1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

What's first?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Star Wars Mod' started by Popcornlord, May 6, 2008.

?

Which one?

  1. Invasion of Naboo

    4 vote(s)
    7.7%
  2. Clone Wars

    15 vote(s)
    28.8%
  3. Early Galactic Civil War

    11 vote(s)
    21.2%
  4. Late Galactic Civil War

    7 vote(s)
    13.5%
  5. Jedi Civil War Era

    9 vote(s)
    17.3%
  6. I'd rather not do a scenerio

    6 vote(s)
    11.5%
  1. Popcornlord

    Popcornlord Steampunk Mechanic

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    787
    I'm not working on anything pacifically now, but I could be working on units and the tech tree. I'm trying to relearn blender, so I have a question for people who use it: What do you use to convert blend files to (insert unit file type)?
     
  2. moopoo

    moopoo King

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    729
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    you export it to different file types, don't you?
     
  3. Popcornlord

    Popcornlord Steampunk Mechanic

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    787
    Yes, but blender can't do that by itself. I need another program. Oh, and are we going to be using the old SW mod again(the one in SVN that's not working)? If we're not I'll delete it.
     
  4. NikNaks

    NikNaks Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
    No, you should actually do it through Blender. And I can't see why we'll be using the old one if it's broken.
     
  5. Popcornlord

    Popcornlord Steampunk Mechanic

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    787
    The NIF files, right? Because whenever I try to open one of those files it says I can't.
     
  6. moopoo

    moopoo King

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    729
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Have you downloaded the plug-ins for it? Blender isn't able to open them automatically, and once you get the plugin you need to configure it.
     
  7. Popcornlord

    Popcornlord Steampunk Mechanic

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    787
    Yes, at least 3 times. *shrugs* oh well, I'll just work on python. Anyways, what do you want to be working on, Moopoo and Niknaks? I uploaded the new mod that I was working on to SVN.
     
  8. NikNaks

    NikNaks Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
    Well, what have you got so far?
     
  9. Popcornlord

    Popcornlord Steampunk Mechanic

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    787
    2 civs, with a leader each, 2 ecenomic units (worker and settler), 2 military units + 2 UU, a building + a UB, some techs, and 2 "religions". I added buttons for the "religions" and title screen music. It'll be easier to see it yourself, but I'm fairly sure we're good for civs and "religions".
     
  10. Popcornlord

    Popcornlord Steampunk Mechanic

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    787
    Wish me luck: I'm going to try to program in space. It'll probably take me 5 years, but I'm still trying it!
     
  11. Swodhawk

    Swodhawk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    I do, wish you luck!
     
  12. moopoo

    moopoo King

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    729
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    yeah, good luck dude. Keep us posted on how it goes.
     
  13. Popcornlord

    Popcornlord Steampunk Mechanic

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    787
    Unfortunatelly It'll require some C++, which I know very little about. Can someone point me to a good tutorial?
    Edit: And does anyone know the file that tells the game how to load a save file?
     
  14. moopoo

    moopoo King

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    729
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    No to the edit, but The best tutorial I've found so far (which I planning on using this next month :D) is the one on Wikiversity.
     
  15. Popcornlord

    Popcornlord Steampunk Mechanic

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    787
    Hmm, never heard of wikiversity (which is strange as I'm a wiki fan). I'll have to check it out. No real news, though.
    Edit: And does anyone know the answer to my second question? I think I'm going to need tomess around with save files.
     
  16. moopoo

    moopoo King

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    729
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I think that's a question best suited for the general SDK/Python Forum :)
     
  17. Popcornlord

    Popcornlord Steampunk Mechanic

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    787
    Alright, I'm fairly sure it'll be impossible to do with my skill level, possibly just impossible. So unless we get an expert in C++, space will have to be repressented some other way. I guess the best thing to do then (on a full galactic map) is to make planets 3x3 tiles (or something like that), make space impassible, and allow space units to go through impassible terrain. Oh, and who's doing what in XML? I'll do units and techs.
     
  18. black baron

    black baron Daemon Prince of Tzeentch

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    302
    Location:
    Planet of the Sorcerers
    i can do any thing you need me to do in xml (especially civs)
    just tell me the files your using
     
  19. Popcornlord

    Popcornlord Steampunk Mechanic

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    787
  20. black baron

    black baron Daemon Prince of Tzeentch

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    302
    Location:
    Planet of the Sorcerers
    ok so what now
     

Share This Page