1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Twillight of Byzantium

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Scenarios' started by Yoda Power, May 7, 2006.

  1. johnnyjal

    johnnyjal Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    I just d/l the new one so I can try it.
    Can't decide who to be so I will get a random choice.
    Hope it is a good one.

    Thank you!!
     
  2. Yoda Power

    Yoda Power ✫✫✫✫✫✫✫

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    13,869
    Yes the 50% rate for the Ottomans is intentional. They are already strong enough as they are.
     
  3. surferbob644

    surferbob644 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Looks great and something to do over the holidays when a break from the relatives is needed. Merry Xmas and Happy New Year!
     
  4. D'Artagnan59

    D'Artagnan59 The Gascon

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,144
    Location:
    New England
    OK. I have a problem.

    The Middle Ages Religious Order pediaicon is missing.
     
  5. Yoda Power

    Yoda Power ✫✫✫✫✫✫✫

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    13,869
    Could you specify?

    Did you remember to put all the files in the scenario folder?
     
  6. embryodead

    embryodead Caliph

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,179
    Location:
    basement
    So I played my first long game, it had to be the Byzantine Empire, of course. Initially I think I lost everything except Constantinople, Salonika and Mistra, but then, the Ottoman expansion to the west was stopped by the Bulgars, while my forces reconquered most of Greece from the Serbs and Latins, briefly losing it to the Hospitallers, then reconquering it again. I played on Monarch but cheated (reloaded) a bit :blush: The fact that you disabled fixed Random Seed didn't help ;) (why?), so I used it to avoid situations like losing a 15/15 knight army to a spearman, and more ;) Still was fun losing and conquering the same cities multiple times, to eventually, after 67 turns, have the Empire shine once again, at least on the west side, and the Serbian and Bulgar Empires rapidly shrinking, with the Latins pretty much gone.

    I also like the multi-faction warfare and how the scenario is naval-intensive unlike any other. I mostly had to defend from the never-ending amphibious attacks of the Papacy/Latins/Hospitallers/Venetians, but I used a large fleet of galleys to silently aid the Bulgars, by stopping the Ottomans from sending reinforcements to Europe.

    Now, the game is not over yet, but it seems that I'm winning, or even losing :mischief: , which can be seen on the attached jpeg. Am I right to assume there is no way I can generate more VP than the Florence gets through their wonder, even though I've kept Constantinople and reconquered much of the Balkans? Chances of my armies even reaching Florence to raze it to the ground are next to none.
     

    Attached Files:

    • byz.jpg
      byz.jpg
      File size:
      23.4 KB
      Views:
      252
  7. D'Artagnan59

    D'Artagnan59 The Gascon

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,144
    Location:
    New England
    I have put the files in the scenario folder.
     
  8. Yoda Power

    Yoda Power ✫✫✫✫✫✫✫

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    13,869
    ED - I didn't actually notice I disabled fixed random seed! :p.

    There are 33 turns left of the game in that time Florence will be able to generate 33/2*1000=16000 points which would give them 24140+16000=40140 points when the game ends. It should be possible for you to reach the 50000 points before turn 100. Maybe you should capture some islands in the Aegean to get those treasures? Good luck!

    D'Artagnan - Well unless you give me more information I can't help you. Everyone else gets it working, so most be some mistake you've made.
     
  9. D'Artagnan59

    D'Artagnan59 The Gascon

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,144
    Location:
    New England
    Here is the error I keep getting, word for word:

    ERROR READING FILE:

    Missing entry in "Scenarios/../conquests/Middle Ages/text/PediaIcons.txt/ICON_BLDG_Religious_Order.

    The game will now exit.
     
  10. D'Artagnan59

    D'Artagnan59 The Gascon

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,144
    Location:
    New England
    And I tried re-installing.

    Same problem above.
     
  11. cubsfan6506

    cubsfan6506 Got u

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    6,266
    Location:
    Awesome Land
    Just change the civilpedia entry in editor i had the same problem with joust aren.
     
  12. D'Artagnan59

    D'Artagnan59 The Gascon

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,144
    Location:
    New England
    It is under CEUniversity or something like that.

    What is that?
     
  13. embryodead

    embryodead Caliph

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,179
    Location:
    basement
    It's a file that is part of the scenario and there's nothing wrong with it. Seems you either don't have it, or have it misplaced, which means you failed to install the scenario properly. Since you have similar problems with other mods, my guess is you put the files in wrong folders or unzip them into a new folder instead of *directly* into Conquests/Scenarios. Make sure the "Twilight of Byzantium" folder is in Conquest/Scenarios, along with the BIQ file.
     
  14. Yoda Power

    Yoda Power ✫✫✫✫✫✫✫

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    13,869
    What ED said^

    Sorry I'm not much around to answer questions, but R/L is keeping me busy.
     
  15. BenniusCaesar

    BenniusCaesar Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    what am I supposed to do with the BIQ file?
     
  16. BenniusCaesar

    BenniusCaesar Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    oh wait. Someone has answered it here. I just drop the file in with the rest?
     
  17. Yoda Power

    Yoda Power ✫✫✫✫✫✫✫

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    13,869
    Yes, both the biq file and the Twillight of Byzantium folder goes into the main Scenarios folder. :)
     
  18. muffincakes

    muffincakes Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    It would be a lot more fun if there weren't people you were locked at war with

    I cant use diplomacy with most of the factions and i want to use diplomacy with bulgars and Serbs but i cant :(


    is there a way i can change it to where i can negotiate with everyone? =D
     
  19. EuropeanFury

    EuropeanFury Tired Grumpy Warrior

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    This scenario is fantastic. I've just started, but so far I conquered Siena effortlessly, and have my fleet of Arq's sailing south to conquer some Pirates.
     
  20. Yoda Power

    Yoda Power ✫✫✫✫✫✫✫

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    13,869
    You can disable the locked wars in the editor. However the scenario is supposed to have locked wars, so there is no guarantee how it will play when you edit it.
     

Share This Page