1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Rhye's flag decal pack

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Graphics Modpacks' started by Rhye, Nov 7, 2005.

  1. Alexk

    Alexk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    I've created the mod subfolder structure as described and I've also modified the .xml file. However, the only flags that display correctly are "flagdecal_lions_I.dds" and "flagdecal_labarum.dds". All the other ones display as full white, yellow, black and blue.
    Please advise me, what am I doing wrong?
     
  2. Shivam

    Shivam Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    i had the same problem, specificially with japan and persia.
     
  3. SuperBeaverInc.

    SuperBeaverInc. Groucho

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,923
    Location:
    British Columbia
    The flags work for me, except the barbarians, who appear as white flags. I guess they surrender. :lol:
     
  4. WaxonWaxov

    WaxonWaxov Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Charlotte, North Carolina
    Any thoughts why this one doesn't work?

    My civ's color is Blue. It should show up as a white cross (X shaped) on the blue flag, but it shows up as yellow instead.

    thanks.

    View attachment FlagDECAL_StAndyCross.zip
     
  5. Grimshok

    Grimshok Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    87
    Do the flags HAVE to be limited to two colors? And, Rhye, mind spillin' how you did what you did when you did what you did to make those spectacular emblems?
     
  6. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,594
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    you need to set white into assest\xml\interface\CIV4PlayerColorInfos.xml
     
  7. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,594
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    these decals are two colours only. There's a way to make it multi-coloured but it's more appropriate in a scenario set in modern times (like desert war)
     
  8. Grimshok

    Grimshok Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    87
    But, you didnt mention how you went about makin' them? Does it just wrap a standard picture to the wrinkles, or do you have to warp the picture to look wavey?
     
  9. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,594
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    No warp, it has to be cut, stretched, and made an alpha mask out of it.
    it's far too complex to explain.
     
  10. Tremo

    Tremo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Too bad... I wanted to add a flag to my Civ, but since I couldn't, it now uses a pitch black flag :p Hell, i'd even settle for a single colour (orange) flag at that. :(
     
  11. LAnkou

    LAnkou Breizh A Tao

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,315
    Location:
    Paris, première ville bretonne
    i've created a flag for my civ, but i can't use it, instead, it's a american flag blag (with a white star)
    what was wrong?

    EDIT: ok, now it's not an black american flag anymore, it's a pure white flag. What is the issue with my flag?
    what does <bWhiteFlag> means? set to 0 then 1, but still have the wrong flag
    does the size of the flag very important, in term of size (pixel*pixel?)
     
  12. Shqype

    Shqype Shqyptar

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,468
    Location:
    New York + Shqypni
    I want to create my own flag, but need help. Which program do you use? I see that the flags are all same, the only difference being the colors and shapes used.

    How could I copy a flag so that it maintains consistancy with the others, but edit the colors to create my own custom flag?
     
  13. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,594
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    I use Paint Shop Pro, Corel Photo-Paint and DDS Converter 2, to create shapes.
    Colours can be edited in assest\xml\interface\CIV4PlayerColorInfos.xml
     
  14. rifleman

    rifleman Varangian Guard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    Great job Rhye. First Class.

    (It's about time somebody gave us something that could be used for the Byzantines, let alone everyone else)
     
  15. spincrus

    spincrus sol invictus...

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,079
    Location:
    Turkey, Austria, USA
    Nice job on those flags!

    I was too tired (and a bit sick) when I first discovered the whole darn necessity of doing alpha masks and everything. I need to look into it again but I'm sooo lazy when it comes to this (although masking is done in like 3-4 clicks!)
     
  16. WaxonWaxov

    WaxonWaxov Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Charlotte, North Carolina
    I just create a 128x128 pixel .PNG file in Phtoshop with a transparent background.

    Then I add a WHITE pattern to it (say a skull and crossbones)

    save it as a .PNG

    Use .dds converter to convert it to .dds

    When you choose your civ's color scheme. it has TWO colors. a Primary and a secondary. For example. The DARK_BLUE color scheme has a Primary color fo dark blue and a secondary of yellow.

    The transparent part of your .dds with appear the PRIMARY color and the white part of your .dds will appear as the Secondary.

    Clear as mud?
     
  17. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,594
    Location:
    Japan / South America

    Flags have to be 128x128. In other words, create a bigger rectangle (longer in vertical) with the logo in the middle and resize it to 128x128.

    if bWhiteFlag=1, flags use solid colours, so more than 2 colours. I posted normal flags instead, so that can be assigned any colour combination.

    WaxonWaxov's explaination should help you.
     
  18. Tremo

    Tremo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Yeah, i created my flag (which you can see in my thread in completed modacks) for my civilization (the Netherlands) thanks to WaxonWaxov. Thanks dude!
     
  19. Grimshok

    Grimshok Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    87
    Almost! Actually, it gives me a much better idea on how to learn the stuff, and how to go about it. MANY thanks to you for your efforts! :goodjob:
     
  20. SonicX

    SonicX Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,267
    Location:
    Republic of Flanders (Be)
    How do you preview them like that ?
     

Share This Page