1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

RFCEurope 1.5

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall: Europe' started by AbsintheRed, May 5, 2017.

  1. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,912
    Location:
    Canada
    Well, you could say the same thing about Muscovy and Kiev.
     
  2. gilgames

    gilgames Priest-King

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    697
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    By flags
     
  3. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,933
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    While Rum is a valid candidate, it won't be added along with the 4 already discussed civs.
    There are already way too many planned changes for the mod.
    Maybe we can get back to it later, who knows...
    Actually it's significantly better if their core/spawn area is more or less the same. Respawns can be done much more reasonably if that's the case.
    But yeah, it's usually still much better for gameplay if they are totally separate.
    If Rum will be added at one point to the mod, it will probably be done as a full civ.
     
    cmakk1012 likes this.
  4. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,933
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Well, you see the same anyway. I mean we can have the very same desired role ingame either way: both with having it as a separate civ and with having it as a respawn.
    On the other hand, in the background (technical and coding point of view) it's much more straightforward to have them as a separate civ.
     
    cmakk1012 likes this.
  5. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,933
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Thanks!
    I also don't consider Prussia-Lithuania and Burgundy-Aragon that close. Well, maybe on the minimap.
    So not necessary but it could be made better. On the other hand the border merge of Genoa-Prussia is a real issue.

    Thus Prussia is probably the one which should be changed. Also Aragon I guess, the color of Burgundy is kinda given.
     
  6. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,933
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    It doesn't really work that way for other civs either.
    Check the reference file, we already have quite a few DCNames, you will see the general pattern.
    No, the already mentioned border merge would be an even bigger issue with independents.
    Also, the main thing we want to achieve is that color+position are unique enough for each civ.
     
  7. cmakk1012

    cmakk1012 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    I think Anatolia is adequately represented for now, especially considering the parts of the map currently in greater need of new civs. Which are the four that have been discussed again? Egypt, Tunisia, Crimea...Sicily?
     
  8. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,933
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Yep, those 4.
    Btw, Egypt, Tunisia and Crimea are getting clear for an initial implementation, but there are still lots of things to discuss with Sicily.
    I have some basic ideas for it, but probably a separate brainstorming thread would be great for them.
    Art, leaders, civ color, UP, UHV, UU/UB, and anything related. Let's hear everyone's suggestions.
     
    cmakk1012 likes this.
  9. Mouthwash

    Mouthwash Escaped Lunatic

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,300
    Location:
    Hiding.
    UUs: Mamluks for Egypt, Norman Knights for Sicily, Tatar Horse Archers for Crimea, and Barbary Corsairs for Tunisia. The only UB I can think of is Slave Markets for Crimea.

    Egypt is always yellow (unless you want to be different), and green looks pretty suitable for Tunisia. Maybe pink for Sicily?

    I'm not familiar enough with the game to suggest unique powers or historical victories. :undecide:

    A question: are you also expanding the map to the south?
     
  10. cmakk1012

    cmakk1012 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Alright, trying to read up on Sicily to get a good idea. Lots of interesting info on Norman-Arab-Byzantine culture and how for the first two centuries of Sicily this syncretic culture flourished, so maybe a cultural UB? Norman Cathedral? The cathedral at Monreale is very famous. One of the UHVs could involve culture too, or else great people, seeing as how Sicily supported luminaries from many different cultures.

    Apparently Roger II planned on establishing an empire encompassing Tunisia, Egypt, and the Crusader States before he died; maybe a conquest UHV of Tunis and Egypt, would be quite challenging from such a small power base.
     
  11. TheMulattoMaker

    TheMulattoMaker Dictator of RF

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,474
    Location:
    Far-GO!
    I can't speak for Absinthe, but that's come up a bunch of times before and the answer's always been no. Apparently adding even one line of tiles at the southern edge basically means re-writing the entire map.
     
  12. Mouthwash

    Mouthwash Escaped Lunatic

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,300
    Location:
    Hiding.
    Why is that?
     
  13. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,697
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    The map coordinates start at the bottom. Adding tiles to the bottom requires the coordinates of EVERY tiles to be changed. Also, all other coordinate-related stuff (flipzones, core, stabilitymaps, cnm, spawning spot, spawning resources and many other things) need to be adjusted. Basically everything that is connected to the map needs to be changed, and that's a lot.

    And for what? The only relevant tiles that we would get are 3 tiles in Egypt for each row we add. The rest is just useless desert or ocean. Do note that the AI does takes all extra tiles into account for making decisions, which takes up extra time. It will slow down the game, with adding virtually nothing. And it is certainly not worth the work it requires.
     
    ales_ likes this.
  14. gilgames

    gilgames Priest-King

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    697
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    IT's been long due in my mind, to ask you to separate the four indy's flag. like + x - and a big dot, idk. just to make them different, this way you know who you attack too.
     
    TheMulattoMaker likes this.
  15. TheMulattoMaker

    TheMulattoMaker Dictator of RF

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,474
    Location:
    Far-GO!
    Oh that'd be so nice. Much better than my current method of "look on the military advisor map to figure out which ones are which and then and ALT-S a '3' on all the Indy-3 cities".
     
  16. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,933
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Yeah, I also think it would be helpful for the players.
    While having 4 separate flags will make it even more obvious that the indy cities are of 4 different teams, I guess everyone knows it anyway, so it's not a big loss in immersion.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2017
    ales_ and TheMulattoMaker like this.
  17. gilgames

    gilgames Priest-King

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    697
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    sweet
     
  18. Ecthy

    Ecthy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    245
    I played 1.5 for the first time last night (thanks for the release!) and fired up a game as Muscovy from the 500 AD start. Upon spawning, I spotted a city called Moskva to the west of my starting position, and when it flipped, change its name to Rzhev. Intended to be founded as Moskva? Can make a screenshot if requested.

    Also, one city to the south of Moskva is called "Voronjeh", so it seems like those consonants at the word's end got mixed up?
     
  19. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,933
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Both the map itself and the city name map for Russia could use some updates.
    Right now there are quite a few inconsistencies, even with province/city relations.
    Hopefully we (as in the community) will be able to fix most of it for 1.6.
    I will need quite some help in it, especially in the city name map.
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2017
  20. SanJose

    SanJose Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    685
    Location:
    Moscow
    Ecthy, work on the city name map is under way, at the moment ready for the Galicia-Volyn, Kiev and Chernigov Principalities, now work for Principality of Ryazan'-Murom.
     

Share This Page