1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[R&F] Should be England be "Un-Nerfed"?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Trav'ling Canuck, Mar 8, 2018.

?

Should England receive a free melee unit after conquering a city not on it's home continent?

  1. No, the March 2018 patch got it right. Free melee unit on city settle only.

    32 vote(s)
    18.0%
  2. Yes, but only once per city, so no "free city farming"

    129 vote(s)
    72.5%
  3. Yes, every time the conquer a city, just like it was before the March 2018 patch

    17 vote(s)
    9.6%
  1. acluewithout

    acluewithout Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3,447
    Actually. The two things which really annoy me is that: First, Zulu are a getting a version of England’s Pax Britney - free corps army when you conquer a city - just when England’s ‘original’ version is getting nerfed. So salty.

    And Second, there was already lots of internet discussion about how the nerf to trade stacking made an (already not super strong) England significantly weaker (although I get some people regardless don’t want TR stacking restored as a solution). And yet despite this, England gets nerfed again.

    Look, I’m a big fan of Firaxis. And I think they’re doing a good job all in all. I have no idea how hard getting all this stuff out and working is, but my guess is ‘pretty hard’. Everything I see or hear suggests to me these guys really love the game and are flat out making it the best it can be. And lots of the game is brilliant.

    And I get there was an exploit around free cities and Pax Baloney, that they were aiming to get a first patch out super fast, and maybe this nerf was then most pragmatic solution for now.

    And I get that maybe seriously rebalancing vanilla civs is something you do after you get the expansion working properly.

    It’s just that... crikey... I’m on a mac so I don’t even have R&F yet. So I have to wait for that to be ported, then possible this patch to be ported, then another patch to come out balancing England, then wait for that to be ported. (And no, boot camp and geo force whatever aren’t a way forward for me, and no, I don’t really play civ other than England, ... except maybe Norway, and yes I appreciate I may be nuts.)

    I’m not blaming the Firaxis guys. It’s just, well, ... sigh ...
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  2. OmegaDestroyer

    OmegaDestroyer King

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2018
    Messages:
    710
    Gender:
    Male
    England should be restored to where it was prepatch but also limited so it cannot farm free cities.

    I'm of the opinion the ability was always to grant a free melee unit to a conquered city since it was stated in the description and has been present since the beginning. I don't see how it makes less sense than the Zulu magically gaining a corp/army from capturing a city.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2018
  3. tedhebert

    tedhebert Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    1,337
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    This !
     
  4. acluewithout

    acluewithout Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3,447
    Agreed

    #makeenglandgreatagain
     
    History_Guy and Duuk like this.
  5. Katakanja

    Katakanja Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,258
    It does leave something of a bad taste when Firaxis changes it and then suddenly decides to call the old conquering behaviour a "bug" when they wrote the original description describing it as an intended part of the ability. Doubly so when that description remains present in the game after the change even while they maintain it was always a "bug" :rolleyes:
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  6. juanpavo

    juanpavo Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Question for the mod squad: How hard would it be to mod back in the "free unit with captured city" ability?
     
  7. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,580
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    I'm agnostic on this point.
     
    Timodelphia likes this.
  8. DWilson

    DWilson Where am I? What turn is it?

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,923
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI, USA
    As an American, I approve. I'm also inclined to say we should all sign it individually, and title it "Declaration of <something>"
     
    King Rad and Buni0ns like this.
  9. isau

    isau Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,071
    I don't get the point of even having this ability if it applies only to settled cities. Talk about hunting a wildcard... either you'll end up starting directly next to a new continent and get a free-ish starter army right at the beginning, or else you earn 1 random soldier sometime in the late game on the remote chance you find a spot to settle a city, in a game that just introduced a Loyalty system to punish that.

    The original wording of the ability says: "Founding or conquering a city on a continent other than your home continent grants a free melee unit in that city."

    Where was the bug fix?

    I had already modded England to provide a free unit on settling anywhere on another continent or on the coast in order to take some of the edge off of the randomness of starting close/far from a second continent. I don't know what to say now that the ability is even worse than before I specifically noted it as so broken it needed a custom written patch.
     
  10. Frostburn

    Frostburn Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    Messages:
    151
    Gender:
    Male
    I chose the second option. If there is some technical reason that makes it somehow different to Alex's where they can't achieve making the bonus without free cities, they should get another form of compensation
     
  11. OmegaDestroyer

    OmegaDestroyer King

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2018
    Messages:
    710
    Gender:
    Male
    No need to worry about loyalty! The RND now gives +4 loyalty per round on a foreign continent! It easily makes up for the loss of the extra trade route!

