1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The East Indies

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Mods and Files' started by CivLucas, Jun 22, 2009.

  1. CivLucas

    CivLucas Governor-General

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Nijmegen, the Netherlands
    I've been busy formatting my pc, so it takes a little longer. Do the other downloaders have problems, is my question. Since it's been downloaded almost 500 times now...
     
  2. tedrock7

    tedrock7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    So, CivLucas, I started playing 2.15 while I wait for 2.16 or
    a fix for 2.17. I was playing on the India map and having such
    fun, but then it crashed. Boo Hoo! Please upload 2.16 so I can
    try again.
     
  3. CivLucas

    CivLucas Governor-General

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Nijmegen, the Netherlands
    I've been working on 2.16 these days, implemented some things from 2.17 that don't cause crashes. And it seems to work great, played a caribbean game for 300 turns and no crashes at all. :D
     
  4. tedrock7

    tedrock7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    So, CivLucas, I am downloading version 2.16. But amazingly I
    am on turn 170 using 2.17 on the India map with no problems.
    Perhaps the problem is map specific? I wanted to tell you what
    fun I am having. The original Colonization is an old favorite.
    And India is a place I am fascinated with. So I have gone in
    as the British, looking for my favorites, the Bengalis, to save them from the Mughal menace. Ha! Not exactly the goal the designers had in mind? But anyhow I am sort of a fan of yours. The only way
    to make it better for me would be if the ships started on the Bengal side side of the map and there was a playable Hindu faction. But anyhow I am playing Colonization in India so it is
    great, thanks for making it. Ted
     
  5. CivLucas

    CivLucas Governor-General

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Nijmegen, the Netherlands
    Thank you, I'm glad you like it :). Starting in the east would be a bit odd, since the europeans came from the west. :p I've been thinking of a hindu civ too, was thinking about the maratha empire, if you could help me out to find 3 good leaders, and 3 leaderheads (http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=cat&id=37) I can create it pretty fast :D

    Can you still buy guys in the europe screen though? Because that was the biggest error.

    Edit: One big problem with the Maratha's is the city names, they mostly conquered cities so might be already in the game.
     
  6. tedrock7

    tedrock7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    Hi, I am slow and still just on turn 230 but no problems, Europe screen or anywhere. I have almost all the map uncovered and never did find a Bengali though. I have a world history book that is telling me the big man in Maratha is Sivaji, who established the kingdom in 1674.Two other notables were Sindhia and Holkar.
    Amazingly almost all the hindu looking folks were on page one in the link, taxiles, porus and chibinda. I am just scratching the
    surface here, seeing the heads of such as hitler, aliens, aquaman, dr doom, Rama, and beowulf really send my mind to spinning.
    But is still the Bengalis that get me, The rest here from wiki...
    The "Bengal renaissance can be said to have started with Raja Ram Mohan Roy (1775-1833) and ended with Rabindranath Tagore (1861-1941]
    Nineteenth century Bengal was a unique blend of religious and social reformers, scholars, literary giants, journalists, patriotic orators and scientists, all merging to form the image of a renaissance, and marked the transition from the 'medieval' to the 'modern'. During this period, Bengal witnessed an intellectual awakening that is in some way similar to the Renaissance in Europe during the 16th century. Thanks again, Ted
     
  7. janjoost

    janjoost Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    New user....die hard player!!

    I'm trying to download the 2.16 east indies patch (The discription sounds really great, nice work CivLucas).
    But the download is going to takes 5 hours! Is that normal?:sad:
     
  8. CivLucas

    CivLucas Governor-General

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Nijmegen, the Netherlands
    It's quite a large file, because of all the leaderheads. And of course if you have or haven't got a fast internet connection.

