1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Uprising Empire 1.0.0

adds Revolt to the game.

  1. Gueux

    Gueux Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    Messages:
    257
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    from what I see it should multiply by 100 the cultural presure received from cities of LEADER_SNACK_JFK if you have a different government than him? is that right?

    I am not sure but I think the problem is just that you set the var "DiffGovMultiplier" to local twice just set it on the first it should work, that's the only thing I see.

    should look like this :

    Code:
    function GetCulturePresure(playerID, cityID, cityKey, pCity, divisor)
        culturePresure = emptyTable(culturePresure);
        if not divisor then
            divisor = 3
        end
        local kPlayers    :table = PlayerManager.GetWasEverAlive();
        for _, pPlayer in ipairs (kPlayers) do
            local pCapitalCity = pPlayer:GetCities():GetCapitalCity();
            local CityOwnerID = pCity:GetOwner()
            if playerID == pPlayer:GetID() then
                playerdivisor = 1
            else
                playerdivisor = 3 - pPlayer:GetDiplomacy():GetVisibilityOn(playerID)/2 ;
            end
            for _,pCity2 in pPlayer:GetCities():Members() do
                local City2OwnerID = pCity2:GetOwner()
                if cityID ~= pCity2:GetID() or playerID ~= pPlayer:GetID()  then
                    local capitalMultiplier = 1;
                    local DiffGovMultiplier = 1;
                    if pCapitalCity == pCity2 then
                        capitalMultiplier = 1.5;
                    end
                    if PlayerConfigurations[City2OwnerID]:GetLeaderTypeName() == "LEADER_SNACK_JFK" and (Players[CityOwnerID]:GetCulture():GetCurrentGovernment() ~= Players[City2OwnerID]:GetCulture():GetCurrentGovernment()) then
                        DiffGovMultiplier = 100;
                        print("John F. Kennedy multiplier is "..DiffGovMultiplier);
                    end
                    local cityKey2             = pCity2:GetX().."."..pCity2:GetY()
                    local DistancebtweenCities = Map.GetPlotDistance(pCity:GetX(), pCity:GetY(), pCity2:GetX(), pCity2:GetY());
                    if DistancebtweenCities <= 10 then
                        local Valuemodifier = Round( (11 - DistancebtweenCities) * GetCityData(pCity2).CulturePerTurn * pCity2:GetPopulation() / divisor / playerdivisor * capitalMultiplier * DiffGovMultiplier, 1 );
                        local city2Culture = uprisingEmpireData[cityKey2].Culture;
                        if not culturePresure[city2Culture] then
                            culturePresure[city2Culture]                = {}
                            culturePresure[city2Culture].TotalPresure   = 0;
                        elseif not culturePresure[city2Culture].TotalPresure then
                            culturePresure[city2Culture].TotalPresure = 0;
                        end
                      
                        culturePresure[city2Culture][cityKey2]                          = Valuemodifier
                        culturePresure[city2Culture].TotalPresure                       = culturePresure[city2Culture].TotalPresure + Valuemodifier;
                    end
                end
            end
        end
     
  2. DrNooooo

    DrNooooo Warlord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    Messages:
    129
    That worked! Thank you so much!

    I need to add some more to Kennedy's leader ability and add the rest of his Civlopedia page but he should be ready to roll soon :)
     
  3. DrNooooo

    DrNooooo Warlord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    Messages:
    129
    Hi, bumping this thread because JFK is almost finished and I noticed a bug while testing him. I don't think it's related since JFK doesn't modify any of this code, but I thought it was worth pointing out.

    It seems like (possibly as a result of saving and loading) you will always receive the negative revolt score from having changed governments recently and it will never go away. The tooltip also doesn't display that the government has been changed recently.

    For example, here is the government tooltip after switching to Autocracy ten turns ago:


    Here is the government tooltip ten tens earlier, in a save where the government was switched to Oligarchy at least twenty turns ago:

    And finally, here is the government tooltip after switching to a different government and autoplaying for 15 turns, which should have eliminated the malus according to the code.

