1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Space Colonization modmod

Discussion in 'C2C mod mods' started by pepper2000, Jan 22, 2016.

  1. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26,316
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I'm not as concerned with that... in RL, would it really require being near the equator?
     
  2. tmv

    tmv Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,226
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
  3. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,505
    Well you need a teather on the other hemisphere as well; but theoretically you could build one in Alaska and one in southern Chile.
     
  4. Snofru1

    Snofru1 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,091
    Location:
    Germany
    I am at a loss with my current game with the Alien Solar Map. I have researched Lunar Colonization but I still can´t construct a Lunar Settler. I have built a Space Station and upgraded it to Level 3 and I have founded cities in Cislunar Space. As I understand it I can only construct a Lunar Settler in a Cislunar City and therefore I need an Orbital Factory and Rocket Fuel there. I have built the Orbital Factory but I have no idea how to get the Rocket Fuel into space. There are options for this (like capturing an asteroid or building a Rocket Fuel producing building in a space settlement) but all of them seem to need to have a lunar settlement first which I can´t build.
    Can someone give me a hint how to get the 1st Lunar Settler?
     
  5. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6,313
    Location:
    Poland
    You need to build lunar base improvement first somewhere on Moon.
     
  6. Snofru1

    Snofru1 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,091
    Location:
    Germany
    The Lunar Base was also built before.

    But now I found out by myself: Build a Heavy Rocket, travel to the Space Station, there it can be upgraded to a Lunar Settler.
     
    KaTiON_PT likes this.
  7. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6,313
    Location:
    Poland
    @pepper2000 Can I delete deep space terrain? For now it is commented out.
    Or will you make use of this terrain?
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2018
  8. pepper2000

    pepper2000 King

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    890
    I'm indifferent as to what you do with the terrain. I have no plans to use it, and we can always add it back in or make a new one if needed.
     
    raxo2222 likes this.
  9. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6,313
    Location:
    Poland
    I commented it out in my last commit.
    I completely purged this terrain now on my side.
    Black Hole spawning location was Deep Space so now it has closed tag like this: <TAG/>

    Can I remove all latitude limits from space buildings?
    Space elevator and national wonder space related building have latitude limits.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2018
  10. pepper2000

    pepper2000 King

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    890
    This is something that we've debated before. I would support the change, given that there is no consensus on basic principles for space maps, but I don't think there is full agreement.
     
    raxo2222 likes this.
  11. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6,313
    Location:
    Poland
    I can tag @Thunderbrd but I think for others there is not much difference as space content is in early stage after not existing for 10 years :p

    Pepper how far into tech tree I can go with removal of redundant AND prereqs and with adding arrows to floating techs?
    You are going to add/change techs.
    Also don't forget to recost things as you change buildings/techs Xgrid.
    Building cost is based on most expensive (highest Xgrid) tech requirement.
    Off world buildings are exception of course.

    Here is excel guide to building costs and tech locations among other things.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 3, 2018
  12. pepper2000

    pepper2000 King

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    890
    As much as you want. I have a few that I plan to add after the next release, but my changes shouldn't clash with yours.

    Your latest SVN update is OK, but as a general rule please be careful about editing modules. Some of the files in my module are generated through a python script, so if you make changes there, it could cause a conflict with my work.
     
    raxo2222 likes this.
  13. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6,313
    Location:
    Poland
    Those were just two small fixes anything more substantial and I would ask you directly in this thread.
     
  14. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26,316
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    That's more a matter to discuss with DH I think if we're talking about lattitude restrictions. I'm of the opinion we should probably stop using them because they don't sit well with alternative map types and sometimes even earth maps and that terrain prereqs may often be better.

    Some of his costing isn't as based on x-grid for otherworld buildings.
     
    raxo2222 likes this.
  15. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6,313
    Location:
    Poland
    I was talking about latitude limits for space buildings, and removed only those in my last commit.

    I know that off-world building costs aren't based on Xgrid, I just forgot to mention that :p
     
  16. tmv

    tmv Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,226
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    That is on purpose. These new cities (which cannot build many buildings) are far weaker than earth cities.
     
  17. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6,313
    Location:
    Poland
    I know that.
     
  18. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6,313
    Location:
    Poland
    Hmmm Thunderbrd modified one of files in your modules (EarthBuildings) in last SVN... :p:mischief:
     
  19. pepper2000

    pepper2000 King

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    890
    Yeah, I see that. Thanks for alerting me.
     
  20. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6,313
    Location:
    Poland
    @pepper2000 I saw techs defined like this:
    Code:
           <TechInfo>
               <Type>TECH_MARINEARCHITECTURE</Type>
               <AndPreReqs>
                   <PrereqTech>TECH_UNMANNEDSEA</PrereqTech>
                   <PrereqTech>TECH_MEGACITIES</PrereqTech>
               </AndPreReqs>
           </TechInfo>
           <TechInfo>
               <Type>TECH_MESH_NETWORKS</Type>
               <AndPreReqs>
                   <PrereqTech>TECH_INVISIBILITY</PrereqTech>
                   <PrereqTech>TECH_MEGACITIES</PrereqTech>
               </AndPreReqs>
           </TechInfo>
           <TechInfo>
               <Type>TECH_LUNAR_COLONIZATION</Type>
               <AndPreReqs>
                   <PrereqTech>TECH_CSPACECRAFT</PrereqTech>
                   <PrereqTech>TECH_LUNAR_BASES</PrereqTech>
                   <PrereqTech>TECH_NANO_ARCHITECTURE</PrereqTech>
               </AndPreReqs>
           </TechInfo>
           <TechInfo>
               <Type>TECH_AICITY</Type>
               <AndPreReqs>
                   <PrereqTech>TECH_ONTOLOGICALENGINEERING</PrereqTech>
                   <PrereqTech>TECH_MEDIA_HIVEMIND</PrereqTech>
                   <PrereqTech>TECH_NANO_ARCHITECTURE</PrereqTech>
               </AndPreReqs>
           </TechInfo>
    
    
    
               <Type>TECH_KUIPER_BELT</Type>
               <OrPreReqs>
                   <PrereqTech>TECH_DEEP_SPACE_COLONIES</PrereqTech>
               </OrPreReqs>
               <AndPreReqs>
                   <PrereqTech>TECH_UNIFICATION_PHYSICS</PrereqTech>
                   <PrereqTech>TECH_APHOTOSYNTHESIS</PrereqTech>
                   <PrereqTech>TECH_SUPERFLUOUS_MANUFACTURING</PrereqTech>
               </AndPreReqs>
           </TechInfo>
    
    What is reason for that?
    I deleted them on my side.
    Proper versions of them already exist.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2018

Share This Page