The important GMR messages (holidays,etc) thread

EEE_BOY

Deity
Joined
Jan 13, 2007
Messages
3,148
Location
NZ
For save file bloating problem:

I think I just found a way to load GMR saves many times without exiting CiV and avoid the bloating save file problem:

After submitting a save, back on the 'main menu', go into 'DLC', uncheck GnK and BNW's DLC options, then check both options again. After doing this, load another GMR save, it should be good to play without crash or bloat.
 

Tabarnak

Cut your lousy hairs!
Joined
Sep 17, 2010
Messages
5,968
Location
Québec
For save file bloating problem:

I think I just found a way to load GMR saves many times without exiting CiV and avoid the bloating save file problem:

After submitting a save, back on the 'main menu', go into 'DLC', uncheck GnK and BNW's DLC options, then check both options again. After doing this, load another GMR save, it should be good to play without crash or bloat.

I don't have this problem since a good month in a row now. But i didn't do anything about it. Thanks for posting this.
 

EEE_BOY

Deity
Joined
Jan 13, 2007
Messages
3,148
Location
NZ
I don't have this problem since a good month in a row now. But i didn't do anything about it. Thanks for posting this.

They fixed the problem in BNW? then it must be for G&K saves. I run into a bloating save notification a few days ago. Maybe I should try it again. Thanks
 

Foffaren

King
Joined
Apr 14, 2012
Messages
963
Location
Sweden
Sometimes it works for me. If I play a vanilla as the second game then it usually works playing multiple games after that, gnk or bnw doesnt matter. 1-5 kb growth in the save file at most. When I dont do it it works sometimes, other times it grows by 300-500 kb.
It's not the same bloat that we used to get where the file doubled in size, but it's still there if you dont check on it.
 

EEE_BOY

Deity
Joined
Jan 13, 2007
Messages
3,148
Location
NZ
Yes, bloating is still there, so uncheck DLC then recheck DLC options, seem to do the same as loading a vanilla game.
 

Tabarnak

Cut your lousy hairs!
Joined
Sep 17, 2010
Messages
5,968
Location
Québec
EEE_boy, do you have a window appearing when you start loading file? Saying : ''Configuring Data...Please Wait.''

I have this message everytime before it starts loading the game. I don't know if it has a relation with auto configuring preventing bloating.
 

EEE_BOY

Deity
Joined
Jan 13, 2007
Messages
3,148
Location
NZ
yes I have that screen. but non-vanilla game after another non-vanilla game will still give me bloated save file, so I uncheck both BNW and GnK DLC options, the menu goes back to vanilla screen, check both options back on, BNW screen.
 

BlueCollar

Warlord
Joined
Mar 12, 2012
Messages
200
I am moving again and will not have internet for a few days. Hopefully I wont miss to many turns.
 

RStark

Prince
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
504
We've been looking for the substitution to rule the Maya in this game:
http://multiplayerrobot.com/Game#6638

The civ has accumulated 460 points and constructed Stonehenge, Oracle, the Great Mosque of Djenne. It has three cities (their population levels: 7, 7 and 2), and picked 3 SPs from Tradition and 5 SPs from Piety trees. The Maya's religion has a reformation belief which provides 2 tourism points from each building bought for faith.

Overall It's not so well developed civ, however Pacal can try to sneak for Culture Victory. :)
 

RStark

Prince
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
504
I'm also looking for the substitute in the other GMR game called "Cultural Warlords":
http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=514016
http://multiplayerrobot.com/Game#8190
One of players is soon going to leave the game, so Ethiopia will be free to join in.
I have found a sub then, but he has also left the game recently. :(
We got through 35 turns into the game, so I hope that Ethiopia is still in good shape for competitive gameplay.
Looking for a reliable substitute to play as Ethiopia again. :deal:
 

RStark

Prince
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
504
The vacancies above mentioned were closed.

Looking for a sub to play as Portugal in this GMR game:
http://multiplayerrobot.com/Game#6638
6 civs, small Pangea, quick pace of the game.
Currently is turn #144.

Portugal is the second in power civ, if we don't take into account Egypt surrendered to AI.
You can also join as Egypt, if you prefer somewhat hardcore game. :)

Screenies from the most recent turns of this game:



 

PsYchO_Ape

Chieftain
Joined
Jan 23, 2014
Messages
5
I don't know if all of you know this simple mechanic already to prevent save file bloating, but for those who dont here is a simple hint how to save you alot of time:

Before loading your first GMR game you want to take your turn make sure you go to the DLC section in the main menu and uncheck both G&K and BNW DLC. After that just go ahead, load your first game (Civ5 will automatically activate all DLC's necessary), play your turn, save the file and tab into windows to submit your turn via GMR Client.

After that you can just download your next GMR gamefile, tab back to Civ5, go back into the main menu (it will automatically load Civ5 vanilla, since you deactivated all DLC's before) and you are now able to do your next turn without having any problems regarding save file bloating.

So far this has worked for me for a long time. :)
 

RStark

Prince
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
504
Hello guys,

Happy New Year and Merry Chrismas! :)

A few days ago I got to know about some utility designed to cure bloated hotseat (GMR) save files. You can download it by this link: http://dynamic.civfanatics.ru/Civ5Utils/SaveAnalyser/Civ5Save1216.zip

It was developed by Dynamic the russian civ community member (I know from my own experience that he is an unmatched PBEM player; if you play with him, you are virtually a dead man :) ).
I have added a small guide for making use this utility in his forum thread: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpost.php?p=13630195&postcount=19

I have already successfully used the utility on save files from two GMR games, but it doesn't mean that it is flawless. Please make a backup of the initial save file just in case.
 

Ayubalugu

Chieftain
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
53
Planned Maintenance:

multiplayerrobot.com will be down for maintenance sometime in the next 24 hours. Once complete, you can expect better responsiveness and speeds. Thank you for your patience!

(re-posting Developers' tweet: http://twitter.com/GMRobot)
We've hit a snag with our maintenance. We expect http://multiplayerrobot.com to be restored and faster than ever Monday morning. Thank you for your patience!

(re-posting Developers' tweet: https://twitter.com/GMRobot/status/1134862475302539264)
 

Ayubalugu

Chieftain
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
53
Many GMR players were using Slack as the preferred communication platform for several years. Couple of years ago we attempted to move to Discord, but there was not enough interest in the community, so that was shelved.

As of April, 2020, we have shut down our Slack and moved to Discord. Come join us: https://discord.gg/nAaW2d7

Why did we move from Slack?
- Slack has a message history of 10,000 messages. It is quite useless for discussing civ games that can last years.
- Discord was designed around playing games, and we are playing games.
 
Top Bottom