1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Version 1.95 posted (comments thread)

Discussion in 'Civ4 - The Ancient Mediterranean MOD' started by thamis, Aug 2, 2006.

  1. Chode

    Chode Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    177
    My savegame is crashing again. I definitely have the latest version. Marathon, huge map, playing as Rome. Once I hit end turn, I get an error within Civ4 saying memory allocation error - bad allocation, and it quits. My computer is powerful, with an Athlon X2 4200+, Ati X1900XTX, Windows XP, and 2 GB of ram. It can't be performance related, can it?

    Savegame http://home.mchsi.com/~mithaniel/TAMRome.Civ4SavedGame

    edit I've just tried lowing my settings to the lowest, changing my virtual memory, and changing a few settings in the civ4 config file. No change at all.
    edit2 I guess I give up. TAM is so much more interesting on a huge map but apparantly no one knows the solution. Has anyone ever finished a huge marathon game? I cant play TAM anymore.
     
  2. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,577
    Could it be that you've got a Dacian Peltast entering your screen the turn it crashes? We've had many reports of that crashing.

    Here is a modified CIV4UnitInfos.xml file, which you have to place into Civilization 4\Mods\The Ancient Mediterranean\Assets\XML\Units and overwrite the old file. It basically removes the Peltast graphic.
     
  3. Chode

    Chode Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    177
    Yes I think that is it. I am at war with Dacia.

    I reloaded a savegame about 10 turns earlier, and the crash didn't happen. I've now wiped out Dacia and I haven't crashed since. Thanks for the help thamis.
     
  4. Jet

    Jet No, no, please. Please.

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,364
    Would someone mind trying this save? Just load it and press Enter to end the turn. For me it crashes to Windows with no message. I don't think I've ever had TAM crash before, except possibly: I might have had problems with the Peltast - IIRC the problem was that I couldn't play Dacia without a crash, but I could watch AI Peltasts walk around with no problem. I'm using 1.951 and tried thamis's CIV4UnitInfos.xml, but still got the crash. Tower of Babel has already been built. I don't know whether there are any lurking Peltasts in this save.
     
  5. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,577
    I'm not at home right now until monday, so I can't try it out. If nobody else tried it by monday, I'll have a look. :)
     
  6. Alekhine

    Alekhine Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Kent, England
    View attachment 135425
    Jet, I've got your saved game one turn further on above. I don't think it was a peltast crashing the game as that seems to end with a memory allocation error. On playing the first time I heard the sound of someone declaring war just before the crash. On closer inspection of the map I decided it was probably the Lydians who had a couple of troop laden galleys just outside of Sicilian waters so to prevent the crash I declared war on them. Hope you don't mind:D

    p.s I sunk a couple of Lydian biremes & a galley in my service to the glorious Carthagian Empire
     
  7. Jet

    Jet No, no, please. Please.

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,364
    Get this person an elephant! Trying it from my own save, declaring on Lydia worked around the problem for me, too. The crash must be a secret Lydian doomsday weapon.

    So Alekhine, did you get the crash, too?

    That reminds me. With boats now able to pass through your waters you have to be alert, as Admiral Alekhine was in this case! But in this case Lydia were still outside my borders when they declared war. Will the AI now declare when they have ships already inside your borders? I guess in most cases it doesn't matter, since ships can move farther than your cultural boundaries will extend.
     
  8. Seven05

    Seven05 Warmonger

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    Well Thamis, they caught onto the new wonder, the Crashes of Kroissos... have to try something new so they stop destroying the poor Lydians. :)
     
  9. Alekhine

    Alekhine Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Kent, England
    Woohoo! I think I'll call him Stampy and march him to Trebia. I've heard there's some fun to be had up there:)
     
  10. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,577
    So... any ideas what causes the crash now?
     
  11. Leiv Ericsson

    Leiv Ericsson Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    70`north
    I built the genius of archimedes yesterday and noticed that it gives no gp points, is this intentional?
     
  12. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,577
    Uhmmm... no. ;)
     
  13. Chode

    Chode Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    177
    Is war weariness implimented in game, or does Rome never get WW? I have been at war for hundreds of turns now, and no one is complaining about it. It makes the Empire civic rather useless. In fact, many of the civics aren't very useful.

    Concerning the Holy Empire, its a cool concept. I hope more interesting choices are added (how about being able to force christianity on the mediterranean instead of free religion?). Right now, it is pretty worthless because since all the AIs are annoyed with you and each other no one ever gets voted in.
     
  14. Waterloo

    Waterloo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi,

    1. tried to play a multiplayer game (hotseat) with the normal sized map with version 1.951. I started by double-clicking on the map file and then "go back" to multiplayer > hotseat, but there was only to choose between "New Game" and "Load Game", there was no "load scenario". Did I something wrong? I remember there were comments for the earlier versions and looked them up, but they didn't work.:confused:

    2. Probably already commented on, but the Goths have when meeting them no greeting but a long key, something like AI_DIPLO...., same with city Ostrogoth (TEXT_KEY_....).

    Thanks a lot,

    Waterloo
     
  15. baptiste

    baptiste Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    115
    I could be nice to put off the acute accent in Vercingétorix, the saved games might be not easy to reload this way (you can by double clicking on the saved file in explorer, but you cannot within the game).

    And i guess most accent in french did not exist in this era, since many appeared much later.
     
  16. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,577
    Yes, there is War Weariness, but we've modified it. Have you really got no war weariness at all?

    Also: Are you winning or losing the wars? Because, if you're winning, you hardly get any war weariness, but if you're losing, it skyrockets. At least that's how I designed it.
     
  17. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,577
    I haven't got CIV here... can't tell you. We can fix the AI_DIPLo and TXT_KEY though. Just not any time soon (at least from my side), because I'm ultra-busy.
     
  18. baptiste

    baptiste Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    115
    What do you mean by "winning" or "loosing" ? Capturing / loosing cities ?

    @chode : you should have strong war weariness if you have captured cities from a foe you are at war with. It's the only situation in wich i had war weariness, and it was strong.
     
  19. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,577
    Winning and losing is defined as the ratio between how many units you kill and how many units you lose, as well as how many cities you conquer and how many cities you lose.

    You lose happiness for every unit you lose, you gain happiness (but slightly less) for every unit you kill.
     
  20. baptiste

    baptiste Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    115
    I just noticed there is a sea unit unable to cross borders : the fishing boat.

    (and thx for explanation)
     

Share This Page