    I agree about Lithuania/Prussia and Burgundy/Aragon. Would like to add one thing though- apparently Genoa and Prussia have the exact same shade of light gray. I was playing as Genoa recently and had Norway and Sweden as vassals. Dying Novgorod jumped on the "they-did-their-second-UHV" dogpile, so I sent my army in Sweden over to deal with them. Their now-Genoan cities were snug up against Prussia... and I couldn't tell where my culture ended and Prussia's began. :lol:
    I'd also like to see something like this. I look at the stability guide fairly often, so I have a pretty good idea what will affect it positively or negatively, but it'd be nice to have an idea where the numbers are coming from. For instance, under Expansion I might have +17/-26 (numbers pulled from posterior). The 17 is probably from my initial settling and building castles, but how much of that -26 is for having too many cities, or from cities in red provinces, or colonies, or what?
     
  4. Swarbs

    Swarbs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    938
    Novgorod Green or Cordoban Green? ;)
     
    QManNL likes this.
  5. gilgames

    gilgames Priest-King

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    690
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    Yes, green Aragon would be nice like Lombardy in ++.
    Lithuania could be dark grey to make it a major distinction.
     
  6. FakeShady

    FakeShady Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Location:
    Singapore
    anyone running civ 4 on steam? I dont think my 10 years old CD works anymore. Are we allowed to freely mod Steam's Civ 4? I recall Steam updates messing with mods on some of my other games...

    Also, do Civs still spawn unconditionally, as long as the year is reached?
     
  7. Chep

    Chep Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,198
    Location:
    Somewhere in Europe
    get it on GOG.com instead of steam ;)

    no idea how the mods work with steam, but yeah civs spawn when their time has come.
     
  8. El Bogus

    El Bogus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Leipzig, Germany
    The game works fine with Steam. I've experienced absolutely no problems with Civ4 mods.
     
  9. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,895
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Civs usually use colors that can be associated with their historic flag or coat of arms.
    There are some mistakes, and it can't be solved everywhere perfectly, but we should aim for that nevertheless.
    I don't think green fits either Prussia or Aragon.
    One more reason for changing the Prussian color. If that's changed then Lithuania can stay the way it is now.
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2017
  10. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,895
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Yep, Civ IV is free to mod on Steam too. I don't think there could be any restrictions if it was true for the original version.
     
  11. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,895
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Conditional spawns did came up a couple times, and actually it's not hard at all to implement it from a technical point of view.
    On the other hand it would be very strange gameplay wise, if say the Ottomans didn't spawn at all.
     
  12. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,895
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Balance for these civs fairly often change in the mod. Cordoba and Kiev were both significantly buffed recently.
    So yeah, AI Castile could probably use a couple more starting units. Also I definitely plan to make some of their core cities better with the map updates.
    Btw, the goal is to have Cordoba as the more powerful player in the Iberian peninsula, so Castile alone can't really match it, and the tides turn later with the Portuguese & Aragonese spawns, with a decisive advantage to the Christian civs when the Chivalric Orders spread.
    It's hard to balance it, especially since in most games we don't want Cordoba to collapse/conquer Castile in the meantime.
    What would be better in your opinion?
    You can find all the implemented DCN names in the corresponding help file in the Reference folder of the mod.
    It's rather uniformized for most of the already updated civs.
     
  13. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,628
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    How would you distinct them from the independents then?
     
  14. cmakk1012

    cmakk1012 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    I would still love it if Rûm was added; it would force the Byzantines out of central Anatolia, it would be comparable in size to civs like Genoa and Burgundy, and its relationship to the Ottomans could be taken from other RFC mods--Ottomans could be a playable respawn of Rûm à la DoC, and Rûm would be crushed 9 times out of 10 by Anatolian Mongols like in SoI. Their UHVs could probably be to never lose a city, to control all of Anatolia and Greece by 1450, and....Islamic Faith Points, maybe? But then it's basically Bulgaria from the other side :lol:
     
    The Turk likes this.
  15. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,887
    Location:
    Canada
    I'm pretty sure the Ottomans aren't a respawn of the Seljuks in DoC, but yeah I'd agree that a Rum civ would be a good addition.
     
    cmakk1012 likes this.
  16. 2phunkey4u

    2phunkey4u West-Eastern Divan

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    way out west
    Personally, I don't have any trouble discerning Prussia/Lithuania and Aragon/Burgundy. Primary colors are similar, yes, but still different if you pay attention. And secondary colors are fine. But if you think it's absolutely necessary...

    You could give Lithuania a bright red-and-blue as in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coat_of_arms_of_Lithuania#/media/File:Coat_of_arms_of_Lithuania.svg It would be hard on the eyes, but still discernible from Poland and Muscovy.

    But you could also make Leon purple(or red)-and-white (or gold) (https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipe..._Arms.svg/2000px-Kingdom_of_Leon_Arms.svg.png) and then swap the primary/secondary of Aragon.
     
  17. cmakk1012

    cmakk1012 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    True, I just meant like Rome/Italy and Persia/Iran, just to not have to add a new civ
     
  18. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,887
    Location:
    Canada
    I don't think that would be much if an issue given how many civs RFCE has currently. Also, hasn't AbsintheRed already expressed how he really doesn't like respawns of civs as other polities?
     
  19. Mouthwash

    Mouthwash Escaped Lunatic

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,300
    Location:
    Hiding.
    I have absolutely no idea. Something that reflects its status as a junior partner in the union?
     
  20. cmakk1012

    cmakk1012 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Yeah, but in this case wouldn't the respawn make sense as one is the direct descendant of the other? If Rûm didn't collapse there would never be an Ottoman state
     

Share This Page