    And seeing as how fast it is to build a RND in a new city, without developed plots, you can probably enjoy that +4 loyalty in 20-35 turns.

    I wonder what they will change about England next. Maybe if you have a tea resource, America will get +20 attack strength against you? Or perhaps Sea Dogs will all require iron to build? How about Red Coats get -10 when fighting non-army units?
     
  12. WillowBrook

    WillowBrook Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3,453
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    The free unit on conquest seemed a little weird to me, but I wouldn't object to it returning in a form more difficult to exploit. Perhaps you only get the unit once the conquered city becomes fully loyal to England, and only once per city.

    But a different buff to make up for this and the trade route nerf would also be fine with me - maybe an extra trade route each time you settle on a continent you've not settled before and after you enter the renaissance.
     
  13. Archon_Wing

    Archon_Wing Vote for me or die

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,239
    Gender:
    Male
    I know, and you know how much 4 loyalty means against a established rival on another continent means.
     
  14. GoodSarmatian

    GoodSarmatian Jokerfied Western Male

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    9,408
    Gender:
    Male
    Hasn't England suffered enough ?
    They lost their additional trade routes and now part of the Leader Ability.
    Granted, it was never a particularly good ability to begin with, but that's just insult to injury.
    Many other civs got indirect buffs.
    Germany got stronger because of the Government district and the buff to the Entertainment Complex which also improves Brazil.
    France is legit good now because of the visibility combat bonus and new spy missions. Only England got hit with the nerf hammer.

    Agree with all of that. Just get rid of the free melee units from other continents ang give them some other ability that doesn't rely so much on location.
    Maybe a free melee unit whenever you become Suzerain of a CS for the first time and/or just additional gold on improved luxury recources.
     
  15. uniemaia

    uniemaia Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Female
    Yes, every time the conquer a city, just like it was before the March 2018 patch
     
  16. isau

    isau Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,071
    If they must eliminate the ability get the unit free from city capture then IMO the ability should just be "Get a free melee unit when you found a city." No other continent required. How can anyone call that overpowered with Scythia and Zulu in this game. If you simply have to make it weaker than that make it require a coastal city and not be the capital. It would still be pretty weak but not as poor as this latest design.
     
  17. nzcamel

    nzcamel Nahtanoj the Magnificent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,082
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    I'd agree, yet the ability as it stands ties in with Vickie's agenda, and certainly is immersive, and is a very unique play style. Why undo all that?
     
  18. Cyon

    Cyon Cosmonaut

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    853
    Location:
    Sweden, Stockholm
    Could be two units for cities you settle on different continents, no units for conquer. And maybe buff the extra gold yield from docks.
     
  19. megabearsfan

    megabearsfan Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    What exactly is meant by "trade stacking"? Is this referring to the old practice of getting 2 trade routes per city by having a commercial hub AND harbor?

    I think the map scripts needs to have more logic for creating island chains and smaller landmasses separated by shallow water. I believe Civ V had a map type called "Continents Plus" that did something like this. England (and Indonesia and maybe Australia) should have a start bias for starting on such islands or smaller landmasses. That would at least increase the likelihood of having another land mass to settle on.

    Put simply: I agree that with the current map scripts, England's revised power seems to be a crap shoot. I like the idea pitched near the beginning of this thread that England should only get the free unit when capturing a city belonging to another civ or city state. So no free units from independent cities. That seems like it would solve the problem.

    Or maybe a buff to intercontinental trade? Ideally something that works for both internal trade routes (if you're building intercontinental empires), and with foreign routes.
    Maybe "Trade routes to cities on another continent provide extra gold equal to the sum of all other non-gold yields". Or "Trade routes to cities on another continent provide +2 gold. This bonus in increased by 1 at the start of each new era."
    Or, "Lighthouses grant additional trade routes, even if the city already has a Market."
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 9, 2018
  20. nzcamel

    nzcamel Nahtanoj the Magnificent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,082
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Good question! I'm a bit confused over why people feel England had an ongoing advantage in that area, after only the first built of the two gave a trade route.

    I think the logic is that cos England built the Dockyards twice as fast as others built Harbours, they got the trade route twice as fast. Now that it comes with the lighthouse instead it does take them longer. Then...it takes everyone longer, so I don't see it as anything more than a very minor nerf.
    Unless someone cares to enlighten me on what I'm missing.
     

Share This Page