1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Why is Vichy France included but not Free French forces led by Charles de Gaulle?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Road to War' started by Nolan08, May 16, 2009.

  1. Nolan08

    Nolan08 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    Bend
    It's not only historically accurate, but I think it would solve the problem that I experience frequently, and that's a deadlock between the Axis and Allied Powers.

    Free French Forces did not tip the scales of the theater of war in the East, but they were extremely influential on the Western Theater of WWII. In fact, they were just behind Russia, America, and the United Kingdom in active military personnel during the war.
     
  2. fireclaw722

    fireclaw722 Imperial Guard

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    499
    Location:
    The Americas
    If you want to add the free french just go into world builder in about 1942 with regular french forces outside normandy for a simulation or make paris culturally flip frome german to regular french and add a few extra tanks, artillery, and improved/advanced infantry. I have tried this multiple times to simulate the free french forces as they recaptured the country of france
     
  3. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,059
    Location:
    In orbit
    After the fall of France in June, 1940 the Free French controlled only French Equatorial Africa. While until 1942 they fought in the Ethiopian, Egyptian and Lybian campaign and succeeded in liberating Syria and Lebanon from Vichy France in 1941, their initial territory might be somewhat difficult to represent on the main map (they also had no capital, as De Gaulle "resided" in London).
     
  4. Ambassador

    Ambassador Peacemonger

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    442
    Location:
    World
    Can't France just be vasallized by the Axis rather than form a new civ. Unfortunately, France's colonies get cramped, especially in Indochina and Syria, by giving them to a new civ (Vichy France).
     
  5. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,548
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    I see the "Free French" a bit like the "Poles", who formed units under allied commands. I may add them to my unit lists.

    As to borders. Borders in Civ a Cultural strength borders not polictical.

    As to being a Vassal, that is possibility. But like the South-East Europeans it is better if they have some form of independence. e.g. one of them, I believe swapped sides later in the war.
     

Share This Page