1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Version 1.95 posted (comments thread)

Discussion in 'Civ4 - The Ancient Mediterranean MOD' started by thamis, Aug 2, 2006.

  1. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,577
  2. Pvblivs

    Pvblivs Scriptor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    696
    Location:
    Berlin, DE
    Great! But wait, what's actually new in there? :)
     
  3. Seven05

    Seven05 Warmonger

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    Nothing, we just incrimented the number :)

    I know of the following changes:

    Reduce War Weariness (especially when winning)
    More AI tweaks (little changes)
     
  4. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,577
    Check the homepage of the TAM website. :)
     
  5. LeMAD

    LeMAD Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    The game seems to crash after I build the Tower of Babel...
     
  6. Caledorn

    Caledorn Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,884
    Location:
    Arendal, Norway
    Is the "Standard" size map 1.95 supposed to be of size "Huge" ?

    I don't really like playing on Huge maps, so I'm being more or less forced to play on the 1.94 map to get a Standard sized map..

    Other than this, it seems to be working just fine so far. (Except for the fact that we had a thunderstorm with the obligatory power brownout while I was playing) I also built the Tower of Babel without any problems in my game, as a comment to the comment above.
     
  7. Caledorn

    Caledorn Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,884
    Location:
    Arendal, Norway
    Actually - relay that comment - the game DOES crash when I build the Tower of Babel...
     
  8. Caledorn

    Caledorn Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,884
    Location:
    Arendal, Norway
    I originally intended to make this post an expanding post where I posted any errors I found regarding the Tower of Babel bug - but it would seem that I fixed it entirely by just correcting a minor spelling error. I had no idea Civilization 4 was THIS strict in regards to a spelling error about something that relates to the art of an icon!

    Anyways, here's the fix :

    Mods/The Ancient Mediterranean/Assets/XML/Buildings/Civ4BuildingInfos.xml
    Line # 10122
    Code:
    <ArtDefineTag>ART_DEF_BUILDING_GREAT_ZIGURRAT</ArtDefineTag>
    
    Change to :

    Code:
    <ArtDefineTag>ART_DEF_BUILDING_GREAT_ZIGGURAT</ArtDefineTag>
    
    Oh, and, Thamis, this also fixes your listed "Known Issue" on the TAM main webpage where you have listed this :

    - Tower of Babel does not show up in pedia or as icon (WTF?)

    Everything works as it should and is just perfect with that little spelling error corrected.
     
  9. dallas22tribe

    dallas22tribe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    This sounds stupid, and i probably miss something obvious, but i can't find where to download the mod in the Download section of the website, and has 1.95 been posted on Planert Civ? Anyhelp would be appreciated, great Mod.
    thanks
     
  10. dallas22tribe

    dallas22tribe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    nvrmnd, got it to work. i feel stupid.
     
  11. Chamrin

    Chamrin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    The Normal sized Mediterranean map appears to have been replaced with the huge sized map.

    The small mediterranean map has a forest in the water right next to rome.

    "- Updated peltast graphic, this one supposedly doesn&#8217;t cause crashes"

    It still crashes when a peltast moves visible to the player. :/

    Cham
     
  12. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,577
    Thanks for the feedback. I'll post a small update later today when I get back home.
     
  13. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,577
    Ok, I uploaded version 1.951, which fixes the Tower of Babel, gives you back the normal sized map, and slightly improves AI build choices.

    I tried the peltast, and it works perfectly fine for me. Make sure you delete your old TAM folder before installing the new TAM version. If the peltast still crashes, please let me know.
     
  14. Sword Dancer

    Sword Dancer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Victoria BC, Canada
    Thamis, I was recently approached to do English voiceovers for machinima (video movies with voice actors) dealing with World of Warcraft and Planetside.

    This got me thinking that if you need someone to read the tech quotes (in English), I could very well be your man.
     
  15. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,577
    Hey cool, I was thinking of doing them myself. But I haven't done it yet because (a) I haven't got a good microphone and (b) I am not a native English speaker and speak a mix of American and British with a very slight German accent. ;)

    So, yea, that'd be cool. The first thing to do would be to read out the "You have discovered Bronze Working" stuff. Then the qoutes are the next step.
     
  16. Chamrin

    Chamrin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Well the old peltast worked perfectly for you too, but it still crashes for me. I even redownloaded 1.94 to confirm that you put a new model in. The file sizes are different so it appears to be so. Also I noticed in addition to the maliskirmisher.nif you use for the peltast, there is a maliskirmisher_fx.nif in the same folder that is identical to the first, except it is 3 bytes longer. Comparing the files revealed that the filename was apart of the file, thus accounting for the extra 3 bytes, and every other byte was the same.

    My testing for the peltast involves entering world builder, spawning a peltast, exiting world builder, and then trying to move it. It then crashes with the bad memory allocation.

    I really don't know anything about the graphics formats used for civ 4 models, but it seems weird to me that this new peltast uses the old kfm (key frame) file from the model it was apparently derived from.

    Code:
    <NIF>Art/Units/peltast/maliskirmisher.nif</NIF>
    <KFM>Art/Units/Unique/Mali/Skirmisher/MaliSkirmisher.kfm</KFM>
    <SHADERNIF>Art/Units/peltast/maliskirmisher.nif</SHADERNIF>
    
    I know a lot of people have trouble following basic installation instructions, but I am not one of those people. So worry not. :)

    Cham
     
  17. Seven05

    Seven05 Warmonger

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    Are you using single unit graphics by any chance? Also, if you're up for a bit of testing make sure the unit is properly defined in the formations file. I'm at work so I can't send you exact instructions just some off-the-wall ideas. Unfortunately, it works fine for me and always has.
     
  18. Chamrin

    Chamrin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    I'm using the mutli unit graphics. I tried running it with single unit graphics, and it still crashed under the same conditions. I looked through the CIV4FormationInfos.xml. Everywhere UNIT_JAVELINEER is, UNIT_PELTAST is also there. Since the Javelineer works for me, and with respect to this file, the Javelineer and Peltast are identical here, I don't see any problems here.

    Cham
     
  19. darkedone02

    darkedone02 The Suggestor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,734
    Location:
    Louisville, Kentucky
    I was playing your new version, and i have found a bug that almost every mod have been getting. I was playing the small size version of your TAM sanerio and gave everyone a accurate religion (Christanity for Rome, Olymapic Gods for Acennians (damn long names), ect). Somehow, my religion (animalim), and other religion holy citys are being removed and no longer a holy city, this happen to me three times when i have to use the world builder to see if everyone have there holy city, I have to give back my holy city 3 times, and i quit cause i want to post this error i been having. I have not been having warnings or anything else like that, but i think it's the spreading issue, that somehow mine and the person that i spread got both of there holy city removed. Please fix this error cause i don't like doing this everytime it happens.
     
  20. Jet

    Jet No, no, please. Please.

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,364
    > - Barbarians should also spawn Biremes in the water, but half as many
    > per tile as with land units
    iUnownedWaterTilesPerBarbarianUnit got changed for all levels except Monarch.
     

Share This Page