    Based on my testing using Print commands, this happens because SetGovernmentModTooltip does not read the values of uprisingEmpireData[playerID].GovernmentStability.Governmentchangedturn or uprisingEmpireData[playerID].GovernmentStability.GovernmentchangedAmount and returns nil values. Switching governments will print the data successfully if a Print command is inserted, but trying to open the Revolt lens will always return "Runtime Error ...UprisingEmpireUI.lua:2326: operator .. is not supported for string .. nil" for the same Print code.

    Hopefully that helps. Let me know if you have any questions.
     
  4. Gueux

    Gueux Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    Messages:
    257
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Hi, I am not sure to understand but here how it should work :

    if you change government you lose -30 government stability per city, then you regain it little by little (depending on the government)

    if you reload the game the government stability is saved but I don't save your government change historic so it won't appear in UI but the stability should stay the same as before save load

    so I am not sure where is the problem on your pics?
     
  5. DrNooooo

    DrNooooo Warlord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    Messages:
    129
    Oh, did I not understand it correctly? I was looking at the code and not reading the description so I thought what the code meant was that governments would return to being stable after 10 turns. My mistake! :blush:

    I think this could be clearer in the tooltip? Like, I feel the way that government stability works is not very well explained in the game itself. If you said "government stability increases by [whatever] average per turn for [whatever] government" in the tooltip, that would be less flavorful but also easier to understand what's going on.
     
  6. Gueux

    Gueux Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    Messages:
    257
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    np, May be I'll add it I'll see.
     
  7. DrNooooo

    DrNooooo Warlord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    Messages:
    129
    Hi, me again. I was messing around with the idea of making Tourism part of cultural pressure, but I can't get it to work - at least not properly. What I want is so that Tourism plays a larger role than Culture in the offensive cultural pressure of a Civ. In other words, Civs with higher tourism output a greater amount of culture pressure on neighboring Civs than Civs with higher raw cultural output, making Great Works, Wonders, and forming a religion more important than just building a lot of Amphitheaters. At the same time, raw Culture would allow for defense against the enemy player's tourism, again reflecting the Tourism vs. Culture gameplay of Civ V.

    I was able to get this to work, technically, but it causes odd results because I don't really understand the code or how to program in lua. If I wanted Tourism to add a bonus to, or be the primary source of, the culture pressure outputted on another city, how would I make this change? And, is there any way to make the Tourism value dynamic, i.e. based on the same factors that modify Tourism in the base game such as trade routes and open borders?

    Oh, and while I'm here. Say I wanted JFK's ability to work entirely differently than it does currently - say I wanted an ability based on JFK causing governments to change. For instance, is it possible to program it so that JFK, and JFK alone, adds a cultural pressure modifier, to a neighboring civ with a different government's government instability, as if that player has changed governments? And, if the instability caused by JFK's ability triggers a successful rebellion, to force a change to JFK's current government? I think that'd be much more flavorful and interesting than just giving him a passive modifier to cultural pressure.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2020
  8. Gueux

    Gueux Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    Messages:
    257
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    if you want to change how the cultural presure works you should look at "GetCulturePresure()" at line 2831

    it watch every cities arround one city and calcul the presure it should receive from it

    you could check the tourism from the city or the player and add it in the "Valuemodifier" var. (it's the cultural presure from the city)

    local Valuemodifier = Round( (11 - DistancebtweenCities) * GetCityData(pCity2).CulturePerTurn * pCity2:GetPopulation() / divisor / playerdivisor * capitalMultiplier * tourismModifier, 1 );

    divisor is for differentiate cultural presure from separatism (both use this function)
    player divisor depends on the player visibility
    capital have 1.5 more presure than other cities

    the second Valuemodifier is the presure from the city on itself

    for the government change it's in "RevoltType()" at line 2111 where "changeGovernment()" is called, just change the newGovernmentID to whatever you want.

