Status
Not open for further replies.

nekokon

Prince
Joined
Aug 9, 2017
Messages
379
I'm trying to put my finger on exactly what has changed, but in general I'm noticing the AI just not as good at war as it was say 6-8 months ago. I'm steam rolling over Immortal AIs now, when back in the day these wars used to be a serious endeavor for me. Again, I'm not exactly sure what has changed, I'm trying to suss it out as I play, but the just feels more timid, and maybe isn't making as many units. So not the most productive post, its all I got at the moment.
Personally I think it's because the AI became so much more passive and preservative (they're almost no longer willing to sacrifice their unit to kill mine, except for barb), plus the changes to city defense that makes waging war no longer profitable and they rather just sit tight and build up.
Honestly I would have much more fun with aggressive AI in some old VP versions, since combat is what makes player shine and improve player's experience (the next best thing is moving things diplomatically to lead to war/combat), rather than playing builder all games. There's always more buzz about "hey I succeed defending/capturing this city" than "hey I built a building/researched a tech/got a policy/..."
 

Stalker0

Baller Magnus
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
9,225
What determines the success rate of a coup? All game every coup was 75% or better, now suddenly its 16%...not sure what changed.
 

feb

Chieftain
Joined
Feb 11, 2022
Messages
9
Coup rewards are a little OP. I get quests that reward some 230ishGPP for all great people once every 30 turns or so (epic speed). That is like 15 turns of GPP for artistry civs at this point and they need to work specialists in every GP building, suffer some urbanisation to get there. A statecraft civ probably gets 21 turns of GPP with the 50% more rewards policy. I think nerfing it to 1 specific (perhaps even random) GPP or reducing the frequency of these quests would be more balanced.
 

Stalker0

Baller Magnus
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
9,225
Got to try out some tech steals in my last game. Those are working pretty well, the duration and risk are in line with the benefit, so that's solid.
 

Stalker0

Baller Magnus
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
9,225
One thing that would be nice for Spy missions, if I could get an estimate of the yield stolen. Aka the current city output * the spy duration. Its not perfect because that can change, but it gives me a quick ballpark to make my decisions without having to dig into the city screen. Don't get me wrong, I like being able to look at the city, its just nice to have that quick info at your fingertips.
 

Stalker0

Baller Magnus
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
9,225
One issue I just found with spying. You send your spy to a city, and during the setup time it goes into a revolt (maybe by an inquisitor). So now you don't get siphon anything....but you MUST select a mission. So you basically blow your chance to siphon yields, you choose something else, but then the security jumps back up and you have to leave or keep doing the other thing. It would be great to have a "hold 1 turn" option.
 
Last edited:

Circe

Chieftain
Joined
Feb 25, 2021
Messages
32
I don't know the formula, but coup success seems to accumulate every turn the spy is stationed there. Freedom's spy tenet lets you exceed the 75% cap and get 99%(very easily too, it seems). Spying feels a lot better overall.
 

Stalker0

Baller Magnus
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
9,225
I've reported it on github but fyi. the kidnap specialist mission is bugged, it never expires. Your specialist will get crazy high yields if you use this for a bit.
 

Stalker0

Baller Magnus
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
9,225
So this last game (as England) I decided to give the Steal Techs mission a real go. And...holy crap its pretty strong now.

The trick is you can do it in any city, so what you do:

1) Find the Tech leader)
2) Identify every city they have with a Security 1 (minimum) level
3) Send every spy you got to those cities
4) A lot of times they will complete their first mission in 10 ish turns, which is great for a tech steal.
5) If they linger in the city and don't get caught, their next mission will take 20-30 turns....which isn't that bad for another steal, so its usually worth leaving them in.

So with England I was able to grab 4 techs in very rapid session.

Now is this working as intended?....maybe. The current rubberband before tech steal is VERY weak, its nigh impossible to catch a runaway teching AI.... until modern, and now you can very quickly catch up with an aggressive tech steal strategy. We could argue that its historically accurate with the modern wave of industrial espionage and professional spying.

