1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Snofru's Space Maps

Discussion in 'Maps & Scenarios' started by Snofru1, Dec 11, 2018.

  1. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,117
    Location:
    Poland
    Remove starting gold from civs - it seems they got it from natural wonders when you saved map.
     
  2. Snofru1

    Snofru1 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,248
    Location:
    Germany
    Looks like this gold is normal for Noble starts. I have removed it anyway...
     
  3. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,117
    Location:
    Poland
    I mean they had variable amount of gold from discovering national wonders on game start.
     
  4. Snofru1

    Snofru1 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,248
    Location:
    Germany
    I have added a new Space Map with a standard size Archipelago world to the 1st post.
     
    KaTiON_PT and raxo2222 like this.
  5. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,117
    Location:
    Poland
    Civs aren't random - they are set in stone.

    If you want to have selectable civs in random places, then you should use something like this for each player depending on how many civs you want to have.
    Code:
    BeginPlayer
        Team=0
        LeaderType=NONE
        CivType=NONE
        Color=NONE
        ArtStyle=NONE
        Handicap=HANDICAP_NOBLE
        RandomStartLocation=true
    EndPlayer
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2018
    KaTiON_PT likes this.
  6. KaTiON_PT

    KaTiON_PT Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,090
    Location:
    Portugal
    @raxo2222 is the game smart enough to spawn the civilizations in the earth part?
     
  7. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,117
    Location:
    Poland
    No idea, @Thunderbrd may know.
     
  8. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,339
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I do not know the answer to this though I would suspect it doesn't DIRECTLY. There may be indirect reasons though.
     
  9. Snofru1

    Snofru1 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,248
    Location:
    Germany
    I´ll give it a try though, excellent suggestion!

    Added later: Nope, doesn´t work, the duel map ctd'ed and with the standard map I started on Mars.

    Is it possible to start at a given plot but with a random nation?
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2018
  10. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,339
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I hope so because I'd much prefer that - or a chosen nation at game setup.
     
  11. Snofru1

    Snofru1 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,248
    Location:
    Germany
    This does seem to work (starting location coming from the random earth map but with selectable civs):

    Code:
    BeginPlayer
        Team=0
        LeaderType=NONE
        CivType=NONE
        Color=NONE
        ArtStyle=NONE
        Handicap=HANDICAP_NOBLE
        PlayableCiv=1
        MinorNationStatus=0
        StartingGold=0
        StartingX=68, StartingY=46
        RandomStartLocation=false
    EndPlayer
    
    Do you think this makes sense?
     
  12. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,339
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Good rule of thumb with any kind of modding - if it works, you got it! I don't know much about map and scenario setups so maybe Rax could comment more.
     
  13. Snofru1

    Snofru1 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,248
    Location:
    Germany
    OK, I will wait for some more input on this from @raxo2222 or @KaTiON_PT and if it works and if there is no more superfluous code I will include this in all the maps tomorrow.
     
  14. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,117
    Location:
    Poland
    Yep, this works as it should.
     
  15. Snofru1

    Snofru1 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,248
    Location:
    Germany
    I tested the last setup more and found out that it is still not 100% where I want to be.
    With the standard map the 8 players (numbered 0 to 7) start as they should: On their assigned starting points, the player can choose his own civ and the ones for his opponents.
    But then you can add more AI civs in the custom scenario interface and these starting points are random and can be anywhere on the space map (I have seen them on "earth2" of the Duel space map).
    Is there a chance to limit the number of civs (e.g. to 8 in this example) but still have them freely selectable?

    The code for civs 7 and 8 currently are as following:

    Code:
    BeginPlayer
        Team=7
        LeaderType=NONE
        CivType=NONE
        Color=NONE
        ArtStyle=NONE
        Handicap=HANDICAP_NOBLE
       PlayableCiv=1
       MinorNationStatus=0
       StartingGold=0
       StartingX=118, StartingY=45
       RandomStartLocation=false
    EndPlayer
    BeginPlayer
       Team=8
       LeaderType=NONE
       CivType=NONE
    EndPlayer
    
    The former code that had fixed civilizations meaning you can´t them choose at all but also the number of civs is fixed is this:

    Code:
    BeginPlayer
        Team=7
        LeaderType=LEADER_KAMEHAMEHA
        LeaderName=TXT_KEY_LEADER_KAMEHAMEHA
        CivDesc=TXT_KEY_CIV_POLYNESIA_DESC
        CivShortDesc=TXT_KEY_CIV_POLYNESIA_SHORT_DESC
        CivAdjective=TXT_KEY_CIV_POLYNESIA_ADJECTIVE
        FlagDecal=Modules/Custom_Civilizations/Polynesia/FlagDECAL_Polynesia.dds
        WhiteFlag=0
        CivType=CIVILIZATION_POLYNESIA
        Color=PLAYERCOLOR_POLYNESIA
        ArtStyle=ARTSTYLE_SOUTH_EAST_ASIA
        PlayableCiv=1
        MinorNationStatus=0
        StartingGold=0
        StartingX=118, StartingY=45
        RandomStartLocation=false
    EndPlayer
    BeginPlayer
        Team=8
        LeaderType=NONE
        CivType=NONE
    EndPlayer
     
  16. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,117
    Location:
    Poland
    No idea how to do so.

    I guess @Thunderbrd needs to adjust code, so both spawning barbarians and starting civ coords would ALWAYS look for tiles belonging to Earth map category.
    Or at least fix it so hills, peaks and fresh water sources doesn't break it if such code already exists.
     
  17. Snofru1

    Snofru1 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,248
    Location:
    Germany
    I have put new versions of my (so far) 3 space maps into the 1st posting. You can now choose your civ as well as the AI civs. You can also reduce the number of civs but you should never increase it to more than the recommended number. Aditional civs will land somewhere in space or will be killed immediately.
    I have put a warning into the 1st post and also in the description of each map. While this is not perfect I think the option to choose your civ outweighs the negatives.

    I still would be highly interested if someone has an idea how to limit the number of civs but still have them freely selectable.

    PS: Strangely the scenario settings for the Duel map recommend only 2 civs in total. You can safely use 3 instead, I have tested this (never use 4 though!).
     
    KaTiON_PT likes this.
  18. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,339
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Sorry guys but you can't look to me for help with this sort of thing for a long time. I've got a lot on the plate and I've never interacted with anything to do with initial spawning code. I've seen it in map scripts but that's exactly what this is not so I'm really lost as to where to even look.
     
    raxo2222 likes this.
  19. Snofru1

    Snofru1 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,248
    Location:
    Germany
    I have added another map: Waterworld on the Standard map, 8 Civs. There is a lot of water on this map and not very much space for everyone. Some civs have better starts than others...
     
    KaTiON_PT likes this.
  20. Snofru1

    Snofru1 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,248
    Location:
    Germany
    And another map, with a standard size Pangea starting world. The continent is pretty large so this time 12 civilisations are allowed.

    With this I have finished the standard maps (for now). More duel size maps will come...
     
    KaTiON_PT likes this.

Share This Page