    if you want to change the government stability from a player you need to call "SetGovernmentMod(playerID, value)" (it should be called ChangeGovernmentMod cause it's doesn't set but add the value)
     
  9. Bonci

    Bonci King

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    760
    Location:
    Tridentum - Italia
    Hello! I wanted to try your mod with the new game mode (Dramatic Ages) but there seems to be a problem. After the first world congress I become unable to click the "Next turn" button and the game is stuck forever (even after reloading).
    I don't know if it's a problem only with the new mode or if it extends to the normal games too. I'll try as soon as I can.
     
  10. Gueux

    Gueux Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    Messages:
    257
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Hi, anything in the lua.log?
     
  11. Pistol90

    Pistol90 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    287
    Gender:
    Male
    Just to say this is for me probably best mod for Civ6 right now. It enables more dynamic mid-late game, which is biggest problem for Civ6 since launch.

    Just one suggestion, to make Civil-war revolt. Almost copy-paste of Colonial revolt, but to make it not dependent of city distance from capital --- but other factors (maybe all of them combined).
    I usually start the game with "killing" half of the players in order for them to spawn in certain moment in time (usually I leave old-historic civs like Egypt, Gauls --- and kill modern like Germany, USA) ... but civs appearing because of Colonial riot is not very often, and on other hand civs splitting in two because civil war would be awesome -- and maybe not so hard to implement because you already have Colonial riot mechanic.
     
  12. Gueux

    Gueux Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    Messages:
    257
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    Thx, I really appreciate.

    the Civilization can split in 2 in certain case, if revolt win once the city become separatist, so if it revolt again and keep being separatist it can split a civilization in 2, but it's really rare cause I don't want the game to be to hard,

    But if you want you can try to modify the mod so it happen more often, here some idea and how you could modify in UprisingEmpireUI.lua :

    1 Increase number of cities penalty at line 1069 :

    (Players[playerID]:GetCities():GetCount() - 1) * -5;

    change the -5 by anything you want just keep it negative "Players[playerID]:GetCities():GetCount()" is the number of city -1 so it doesn't count the capital.

    2 Increase separatism from revolt at line 2157

    SetSeparatism(playerID, CityId, (UprisingLvlPerTurn + Separatismlvl)*0.6);

    change the 0.6 by anything you want.
     
  13. Pistol90

    Pistol90 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    287
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for reply, I will try in next game and return my fedback
     
  14. Bonci

    Bonci King

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    760
    Location:
    Tridentum - Italia
    Sorry for the delay, I found no errors in the lua log.
    Here the last entries:

    Code:
    NotificationPanel: NOTIFICATION_COMMEMORATION_WITHOUT_CHOICE
    NotificationPanel: Notififcation Done
    UprisingEmpireUI: Phase has Begun
    EraCompletePopup: PopupManager.LOCK   'EraCompletePopupXP2', id: 221128, priority:1000
    EraCompletePopup: START EraPopupAnimation
    EraCompletePopup: START EraPopupAnimation
    EraCompletePopup: PopupManager.Unlock 'EraCompletePopupXP2', id: 221128, priority:1000
    UprisingEmpireUI: SoundToPlay   
    NotificationPanel: NOTIFICATION_PRIDE_MOMENT_RECORDED
    NotificationPanel: Notififcation Done
    NotificationPanel: NOTIFICATION_DISCOVER_RESOURCE
    NotificationPanel: Notififcation Done
    NotificationPanel: NOTIFICATION_TECH_DISCOVERED
    NotificationPanel: Notififcation Done
    NotificationPanel: NOTIFICATION_CHOOSE_TECH
    NotificationPanel: Notififcation Done
    NotificationPanel: NOTIFICATION_COMMAND_UNITS
    NotificationPanel: Notififcation Done
    NotificationPanel: NOTIFICATION_COMMAND_UNITS
    NotificationPanel: Notififcation Done
    NotificationPanel: NOTIFICATION_COMMAND_UNITS
    NotificationPanel: Notififcation Done
    NotificationPanel: NOTIFICATION_COMMAND_UNITS
    NotificationPanel: Notififcation Done
    NotificationPanel: NOTIFICATION_COMMAND_UNITS
    NotificationPanel: Notififcation Done
    UprisingEmpireUI: SoundToPlay   
    UprisingEmpireUI: SoundToPlay   
    UprisingEmpireUI: SoundToPlay   
    UprisingEmpireUI: SoundToPlay   
    UprisingEmpireUI: SoundToPlay   
    UprisingEmpireUI: SoundToPlay   
    UprisingEmpireUI: SoundToPlay   
    UprisingEmpireUI: SoundToPlay   
    UprisingEmpireUI: SoundToPlay   
    UprisingEmpireUI: SoundToPlay   
    UprisingEmpireUI: SoundToPlay   
    UprisingEmpireUI: SoundToPlay   
    UprisingEmpireUI: SoundToPlay   
    UprisingEmpireUI: SoundToPlay   
    UprisingEmpireUI: Phase has Begun
    NotificationPanel: NOTIFICATION_WORLD_CONGRESS_BLOCKING
    NotificationPanel: Notififcation Done
    UprisingEmpireUI: Phase has Begun
    NotificationPanel: NOTIFICATION_WORLD_CONGRESS_RESULTS
    NotificationPanel: Notififcation Done
    UprisingEmpireUI: SoundToPlay   
    NotificationPanel: NOTIFICATION_TECH_DISCOVERED
    NotificationPanel: Notififcation Done
    NotificationPanel: NOTIFICATION_COMMAND_UNITS
    NotificationPanel: Notififcation Done
    NotificationPanel: NOTIFICATION_CUSTOM_POPULATION_CHANGED
    NotificationPanel: Notififcation Done
     
  15. Gueux

    Gueux Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    Messages:
    257
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Hi,
    np for the delay,

    I don't know what could cause this but may be I can understand if you give me more information :

    1. does it work in vanilla?
    2. Do you use the last version of my mod?
    3. You copy past the lua log but did you press the next turn button the last time you launched the game?
    4. It's surely related to notification, is there any file in the DLC named notificationPanel.lua ?
     
  16. mesi242

    mesi242 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Seems to have an issue with a better religion window or better unit report screen. If I use any of those mods together with it I can't upgrade my units. Great Mod though.
     
  17. Gueux

    Gueux Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    Messages:
    257
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Hi

    thx, can I have a screen shot? the problem is the button placement?

    if you want to move the button you can modify UprisingEmpireUI.xml at line 7

    you should find ' Offset="0,0" ' change the first 0 to move left or right (negative = left, positive = right)
     
  18. mesi242

    mesi242 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    I found the problem it's this mod https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=1300908682(Adds some musicians) ....Not yours. I don't know how that could happen with this lol. I would press the promotion button and the screen would not pop up. So, I retried everything one by one and removed it. Everything is ok now thanks again for the mod.
     
  19. hellagrant

    hellagrant Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Awesome mod. This mod is not up on Steam Workshop fyi, perhaps it should be.

    Questions
    1) Do civs recycle? So lets say in the beginning we have India removed to be placed in the reserved pile. During the game India comes in via a revolt. Another civ destroys India. Does India go back into the reserve pile? Can the reserve pile be depleted?

    2) Anyone experience weird things when loading a saved game? I am not sure, but I think my civ was fairly safe from revolts, when I loaded a save game all my cities revolted. Could be a bug or perhaps bad luck.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2020
  20. Gueux

    Gueux Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    Messages:
    257
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Hi

    1) I can't revive a dead civ, if a civilization lost its last city then the game pass its turn even if I give a city back

    2) I don't know, did this happenned multiple times?
     

Share This Page