I do think if the yield steals are adjusted (which I think they need), than Tech Steals might become OP in that case.
 

Dimmy

Warlord
Joined
Oct 2, 2016
Messages
110
Really weird congress acting by 1 AI. Venezia is following Freedom, like myself, is my ally etc. The congress session before that one they tried to pass Freedom and we failed....

So first pic to show they do follow Freedom
2nd pic the congress, they push for Autocracy
3rd the result of the votes, they indeed pushed for Autocracy

So is it a bug or do they push for any ideology to pass, regardless of what ideology they follow so diplomatic victory can be unlocked (they told me they believe they can win that way i think)?
 

Attachments

  • Sid Meier's Civilization V (DX11)_5.jpg
    Sid Meier's Civilization V (DX11)_5.jpg
    145.4 KB · Views: 133
  • Sid Meier's Civilization V (DX11)_4.jpg
    Sid Meier's Civilization V (DX11)_4.jpg
    481 KB · Views: 66
  • Sid Meier's Civilization V (DX11)_3.jpg
    Sid Meier's Civilization V (DX11)_3.jpg
    472 KB · Views: 111

alexandre.rocha

Chieftain
Joined
Sep 20, 2022
Messages
1
Sem título.png


Hello!
I'm facing this bug recently and don't find anywhere how to solve that..
Reinstalled the game and Mod, and it persist. Using only the vox populi mod.
 

AndreyK

Prince
Joined
Mar 31, 2017
Messages
573
Location
Yakutsk, Russia
I like improvement to VP and new blockade version seems nice, but in some cases it seems not working well. For example I can't work NW tile for more than 20 turns, because I can't place my unit on top of Sri Pada(impassable). But to remove enemy units blocking it I need to place my units on all 3 tiles in enemy city territory.
8930_20220922162229_1.png
 

azum4roll

Deity
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
2,043
3 options:

1. Exclude plot from being blockaded by adjacent hostile units if the plot is impassable to us
2. Exclude plot from being blockaded by adjacent hostile units if the plot is impassable to them
3. Exclude all "impassable" plots from being blockaded by adjacent hostile units
 

looorg

King
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
673
I like improvement to VP and new blockade version seems nice, but in some cases it seems not working well. For example I can't work NW tile for more than 20 turns, because I can't place my unit on top of Sri Pada(impassable). But to remove enemy units blocking it I need to place my units on all 3 tiles in enemy city territory.
3 options:

1. Exclude plot from being blockaded by adjacent hostile units if the plot is impassable to us
2. Exclude plot from being blockaded by adjacent hostile units if the plot is impassable to them
3. Exclude all "impassable" plots from being blockaded by adjacent hostile units

Can't you put something on top of Sri Pada? You could just upgrade your Scout to stand on top of mountains (one of the best scouting promotions around). That said it might not survive the experience as the Greek will probably bombard it every single turn, but you could put something there with the right promotions.

Won't those option then make it impossible to blockade cities that have a single mountain tile next to the city? Unless as noted above you have scout units (or are Inca) and can put a unit on the mountain tile. In that regard you would/should/could extend the range I guess and block the mountain-tile but then if it's a large mountain range spanning multiple tiles that somehow becomes very inconvenient and weird.
 

Rekk

Emperor
Joined
Dec 9, 2017
Messages
1,820
I think mountains will always contribute to blockading a city.
 

KittyKat3120

Warlord
Joined
Oct 13, 2018
Messages
118
Hi, Idk if this is a mod conflict or smth but...

I keep getting text error for promotions... any assistance?
 

Attachments

  • 1664081996517.png
    1664081996517.png
    1.6 MB · Views: 51
Joined
Jul 23, 2022
Messages
130
Any ETA on new version? Or are we deliberately waiting for Congress stuff and it will take some weeks after the proposals are decided and implemented?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom