1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[SCENARIO] World War I

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Scenarios' started by Jon Shafer, May 6, 2006.

  1. RegentMan

    RegentMan Deity

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    6,951
    Location:
    Washington State
    :goodjob:

    I'm really enjoying this right now. I've always wanted to play as Austria-Hungary in a World War I scenario, and now I can. The scenario is big enough, but at the same time, there aren't millions of units and cities. A nice, basic set up. The opening message was nice and rich too (albeit one typo ;) ); I learned something.

    Again, great scenario!
     
  2. Iuvavus

    Iuvavus Marcomanni Exile

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Iuvavum, Roman Province Noricum
    Thank you Trip for this scenario, it is great!

    Yet one question: I played with Austria/Hungary. Was it your intiention to make it so underdeveloped (banks missing, almost no money, ...) or did you just forget to add buildings to the cities?
    I only played with Austria/Hungary yet, I didn't see how developed the cities of the other civs are, but I think a bit more infrastructure would be nice.
     
  3. Jon Shafer

    Jon Shafer Civilization 5 Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,102
    Location:
    Maryland
    In response to a question brought up a few times:

    The under-developed-ness of many countries is intentional. I wanted to provide some choice between whether to work on buildings or units. If every city had everything built already then there would BE no option: you just build units.

    Although in some cases there are probably some things missing that I wanted in. Truth be told, I was only able to spend about a week on this scenario, start to finish. ;)
     
  4. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,041
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Trip, what was the original or intended tech rate for this scenario?
     
  5. Jon Shafer

    Jon Shafer Civilization 5 Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,102
    Location:
    Maryland
    Well, I was certainly hoping that the countries would get to Tanks by the end. ;) If that's not the case it'll need to be changed. I'll try to find some time to release a v2 with improvements and changes based on this thread.
     
  6. TrailblazingScot

    TrailblazingScot I was kittenOFchaos

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    6,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Brighouse, England
    On the sea-mines part, the Nation whose mines they are should be able to move through them (they'll know the gaps you'd hope) so the German High Seas fleet could go out to fight for the North Sea :)

    I've always wondered why on day 1 of the War Britain didn't get her whole fleet together pretty much and not just decend upon the German coast and level Hamburg, Kiel and the Kiel Canal. I'd have done it. But, then I'd have also run the mines in the Dardenelles and laugh off the loss of some old rustbuckets to force my way to Constantinople.

    Good thing I just teach and play computer games :D
     
  7. jlocke

    jlocke Cold Warrior

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    University of Chicago
    you edit the worldbuildersave text file, up at the top, change CALENDER_MONTHS to CALENDER_WEEKS.

    @ Dom Pedro: You should contact Kopernikus, hopefully we and many others will collaborate on a mod of this mod.
     
  8. shawne3386

    shawne3386 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Southern Illinois
    Whenever I load the mod, the factory civs appear instead of the scenario civs. I obviously have something in the wrong place, but I can't figure out what. Any help would be highly appreciated.
     
  9. Roibeárd

    Roibeárd Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    NYC
    Hey Trip:

    I think I found one little bug: Occasionally, rebels spawn on top of mountains.
     
  10. MarcusSaurono

    MarcusSaurono Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Kentucky
    kittenOFchaos, they didn't do it because the shore batteries the Germans had installed were so strong, the passages in so heavily mined and the number of short range U-boats so high that they feared losing most of the fleet before they had a chance to engage the German High Seas Fleet. Based on what happened at the Dardenelles they were right not to.
     
  11. Dom Pedro II

    Dom Pedro II Modder For Life

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,811
    Location:
    Exit 16, New Jersey
    Well, even if you didn't want the player to be able to move through his own mine field, he'd still be able to unless you created a Python script otherwise since players can have any of their own units occupying the same square. So that works out by default.

    And I understand that, but since there's no choice but war, there's little choice but to build units. While I would certainly leave a number of improvements left to be built in most cities, some of them are seriously underdeveloped. Playing as Italy, I had to spend most of the game just getting my economy into some kind of working order. I realize, of course, that Italy, Austria-Hungary and the Ottomans are naturally going to be less developed than the main belligerents, but still. There should at least have been Libraries and Theaters in some of those Italian cities.

    But basically, even for Britain, researching aircraft would've taken 28 turns. So that would be half the game before airplanes would be available... perhaps another 30 turns to discover a tech to give you Advanced Inf. or Advanced Light Arties. And that's with a 70% science rate. France, for example, needs like a 30% science rate just to avoid being seriously in debt every turn. I mean -10 gold/turn when you've got 100 gold is not terrible, but -90 gold/turn at the outset is not good...

