1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Rhye's flag decal pack

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Graphics Modpacks' started by Rhye, Nov 7, 2005.

  1. NikNaks

    NikNaks Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
  2. mamba

    mamba Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,520
    Assuming you have the pic and all you need is to convert it to .dds format, use DXTBmp
     
  3. sourboy

    sourboy Awakening...

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,560
    Location:
    Minnesota
    What is to be changed? Can you be more specific please?

     
  4. sourboy

    sourboy Awakening...

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,560
    Location:
    Minnesota
    damn site lag... double post <deleted>
     
  5. NikNaks

    NikNaks Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
    You're looking to change the <Path> for the civ you're adding the flag to. Just point that to your new file and it should work without a hitch.
     
  6. The Capo

    The Capo godless Heathen

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,302
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Alright, I'll try and figure this out. Thanks for your help.

    I've learned so much about modding in just two weeks its ridiculous. I usually post over at Apolyton (which is where all the people I play "hang out"), but there is so much more info here at CF and its a much better site. But that's how it goes I guess.

    Anyway thanks everyone, if I have trouble with this I'll be sure to ask again.
     
  7. The Capo

    The Capo godless Heathen

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,302
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Do I have to download photoshop for this?
     
  8. mamba

    mamba Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,520
    To convert to dds ? no, DXTBMP alone is enough, provided you have the pic in a format it recognizes (BMP or PNG, probably some others, but these are the only two I used).
     
  9. The Capo

    The Capo godless Heathen

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,302
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Where do I get the "border" from for the button then?
     
  10. Wolfshanze

    Wolfshanze CFC Historian

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    5,689
    Location:
    Florida
    You can use this... just make the black transparent and overlay your image, then make the pink transparent.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. The Capo

    The Capo godless Heathen

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,302
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    I can't seem to edit this right, I pulled up the file using the DXBMP or whatever, and whenver I try to change the color on it it is just plain white in the paint program. How do I get it to show up normally?
     
  12. The Capo

    The Capo godless Heathen

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,302
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Sorry guys, I don't even have a rudementary idea about any this stuff.
     
  13. mamba

    mamba Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,520
    Ok, how many buttons are we speaking of here ? If it is just one or two, send me the graphics (size 56x56, the rest will be the border).
     
  14. The Capo

    The Capo godless Heathen

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,302
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Are you talking to me?
     
  15. mamba

    mamba Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,520
    Yes.

    EDIT : Here are the required files + instructions
     
  16. sourboy

    sourboy Awakening...

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,560
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Where does one find the *.dds flag files for the vanilla civs? I can save over expansion civ's flags, but the vanilla -- are they hard-coded in?
     
  17. Wolfshanze

    Wolfshanze CFC Historian

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    5,689
    Location:
    Florida
    You have to unpack the "Assets" FPK files in the Assets directory of vanilla Civ4. You can use a free utility like PakBuild to unpack those files.
     
  18. KIEJ.MANIK

    KIEJ.MANIK Tlaneloli

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    El Sereno
  19. rogue131

    rogue131 Byzantine Historian

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    300
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Come on, it's the barbs, wouldn't you smile too?
    Building your city, all going well. BAM!:lol:
     
  20. Socratatus

    Socratatus Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,636
    Nah. Get rid of smiling barbs. Totally screws the fearsomeness and unrealistic too.

    p.s. Actually, I had another look. It`s just the way the skull is so it`s actually not that bad. A `smiling` skull can actually look creepy- I think real pirate flags looked like that too. So I`ve changed my mind!
     

Share This Page