1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The Official "I've Got It!" Thread. Post here....

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Sharlin, Oct 26, 2005.

  1. Goodfellow

    Goodfellow Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Legnano - Italy
    finally!!!!!!!!!! It's available on an italian web site! I've just finished to send my datas...in two days I should have it! maybe not tomorrow, but on monday I'll play all the day:D
     
  2. trogdorix

    trogdorix Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    South Dakota
    just got mine from evil Amazon, UPS 2 day + 2 day delay of amazon.

    our local grocery store just got Pomegranates too, so i can play as Rome, and eat like a Roman too
     
  3. Goodfellow

    Goodfellow Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Legnano - Italy

    mmmhhhh I love them:p
     
  4. Alone

    Alone Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,234
    GOT IT!!:) EBgames-Mississauga

    well... see you... in a few days... got to go!:p
     
  5. Orcin

    Orcin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Evansville, IN
    I held off buying until Fry's here in Houston received the game because they advertised a "guaranteed low price". I'm glad that I waited... collector's edition is now in my hands for $36.99!! :king:
     
  6. SeaDog98520

    SeaDog98520 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    finally... my own fault for not willing to pay for faster shipping.. but so far I'm thrilled.. loaded fine runs well but with some choppiness... but it looks fantastic and sounds great..

    well worth the money and the wait..
     
  7. OwieB2003

    OwieB2003 Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    "In the beginning, the Earth was without form, and boiled..."

    Got my copy of Civ 4 Special Edition (Preorder Edition) two days ago. Real fun to play. Heheh.
     
  8. Thumper333

    Thumper333 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Was hoping to get it on the 25th, but was told it had been delayed. Picked it up after work on Wednesday and went right home to play. Got the Special Edition and the soundtrack is great too!!

    I've never played a Civ game before, got interested in it from watching some friends play Civ 3 but didn't have a computer that could play games.

    Man, the game is a LOT of fun. The tutorial leaves some room for improvement for completely new players.......


    I can honestly say I am hooked..... :goodjob:
     
  9. Abegweit

    Abegweit Anarchist trader

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,869
    Location:
    One step ahead of the authorities
    Got it!

    Dell Inspiron 9300 with ATI x300. Worked out of the box!
    :woohoo:
     
  10. Gnarv

    Gnarv Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Berne, Switzerland
    Switzerland got it!!!!!!!!!!! sooo güät!!!!!!!
     
  11. vgh

    vgh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Charlotteotown PEI
    I Have it .. only 1 minor problem after install ... easily sorted out
     
  12. spacedragonblue

    spacedragonblue Lost in Space

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    New York, New York!
    Amazon says IT should come by NOV 4! I CAN'T WAIT THAT LONG!
    I preordered, so why don't I have it now??
     
  13. DJRickyV

    DJRickyV Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Bit more of a performance hog than previous Civ's and I've got the stutterring movies playback that's been plaguing some other folks, but I've turned movies off for now and am still enjoying. I'm sure some of these problems can get ironed out in a patch--in fact, Firaxis built a patch updater into the game!

    I'm an English perfectionist so I noticed a few misspellings and some mismatches between what Sid says and what dialogue is printed (in the tutorial), but the new game mechanics are a great enhancement.

    Civ 1 got us hooked and the cartoony world leaders were fun. Civ 2 upped the strategy pieces and introduced an isometric format as well as the classy touch of wonder movies. Civ 3 introduced more strategy components and a clean interface, but somehow didn't engage me as much as Civ 4 does.

    Somehow taking all the fun parts of the previous Civ's and taking out the boring parts, Civ 4 reminds us once again how great a GAME it is. Colorful, with history again made lively, and stable/playable for the most part, I agree with the reviewers who gave this one a "must buy!!!" I can't remember being this hooked since putting Civ 1 into a 3.5 floppy drive...
     
  14. BuddhaBubba

    BuddhaBubba Aspiring Sage

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    218
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    i got it...and i uploaded a pic of my happy face upon getting it in the galleries - civ4 - miscellaneous

    there was a tiny bit of clipping in the intro video but overall it runs awesome

    here are my specs:
    thank god for geforce 5500 256mb
    2.5ghz AMD
    1gb RAM
     
  15. henry k c

    henry k c Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    383
    boycott Amazon! Boycott It! I'm Never Going To Buy Anything From That Site Again! Nov 1 Is Not 3 Days Dumbasses
     
  16. jajohns8

    jajohns8 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Got the game yesterday. Decided to upgrade my monitor to a new 19 inch Viewsonic VA912B today.
    Ran with the DVI hookup...Clicked on icon to start Civ 4, and holy cow! Man I was blown away. Was running an old, dark CRT before......A new, bigger monitor really makes the new civ 4 interface shine.....
     
  17. pygbe

    pygbe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    :crazyeye: :goodjob: :lol: GOT IT! :lol: :goodjob: :crazyeye:

    ITALY! My LOYAL little customer had it! I had reserved it a month ago, he had to sell it out on 4th november, but he blinked at me ;) sold! €39,90
    He's my new personal HERO.

    Firts night without sleep!

    Everithing is ok on my Athlon XP 2200, 512 Mb RAM, GeForce 6600GT

    except from becominh a little more sluggish after every diplomatic encounter. But this is a problem I read about on this forum, so i'm confident.
    Downloading newest drivers right now (should have done it in last CRAZY and DARK days of waiting)
     
  18. Chopperhead

    Chopperhead Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Messages:
    412
    Location:
    B.C. Canada
    FINALLY I got it today $370 some odd dollars later tho lol I had to buy a new vid for my comp to run it. bought a GF 6600GT runs like a charm now.


    " align="" border="0" />
     
  19. @rjen

    @rjen Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yay! Got it!!

    And i'm from the Netherlands, and bought it in a shop in Amersfoort (Dynabyte).

    ....off playing :king:
     
  20. Ambiorix

    Ambiorix Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    371
    Location:
    Belgium
    I got the game this morning (I live in Belgium).
    When I came home, I had to do some other stuff first, and put the box out of my hands somewhere.
    Then later, when I wanted to install it, I couldn't find it anywhere !
    I briefly considered starting an "I've had it !" thread, but fortunately I found back my copy.
     

Share This Page