Spontaneous civil uproar!

brianmmf

Chieftain
Hello all,

I've been playing for at least 20 years, and cannot recall this ever happening.

I'm playing as the Babylonians in Prince mode, and it's 380BC. Out of nowhere, an Aztec city goes into civil uproar - babylonian influence suspected - and I inherit the city! I had yet to make contact with the Aztecs, let alone discover the island on which they are located. Screenshot attached.

Anyone else encounter this?

Attachments

• spontaneous civil uproar.png
    spontaneous civil uproar.png
    53.8 KB · Views: 444
Its happened quite a few times when my civ's are really flourishing (plenty happy citizens etc.) in comparison to the defectors old homeland. But I've never understood the exact criteria for such a defection.

That grassland square on the southeast of Sumer has a strong chance of becoming a game resource square if you mine it.

Yes, I've had that happen before - where the citizens of another city "admire the prosperity" of one of my cities and defect. But this was the first time I'd had a random, undiscovered city have "civil uproar, [my] influence suspected" and defect. I would be interested to find out the actual criteria for both of these events to happen, beyond just the general notion of relative happiness of my citizens vs. theirs.

I've seen this plenty of times, in fact it happened on my latest lp on youtube, I suddenly got a city from the Zulus. Once I built a big empire on Eurasia/Africa on earth, then I built a city on Madagaskar. Then I let barbarians capture all of my developed cities, even some wonders. That was amazing, those barbarians were really strong, they had lots of knight units. But then out of the blue one of their cities revolts and becomes some other civilization's city. I don't remember if they managed to keep it from getting recaptured by barbarians though. Off topic, I believe barbarians do research, because they started with only legions, but then they had knights.