    This is especially true for the AI which is programmed to build units almost to the exclusion of anything else. Most of the French cities were 1/4 of their original size by the end of the game. Paris was down to a size 3 and it had never been captured before I got there.
     
  12. Koba the Dread

    Koba the Dread Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    New York, USA
    IMHO, after finishing BFEA and this scenario I have to say that I am disappointed. I am thankful that Trip took the time to give us two free scenarios and they are quite playable and fun. But, they come across as rush jobs.

    IMHO, Paasky's WWII SF&B is the best scenario for CIV IV. I am not going to list all of the faults with these scenarios, that would be rude and obnoxious. But, for a Firaxis programmer to give us something rushed and unfinished, well it's disappointing - sorry.
     
  13. O.O. Howard

    O.O. Howard Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Ozarks, Mo
    I am at work. i never post stuff while at work until now. i want to counterpost the koba who says it is rude for a game designer guy to place a scenario like this on the boards.
    I want to say "Thanks for putting this scenario up. Thanks for doing something for us!" i love WWI and i love Austria/hungary empire. i found the weakness of my empire appropriate and relative to the other powers its fine. i will not take the time to criticize the little things right now. besides, i want to point out its RUDE to knock something that someone gives you for free....
    thanks again for a nice mod/scenario. like all mods it will get better if you work with the community and do some polishing.
    Thanks for a nice scenario!
    Have i erased the bad taste from the earlier RUDE post? Hope so. Please post more scenarios, i play them.
     
  14. jkline3

    jkline3 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    I don't normally post, but I really have to agree with O.O. Howard. Trip has already stated that he spent a week start to finish - if you want to call that a rush job, fine.

    "But, for a Firaxis programmer to GIVE us something rushed and unfinished, well it's disappointing - sorry."

    Key word: give. Nobody had to spend a penny on these. It's something for nothing. Trip was under no obligation to put this out, and for one I'm thankful he did.
     
  15. Koba the Dread

    Koba the Dread Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    New York, USA
    1st O.O. Howard: re-read my post. I said "I am not going to list all of the faults with these scenarios, that would be rude and obnoxious." Nonetheless, it is still my opinion, and only one opinion at that.

    2nd jkline3: "I am thankful that Trip took the time to give us two free scenarios and they are quite playable and fun." I agree with you whole heartedly, but, it is just my opnion that's all.

    Folks, don't be so defensive. Trip, if I offended you, I sincerely apologize.
     
  16. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,041
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Well, for a scenario that took one week to do, it is great! It is REALLY great! It has some issues, but nothing terrible...

    Trip, about the german-barbarian flag issue, I changed Germany´s color to GREY and Serbia´s color to DARK_BLUE (it has dark blur in it´s flag) it seems this resolved that issue, but i´ll check on it more later.

    Great job, man, great job!
     
  17. Civmatrix

    Civmatrix Warlord

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    167
    Finally something I can play with the 1.61 patch. Im enjoying it sofar in multiplayer with no troubles :D Nice work


    Too Bad Firaxis doesnt make an editor so that more people who dont know the code could Mod as well. I'd even pay extra for it... OH well thank goodness there are people such as yourself that help by making mods
     
  18. Brian_B

    Brian_B Warlord

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    223
    FYI, Paasky doesn't even have a working version of his mod up at the moment after his recent change. That's not a slap at him but it just undermines your point: scenarios are works in progress. These people do things in their own personal time regardless of if they are a computer programmer or not.


    I think it's quite enjoyable. A lot of people on here are far too demanding in terms of historical accuracy and the slew of specified techs, units, mods, etc. they want in a given scenario. IMO, the best scenarios are simple and to the point. One you can sit down and play without reading up on the 50 new units inserted into the game on massive maps that load on only the most high end of computers.
     
  19. Jon Shafer

    Jon Shafer Civilization 5 Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,102
    Location:
    Maryland
    Oh trust me, I hear a lot worse than that about some of my work. ;) All developers do. That's just how the entertainment industry works.

    As I said, I unfortunately had only a week to spend on this, and would have to have put more time into it, but that's how it is. There are certainly different ways of spinning that. ;)

    In any case, thanks to everyone for their support. If there's even one person out there who has fun playing then my goal is already accomplished. :)
     
  20. Civmatrix

    Civmatrix Warlord

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    167
    IN 1916 as soon as conscription buildings and Italy came to war at my friend and I the game ended and we tried to play on saying play one more turn. Then it said after a while on both computers memory cannot be read. And the names of all the leader run along bottom of the screen. We tried a few times and said ame thing Just thought Id let you know :crazyeye:

    It was fun up to that point though.
     

Share This Page