1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

RFCEurope 1.5

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall: Europe' started by AbsintheRed, May 5, 2017.

  1. QManNL

    QManNL Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Ayyy I'm also jobless and living with my parent, but I'm not single :p

    We could use another troll around here it's been too pristine... jk lol -- Absinthe PM'd me as well; I was just laying low for a long time but decided to try to become more active since he seemed pretty productive and determined, and I just really appreciated the direct correspondence--I thought it was super nice of him.

    I don't remember seeing you around but it's great to have another RFCE veteran lurking.
     
  2. FakeShady

    FakeShady Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    377
    Location:
    Singapore
    i was from around 2010-2011... not sure if my Civ 4 CD still works LOL. Who the heck still uses CDs, am i right?!

    YO The Turk!! I see you're still here regularly, don't be shy come out and say hi at least! :D:D:D
     
  3. Mouthwash

    Mouthwash Escaped Lunatic

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,300
    Location:
    Hiding.
    So I just opened the mod and saw:

    1. Normal speed only.

    2. Incredibly undetailed mapmaking. Something I would expect from 2007 Civ4 mod.

    I'm not optimistic.
     
  4. El Bogus

    El Bogus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    Leipzig, Germany
    Well... that's constructive! :lol:
    Why don't you explain what you mean by that? I would be interested in examples.
     
  5. Mouthwash

    Mouthwash Escaped Lunatic

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,300
    Location:
    Hiding.
    Compare the RFC:E map to the Giant Earth Map or scripts like PerfectWorld.
     
  6. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,925
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    GEM is bigger, allowing bigger detail? Or has more tile-types? I'm curious what are you talking about.
    Last time I checked it was totally inaccurate geographically compared to the RFCE map. Which is the most important thing by far IMO.
    On PerfectWorld: how can you compare the map to a script?
     
  7. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,925
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    I did take a look at the various scenarios at GEM.
    In fact the map is much smaller, and it has much less terrain and resource types (vanilla Civ IV stuff, with only the resource art changed).
    No real room for anything on the map. I honestly can't put your post about "incredibly undetailed mapmaking in RFCE" anywhere, apart from trolling.
    Here are a couple screenshots from the supposedly more detailed GEM if anyone else is interested:
     

    Attached Files:

    Publicola and gilgames like this.
  8. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,925
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Oh and about the speed levels:
    How can you say anything about the quality of the mod based on a design decision like this? :crazyeye:

    Actually it came up recently:
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2017
  9. Mouthwash

    Mouthwash Escaped Lunatic

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,300
    Location:
    Hiding.
    Civ4 works just fine on maps like that. You don't need to have fields of grasslands punctuated by the occasional resource.

    I was actually looking at France. Specifically, northwestern France. Although I think Italy and Tunisia are less fertile than they should be.

    I'm not claiming you could simply alter the speed without rebalancing it, but certain players (including me) can't stand playing on normal speed. In fact, I only use Marathon. So it's just hard for me.
     
  10. El Bogus

    El Bogus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    Leipzig, Germany
    The game speed isn't even comparable to vanilla BTS. You have a whole new time frame and time/turn is already slowed down.
    The whole point of this mod is to center gameplay in Europe which is as a result massively enlarged. If you want to have a smaller Europe you can always play vanilla RFC, not to mention DoC.
    Also, the map is undergoing some changes. I'm looking forward to AbsintheRed revealing the altered map!
     
  11. Mouthwash

    Mouthwash Escaped Lunatic

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,300
    Location:
    Hiding.
    I didn't say I wanted it 'smaller.' The map isn't bad at all, I just got a bad location.
     
  12. Chep

    Chep Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,198
    Location:
    Somewhere in Europe
    I think you might just want to play something like RFC: DoC instead, Mouthwash. There you got the whole world, your classic Civ4 resources and speed choices, while adding the RFC mechanics. RFC:E is more focused than your "normal" civ. Which should already be clear from the name itself.

    Playing on Marathon is just like lowering the difficulty to "easy". Especially when you have conquest-oriented civs, which is pretty much standard in a mod that actually wants to emulate the countries historical development. I used to play a ton of Marathon as well, just because it really makes things a lot easier. But this is after all the speed that the game actually was intended for.
     
  13. El Bogus

    El Bogus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    Leipzig, Germany
    The Tercio has very low upgrade cost (10 :gold: from Arbalest).
     
