1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

What are my mistakes?

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by Northen Wolf, Feb 12, 2008.

  1. Northen Wolf

    Northen Wolf Young Hunter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,241
    Location:
    Estonia
    I use colonies quite often for a road built on mountains. or when i can't reach the luxury/resource I want/need. Also I prefer to build colonies on mountains as it takes 2 turns then to produce a road, while it takes 8 turns for same 1 worker to build a road and my workers group won't lose 2 turns (moving onto mountains, then roading it.
     
  2. darski

    darski Regent in Training

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,075
    Location:
    Ontario, Can.

    Another Civ can build right beside your colony and then you don't have a colony anymore. And if I remember correctly, you don't have a worker either.
     
  3. Nergal

    Nergal Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    390
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    When the colony goes yes the worker does too. Even if its your cultural expansion. I normally use foriegn workers for colonies and only if its a resource I need there and then but one that I'm due to get when cutlural expansion kicks in.
     
  4. TheOverseer714

    TheOverseer714 Overseer

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,077
    Location:
    Ohio
    But the road stays, so the resource stays hooked up if it's your cultural borders that expanded over it. Only in rare situations might a road be worth sacrificing a worker. That might be Iron or Gems on a mountain.
     
  5. Aabraxan

    Aabraxan Mid-level Micromanager

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,106
    Location:
    Arkansas
    I may be way off here, but I seem to recall hearing that you get an attitude hit (or may be a rep hit, but that seems less likely) for using foreign workers for colonies or airfields. I'm really unsure of this, though, so if anyone can confirm or deny this, I'd like to know.
     
  6. Northen Wolf

    Northen Wolf Young Hunter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,241
    Location:
    Estonia
    well, this is my most recent save. Playing as Korea, had quite a bad start: Was blocked off by Greece and had only jungle to expand towards to. (look at city names). I have not micromanaged alot, but I think, I'm learning how to control lux slider...

    Also, when to use Forbidden palace? I'm planning to build mynes into Tokch'on... Then I'll have better core, than original one...

    Also,(i know it depends), but how do you manage to keep good research up while in early republic? I'm having troubles with it... My cities won't get above size 6 for the time of republic, so I am quite in desperate gold crisis that demands me to lower science slider usually to 40%... Early aqueducts ??? Temples??

    Oh and if building a colony with slave gives me penalty, i should start building with my workers instead. I only build it when resource/luxury is out of reach and/or on a mountain (gives free road).
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Theov

    Theov Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,123
    Location:
    Taiwan
    could you incl a screenshot?
     
  8. Aabraxan

    Aabraxan Mid-level Micromanager

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,106
    Location:
    Arkansas
    You should build the FP in every game. It improves your economy, so the earlier you build it, the better. Use an MGL if you have a spare, build it by hand if you don't.

    Republic always suffers from growing pains when you first switch. That's normal. Disband regular warriors that are only doing MP duty, because there's no MP duty under Republic. Luxes, markets, aques and the sliders. Luxes help keep the people happy (obviously), markets add happy faces once you get the luxuries hooked up. In C3C (can't recall which version you're playing), Republic has 1/3/4 unit support, so getting a town to "clear the hurdle" from size 6 to size 7 adds 2 units to that town's unit support (tripling it). I always wind up lowering the science slider until I get my empire stabilized for Republic. But the commerce bonus under Republic will soon make up for those turns. Also remember that, during anarchy, shield and gold from the tiles are lost to corruption. That means that any citizen working a 0 food tile needs to be made into a specialist. Specialists continue to work during anarchy. I always turn enough citizens into tax collectors that the city keeps growing, but hopefully still rakes in some cash. That gives me a small "cushion" of funds to assist in getting through the transition.
     
  9. Mursi lives

    Mursi lives Warlord

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    250
    Settlers!
    I assume 'early republic' means getting it as philo free tech and switching immediately.
    Instead of trying to keep good research at any cost, turn it off for a while, get more food by irrigating some grass tiles and expand like mad by cash-rusing settlers. You wont even be behind in techs since you can trade republic for any tech AI may research.
     

Share This Page