1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Test IV Time - The Alternative World

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Modpacks' started by Stargate, Oct 1, 2006.

  1. joelwest

    joelwest Noble

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    339
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    try re-installing C3C. it that does not work, please tell me the error and I will see if it a file I can send you

    I am still working away updating the Civilopedia for T4T so the workings of this mod are not so mysterious. however this involves updating hundreds of entries

    UPDATE Nov 11, 2009

    have finished a large part of the Civilopedia updates for T4T, now playing a game of Civ 4 BtS to see what additions in it can be added to T4T. eventually the four tech tree graphics will need to be updated for T4T, if nothing else to show the gov enabling and civ shift techs that were added after Stargate (or one of his helpers) created the four original tech trees. as far as I can tell Stargate is not active on the forums anymore, so my next release of T4T will be in a new thread and will integrate his work and mine into one mod (which is what everyone has been asking for anyway)

    joelwest
     
  2. bhinso

    bhinso Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, England
    Just tried playing this, another really good mod, but had trouble with the tech.
    I played on Emperor, which is my standard playing level on civ (never like a game too easy lol). It's just that it's impossible to research a tech in less than 50 turns early on (I had to keep the lux slider up). AI's of course won't trade as I have nothing to give them, as a result they're in the 3rd age and I've not even got to Bronze working yet :-S
     
  3. bhinso

    bhinso Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, England
    Finished my game now, just after posting the above, discovered how bad the AI's were at combat, defending with Archers etc, got Persia down to one city, took loads of techs in a peace treaty... discovered 6 civs on my continent, 6 civs on the other (suicide caravels) ended up miles ahead in tech by then, then won a cultural victory just after reaching Steam Power lol!
     
  4. mythusmage

    mythusmage Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Joelwest,

    Could you lump all the downloads etc into one? BTW, One download ("B") unzips as an empty folder.
     
  5. mythusmage

    mythusmage Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Big problem; I download both archives, de-compress, and get empty folders. I don't think they're supposed to be empty.

    Update: Okay, I decompressed the archives using Stuffit Expander instead and got the files I was supposed to. One problem, no biq. Shouldn't there be a biq?

    And how do you install your terrain? I am all confuzzled.
     
  6. mythusmage

    mythusmage Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Got the files downloaded and installed, only to get



    Any suggestions?

    Update: The entry "ICON_BUILDING_Buddhism" could not be found in the indicated PediaIcons.txt, or in the PediaIcons.txt for T4T itself
     

    Attached Files:

  7. mythusmage

    mythusmage Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    If somebody could consolidate all the files into one package, it would be much appreciated. I just downloaded Joel West's "Civ 3 T4T mod add-on build 17X 11.08.07" and I'm quite lost as to where things are supposed to go.
     
  8. ceaser1345

    ceaser1345 Long live the Idiocracy!

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    366
    Location:
    The Transuniversal Empire
    Add vassals to Civ3, that would be awesome!
     
  9. Quinzy

    Quinzy Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    5,402
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Éire
    I'm not so sure if that's possible, unless you have any idea how it would be?
     
  10. T-mun

    T-mun King Numa

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,300
    Location:
    France
    This sounds like a bump with nothing related to the mod itself.
     
  11. ceaser1345

    ceaser1345 Long live the Idiocracy!

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    366
    Location:
    The Transuniversal Empire
    i dont realy know if thats possible. I was wonering if you vets could try and add the source code to the game or something.
     
  12. SteamCiv

    SteamCiv Warlord

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    109
    [The entry "ICON_BUILDING_Buddhism" could not be found in the indicated PediaIcons.txt, or in the PediaIcons.txt for T4T itself ]

    search for icon_building something else in the PediaIcons.txt, copy that entry, rename it to ICON_BUILDING_Buddhism, if there is a corresponing graphics file, go to that folder, copy another file and rename it as well to match what is being looked for.
     
  13. Quinzy

    Quinzy Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    5,402
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Éire
    As the source code for the game was never released, modifying the game to any extent outside of the editor is functionally impossible (bar some members' brief forays in to hex editing). You can't simply 'add' source code, as the source code is the base code with which the creators made the game.
     

Share This Page