  14. El Bogus

    El Bogus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    Leipzig, Germany
    Wanted to provide evidence:
    Merchant Republic.png
    It's 1550. 12 Nations have adopted Merchant Republic including a very large Burgundy which vassalized France and Portugal.
     
  15. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,925
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    No worries.
    And as it was mentioned, some bigger map changes are coming to 1.6.
    Apart from adding some recently introduced terrains and terrain features all around the map (semidesert, islands, reefs) and revising the Northeastern part of Europe and North Africa, some smaller changes will also be implemented, many based on user feedback. Like improving a couple significant city positions, resource rearrangements, etc.
    I actually agree that Northwestern France looks a little plain, that can also be improved.
    Suggestions are always welcomed, preferably in the map thread.
    While I'm pretty sure I don't want to introduce another game speed in RFCE, and would have pointed out that with one speed in a scenario you can't really compare it to any of the vanilla speed options, also that game speed in a scenario-type mod is mostly modifying the difficulty (so basically the combination of what El Bogus and Chep said):
    actually there is a very good chance that the turn number will be increased from 500 to ~600.
    Here is the thread, it's fairly recent: https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/turn-timeline-changes.614941/
     
  16. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,925
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Yeah, upgrades costs are generally too low around Arbalest, given that the production cost for those units are way too close.
    Will be changed anyway with the new unit roster.
    Thanks! Already noted to adjust the values.
    Since the code is already in place in the corresponding AI function, it's only about the right balance now.
    I think I also mentioned that I'm thinking about adding further penalties for not being coastal - i.e. if the given civ doesn't have at least 50% of it's cities by the sea, it should also get heavy penalties for this civic.
    How would that sound?

    EDIT: Under penalties I mean that decreasing the AI value to choose that civic. So no actual ingame penalties of course, even if it still chooses that civic for some reason.
     
    gilgames likes this.
  17. El Bogus

    El Bogus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    Leipzig, Germany
    Sounds good, maybe even 66 % of cities should be coastal. The English wikipedia even redirects Merchant Republic to Maritime republics. It would definitely make sense.
    What about a stability bonus for coastal cities or island cities? That would soften the stability penalty for empires with more than 5 cities.
     
    gilgames likes this.
  18. Mouthwash

    Mouthwash Escaped Lunatic

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,300
    Location:
    Hiding.
    Requests:

    Please please please change the color of either Lithuania or Prussia.

    The Maghreb is just too empty. No Tunisia, no Rustamids, no Tlemcen?

    Castile is way too weak. I've yet to see it take Andalusia, much less become the superpower that it should be. On the other hand, Kiev is too strong and often is (by far) the dominant power in Russia by the sixteenth century. There's a Mongol event, right?

    It's easily possible for the AI to own 30+ cities and remain stable. While this seems realistic for the Ottomans, it's much less so for (say) Burgundy.

    It would be nice if mousing over the stability values could give us detailed information on it, like in Dawn of Civilization.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2017
  19. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,925
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Or maybe it should give stability penalty for non-coastal cities?
     
    gilgames likes this.
  20. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,925
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Maybe. When the new civs are added, I need to revise some civ colors anyway.
    Aragon and Burgundy are also too close, and usually share a border.
    Any color suggestions?

    Tunisia, Sicily, Egypt and Crimea are the next 4 full civs coming to RFCE.
    Here is an interesting thread about the Arabia-Egypt split: https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/egypt-as-a-full-civ.614631/
    Tunisia is also somewhat related, so it's mentioned a couple times.
    It will be mainly focused on the Hafsids and the Barbary Pirates though.

    Ohh, you will hate the Mongol Keshik spawns when you play as Kiev :)
    Their food UHV is really fun though, there is constant urge with the Mongol invasions and the need for religious buildings for the other UHV.

    As the AI, they were significantly buffed recently. In all my games they still collapsed by the end of the 13th century, which should be the general outcome of course.
    Probably it was a rare occasion where they didn't collapse somehow? Or was it a respawn?

    Burgundy has most of France as a potentially historic province (i.e. no penalties if they don't own it, but turns to histroric if they conquer it), so the can become an alternative France in the mod.
    For civs with small core/historic areas it's not really possible to do that.
    Having said that, I also noticed that some AI civs are a little too stable nowadays.

    Yeah, it's on my todo list, but it's a little hard to do it here with the huge number of different modifiers for each category.
    If I manage to do it, it will probably be just showing some lumped together subcategories, like buildings, religion, health, etc.
     

Share This Page