    By the way it's not a patch or something, just an earlier version that I made but hadn't uploaded ;)
     
  9. tedrock7

    tedrock7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    Hi, I don't know if this will help, but before I started my
    latest game I had reset some xp configs to "Let windows
    decide the size of swap file and let windows choose between
    programs and background priorities." Back to Maratha, their
    overseas king could be Rama, let the other players wonder
    where the stuff comes from. : ) About east side-west side, if you
    are in a port near the bay of Bengal and you see a ship on the
    horizon, you don't know if it came from east or west. I may have
    to break down and try to figure out how to make games, I would
    like to see the Vikings. Several Viking kings vie for control of
    Europe? And modern day, the USA splits up, it seems to me the
    possibilities are endless. The rules can be warped. By the way CivLucas, I never did find any Bengalis, do you know why? Were they wiped out before I got to their area or were they just not on the India map, do you remember?
     
  10. CivLucas

    CivLucas Governor-General

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Nijmegen, the Netherlands
    The civ's and cities on the maps are still random, as I'm not really a map-maker I haven't looked into it yet.
    Vikings and USA don't really fit in, I want to keep it as historically as possible and to keep the timeline from 1500 to 1800.
     
  11. janjoost

    janjoost Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Normaly the speed of my internet connection is perfect. So i tried to reboot en retry the download. But it wasn't possibble to download the file at all. I got looped back to the download button, time after time.?!

    Anyway, thanks for the reaction. I'll solve it out, one way or another.
     
  12. CivLucas

    CivLucas Governor-General

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Nijmegen, the Netherlands
    I'll create another mirror, maybe that could help.
     
  13. tedrock7

    tedrock7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    Hi CivLucas, I have found the bengalis in about the year 1760.
    And my ramblings about Vikings and USA, that would be 2 new
    projects from scratch, nothing to do with your current project.
    Could you kindly tell me in a nutshell, make it easy for me, how
    to get started making a scenario. Say I want to make the Viking
    edition, could I save time using a map of Europe that someone else
    has already made and just convert it to how I like it. What tools and resources will I need to pull it off? The only scenario making
    I ever tried was a couple on age of rifles and one on unlimited
    adventures. Some of my favorite games have been Conquest of the new world deluxe, Hammer of the Gods, History of the world, Kingmaker, Son of legends, shining force, rings of power.
    I have updated my profile, I have a son older than you, he teaches me stuff on computer from time to time. Thankksss, Ted
    I'm just a big kid.
     
  14. janjoost

    janjoost Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    how can i install the indies2.16? Tedrock, maybe you can help me?
     
  15. CivLucas

    CivLucas Governor-General

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Nijmegen, the Netherlands
    Unrar or paste it into your My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization IV Colonization\MODS\
    folder. Then use the shortcut which is in the mod (for exact place see downloadpage) or you can just start up colonization and at options choose 'load a mod'
     
  16. CivLucas

    CivLucas Governor-General

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Nijmegen, the Netherlands
    Hey, you should ask NeverMind or some of the other colonization map-makers, He made them all for me. There is a guide on how to transform civ4 maps into colonization maps somewhere on this site. And I believe that's what NeverMind also did. And I saw several map maker programmes for civ4 which you might also want to use. But fore more info you should ask somebody else. :goodjob:
     
  17. janjoost

    janjoost Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    it works... perfect. Thanks for the advice.
    Damn this mod is cool. Teh game is going to consume all my sparetime, for the next months!!! My girlfriend is not so pleased with that ;)
     
  18. Nitram15

    Nitram15 Pro Libertate!

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,855
    Location:
    Hungary
    Congratulation CivLucas!
    this mod is looks awesome!
    Well done!
    :goodjob:

    BTW: I love Civ4Col. :love:
     
  19. CivLucas

    CivLucas Governor-General

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Nijmegen, the Netherlands
    Thank you, I appreciate it.
     
  20. bruno1968

    bruno1968 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Rome, Italy
    Dear CivLucas,
    I installed the 2.16 and the game starts, I played some turns.
    But I am still haunted by the former problems (not able to see many of the leaders' names).
    What should I do ?
     

Share This Page