1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The Vault Dev. Canteen (General Discussion)

Discussion in 'Civ4 Fallout: Tame The Waste (FTTW)' started by Lib.Spi't, Jan 22, 2015.

  1. Lib.Spi't

    Lib.Spi't Overlord of the Wasteland

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    UK
    I know that feeling! :D

    I was just wondering, if you have the error then I can leave you to do your magic, if you don't have it then I need to continue trying to figure out why I do! :D

    I just checked with the new .dll and text and it is still broken. It is so weird why it just suddenly appeared!
     
  2. Lib.Spi't

    Lib.Spi't Overlord of the Wasteland

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    UK
    I just went back to look at the traits info, and it still displays +X% for the change tag for specialists.

    Rather than just +X. Is it that the change tag does not have the right text tag assigned? Or is something missing?

    But not to be all doom and gloom, the pillage text now appears for traits. Hooray! :D
     
  3. Archid

    Archid Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    North Wales, UK
    Found the problem with your flag crash, your CIV4TraitInfo XML file is malformed as you have an extra '-->' just after the closing tag in your Chieftain 2 entry. This is causing the XML parser to get confused and it ends up putting an empty trait into the list of traits, which when iterated causes boom boom

    PHP:
            <TraitInfo> <!-- Cheiftain 2 -->
                <
    Type>TRAIT_CHIEFTAIN_2</Type>
                <
    TraitClass>TRAITCLASS_POLITICAL</TraitClass>
                <
    ParentTrait>TRAIT_CHIEFTAIN_1</ParentTrait>
                <
    RemoveTraits>
                    <
    TraitType>TRAIT_STRENGTH_1</TraitType>
                    <
    TraitType>TRAIT_WEALTH_1</TraitType>
                    <
    TraitType>TRAIT_MILITARY_1</TraitType>
                    <
    TraitType>TRAIT_DEMOCRATIC_1</TraitType>
                </
    RemoveTraits>
                <
    bPermanent>0</bPermanent>
                <
    iLevel>2</iLevel>
                <!--<
    CapitalYieldModifiers>
                    <
    iYield>0</iYield>
                    <
    iYield>0</iYield>
                    <
    iYield>0</iYield>
                </
    CapitalYieldModifiers>
                <
    CapitalCommerceModifiers/>-->
                <
    iDistanceMaintenanceModifier>-50</iDistanceMaintenanceModifier>
                <
    iNumCitiesMaintenanceModifier>-50</iNumCitiesMaintenanceModifier>
                <
    iCorporationMaintenanceModifier>50</iCorporationMaintenanceModifier>
            </
    TraitInfo>-->   <!-- Delete the comment terminator here -->
     
  4. Archid

    Archid Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    North Wales, UK
    The text tag is incorrect it should have the %% after D1 removed so it becomes:

    PHP:
        <TEXT>
            <
    Tag>TXT_KEY_TRAIT_EXTRA</Tag>
            <
    English>[NEWLINE][ICON_BULLET]%D1 %F2_commerce /[SPACE]</English>
        </
    TEXT>
     
  5. Lib.Spi't

    Lib.Spi't Overlord of the Wasteland

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    UK
    ugh.. good spot!

    Since you are on such a role, there is another text bug.

    On the Civ Select screen, factions that are Vault Dwellers, the text is stuck next to Unique Unit:
     
  6. Archid

    Archid Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    North Wales, UK
    Which screen is the Civ Select screen?
     
  7. Lib.Spi't

    Lib.Spi't Overlord of the Wasteland

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    UK
    where you choose your faction at the start of the game. When you are setting up the length/size/etc.
     
  8. Archid

    Archid Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    North Wales, UK
    First problem is that you have multiple XML files with duplicate keys and the last one read wins ... which in the case of files starting with Fallout-TTW and K-Fallout will be K-Fallout.

    Looking at the xxx_General files I would say that you want to delete the K-Fallout version. I would then suggest that you change the TXT_KEY_CIV_VAULT_DWELLER entry in the Fallout-TTW_General to be

    PHP:
        <TEXT>
            <
    Tag>TXT_KEY_CIV_VAULT_DWELLER</Tag>
            <
    English>Vault Dweller[NEWLINE]</English>
        </
    TEXT>
    Removing the initial space and bullet so it is consistent with the other entries on this screen. This key is only used in one place so it won't have an impact elsewhere.

    In general you will want to get rid of all the K-Fallout text files, or at least those entries where you have an equivalent in a Fallout-TTW file
     
  9. Lib.Spi't

    Lib.Spi't Overlord of the Wasteland

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, I wasn't sure what was happening with the text files what ones you added, what ones I added and what ones were there from before!?, but that explains it.

    I had tried just adding new line before and it did not work, so I thought it was a more technical problem, but I guess there is just a duplication somewhere.

    I wonder if their is a piece of software that could compare files and look for duplicate content, to make the job of tidying easier... Ok so apparently Notepad++ can do that!
     
  10. Archid

    Archid Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    North Wales, UK
    I use BeyondCompare which does lots of extra stuff, but costs $30 for a perpetual license. There are free alternatives out there that will allow you to compare complete folder trees at one and edit the files directly. Here is one list of apps that may be easier:
     
  11. Lib.Spi't

    Lib.Spi't Overlord of the Wasteland

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    UK
    Yeah I have just started using the NP++ Tool

    I can only do 2 files at a time, but slow and steady is probably a good idea for me any way! :D

    Another Text bug solved! :D

    How much more can I get done before making a christmas release?

    Hopefully I can make custom select sounds for all the factions and get those in along with a generic intro movie before the 25th!
    (I also have to finish making my nieces christmas present, so I am feeling unpleasantly busy right now!!)

    Ok K-fallout text files removed!
     
  12. Lib.Spi't

    Lib.Spi't Overlord of the Wasteland

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    UK
    Hazaar, I can confirm that traits are now losing points!

    Can I think of any other problems I have encountered... I am drawing a blank at the minute..

    One investigation you could do if you are up for it is to do with Events and the Quest tag.

    I mentioned it early and you commented on it, but the prereqevent tag does not work entirely properly (as far as I can tell).

    Basically the game seems to 'forget' previous events after a certain amount of time (Something like 100-200+ turns it seems to me) so if an event has a prereq event set, after a certain amount of time it seems that the event will no longer fire. It works fine within about 50-100 turns of the previous event, but longer than that and it no longer works. (at least as far as I can tell)

    This has led me to have to use a 'dummy' prereq building in the event city to ensure that it maintains it's prereq status for the next event in the story chain... This is will mean that every story event would need it's own set of dummy buildings to work which is pretty naff. (From both workload and content points of view.

    Night has investigated a couple times but we have been unable to find a full solution that keeps the prereq events active for an acceptable length. (Or even figure out exactly what is happening with them!)

    If you could solve this it would be awesome and would make moving forward with the story event system much easier, not to mention making the design of a template much less work!

    As ever your work is always greatly appreciated!!

    Oh I thought of a python issue if you are willing, this one comes from my crappy ability to do anything.

    There were two python modcomps released once upon a time, that could change the HUD graphics depending on era and state religion.

    I added back in the era version, but for some reason the change never seemed to work until you loaded a save game.

    What I would really like as a structural setup is to have it that the HUD can change by both these factors, era and 'religion' that way (If I or anyone else [I do so miss having an army of volunteers!] can get around to doing it) we can have a HUD that lokes more technologically advanced as you began to escape the Apocalypse, as well as if you implement your factions ideology we can have a HUD that suddenly becomes much more in keeping with your identity, with flags and iconography etc.

    Anyway if you are interested I can provide the modcomps(Hopefully!?) to add them in (it is a low priority though) they were only a few paragraphs of python code I think..been a while)
     
  13. Lib.Spi't

    Lib.Spi't Overlord of the Wasteland

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    UK
    Oh another thing I just thought of, could you possibly take a look at reimplementing the immigration/immigrant modcomp.

    It was a python modcomp that never got ported I think because of what to do with the AI.

    At the moment the unit is still in the game but it is just useless, even just restoring the old python version would be fine at this point. I just felt it was a really good modcomp for pop. control and is a key element to one of the civics.
     
  14. Lib.Spi't

    Lib.Spi't Overlord of the Wasteland

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    UK
  15. Archid

    Archid Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    North Wales, UK
    I know the ModComp. I have looked at it myself previously and the AI is awful in both deciding when to build (random chance) and where to send the unit once it is built.

    I may have written some AI at some point in the past so I'll have a dig around in my old code and see what I can come up with.
     
  16. Lib.Spi't

    Lib.Spi't Overlord of the Wasteland

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    UK
    Cool.

    Having thrown 5.5 to the wolves I am now going to try and mentally relax, maybe some other things I needed you to rescue will float to the surface, but I think you got most of them now!

    Did you see my post about promotions having an PrereqAnd tag as well as PrereqOr tags?
     
  17. Archid

    Archid Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    North Wales, UK
    PrereqAnd for promotions will be easy to implement

    The other things I saw were events being forgotten and the immigration mod
     
  18. Lib.Spi't

    Lib.Spi't Overlord of the Wasteland

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, that sounds about right :)

    The PrereqAND originally came from TLOTags if that helps.

    Now I have to find out why Moddb has once again archived a major piece of news.... ugh!!
     
  19. Archid

    Archid Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    North Wales, UK
    I've commit and tagged Alpha 5.5 to SF with a few minor text changes:

    1 - I removed all the P-Archid_* files fro the Text directory as they were either duplicates or unused

    2 - I changed the TXT_KEY_CIV_VAULT_DWELLER entry in the General file to remove the space and bullet at the start as it looks like you missed that update

    I have also finished the Promotion And Prereq and done a quick test, but you will need to test it a bit better when you are next in the mood. I have uploaded a new dll and you will also need to pull the following files from SF to get it to work:

    Assets/Python/Screens/PlatyPedia/PlatyPediaPromotion.py
    Assets/Xml/Units/CIV4UnitSchema.xml

    I did my quick test using the Human Hunter promotion so I'll use that to show you the tag format, which should go straight after the PromotionPrereq & PromotionPrereqOrX tags. I haven't commit the promotion change so you will need to add one in to see it in action:

    PHP:
    <PromotionInfo>
        <
    Type>PROMOTION_HUMAN_HUNTER1</Type>
        <
    Description>TXT_KEY_PROMOTION_HUMAN_HUNTER1</Description>
        <
    Sound>AS2D_IF_LEVELUP</Sound>
        <
    PromotionAndPrereqs>
            <
    PromotionType>PROMOTION_TAG_OUTDOORSMAN</PromotionType>
            <
    PromotionType>PROMOTION_COMBAT1</PromotionType>
        </
    PromotionAndPrereqs>
        <
    UnitCombats>
            <
    UnitCombat>
            .....
    One thing to note is normally promotion prereqs are only shown in the pedia and not in-game so I have followed that convention.
     
  20. Lib.Spi't

    Lib.Spi't Overlord of the Wasteland

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    UK
    Brilliant, I shall endeavour to go through and do some promo work in the near future.

    I don't think I have the energy at the moment, but that is all very exciting!

    Thanks for updating the SF as well!

    Now we have the stage prepared again to make some really high level mega perk promos, that can see the hardiest of wastelanders become living gods hell bent on the destruction of all those they deem to be unworthy!!! :D

    Did you have to move anything out of P-archid text files? Or was it all just duplicated elsewhere? Do I just need to delete mine too?

    Can I just once again say how enjoyable and encouraging it is to work with you Archid! I was falling on a bit of a downer last week, wondering if putting energy into this mod when I am so useless was worth it, when every crash and bug stops me dead. Then the day after I think 'no I don't think it is worth all the effort' you show up and fix everything! Excellent timing! :D
     

Share This Page