1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Wolf

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Unit Graphics' started by Civitar, May 15, 2014.

  1. Civitar

    Civitar Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,507
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Wolf unit converted from Civilization IV. Mesh by Deliverator (from his Goblin Wolf Rider) and animations by Kwadjh. Has sounds for attack, fortify, fidget, and death from Civ4. It can be reskinned and previewed normally in Nexus. I have also fixed the issue with rifleman triggers being assigned to it.


    Spoiler Screenshots :



     
  2. Nutty

    Nutty Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3,147
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orange County, California, U.S.A.
    Since it's reskinnable now, I can upload my old reskins of Kwadjh's wolf conversion.

    Contains wolves of various shades of gray (including black and albino) [with a couple of alternate eye colors to match the direwolves from Game of Thrones], as well as a brown wolf and a brown "dog." You'll need the animations from the base unit.

    EDIT: Added 3 hellhound skins...
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Nomad or What

    Nomad or What Wayfarer Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    686
    Location:
    Wherever the winds take me
    Thanks Civitar! :goodjob:

    Awesome! I think we've got wolves covered now, so it looks like all we need is a Werewolf... :D
     
  4. Civitar

    Civitar Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,507
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I was surprised nobody had done this yet, so I put it up to make it easier on everybody.
    And Nutty, of course, is all over the reskinning:D.
     
  5. DarkScythe

    DarkScythe Hunkalicious Holo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    804
    Hey there,

    Firstly, I'd like to thank you for providing this, as this is perfect for the mod I'm wrapping up right now.

    However, I'd like to ask if there are any problems, or if you never intended, for several of these skins/models to be used simultaneously?

    I'm having some problems with this, as I've detailed in this thread and I'm not sure if it's because I'm trying to use what are essentially the same units, with the same animation files, or if there is some other reason.
     
  6. Civitar

    Civitar Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,507
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Update:

    It can be reskinned and previewed normally in Nexus. I have fixed the issue with rifleman triggers being assigned to it and given it the original skin and sounds from Civilization IV,.


    Spoiler Screenshots :



     
  7. nokmirt

    nokmirt Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5,087
    Location:
    Iowa USA
    I added the wolf, but can't get the .wav sounds to work. I put them in an assets/sound folder in my mod. I set them to VFS=True, and clicked reload audio system. And I updated wolf_sounds.xml to database. Still no sounds. I don't get it.
     
  8. Civitar

    Civitar Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,507
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I had a lot of trouble with it too - Nomad was the one who got them to work, not me. You'll have to ask him about sounds.:(
     
  9. nokmirt

    nokmirt Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5,087
    Location:
    Iowa USA
    Nomad how did you get the wolf sounds to work?
     
  10. Nomad or What

    Nomad or What Wayfarer Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    686
    Location:
    Wherever the winds take me
    I am not sure, but they work fine for me. I can send you the mod I made to test them if you want.
     
  11. nokmirt

    nokmirt Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5,087
    Location:
    Iowa USA
    Yes could you do that for me? I don't have it setup right or something. Thanks!:)
     
  12. Nomad or What

    Nomad or What Wayfarer Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    686
    Location:
    Wherever the winds take me
  13. nokmirt

    nokmirt Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5,087
    Location:
    Iowa USA
  14. Jamforce

    Jamforce Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Italy
    Amazing, Im going to use it for the Starks!
     
  15. nokmirt

    nokmirt Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5,087
    Location:
    Iowa USA
    I just added it for them. I don't hear howls though, but when they attack each other it sounds cool.
     
  16. Civitar

    Civitar Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,507
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Switzerland
    If you can hear attack sounds and not howls, it's probably a mistake I made in the ftsxml file (which controls when sounds trigger). I will check it over more closely.
     
  17. nokmirt

    nokmirt Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5,087
    Location:
    Iowa USA
    That's fine no rush. It is a great unit. I just adjusted its unit members and scale to fit my mod.
     
  18. Nomad or What

    Nomad or What Wayfarer Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    686
    Location:
    Wherever the winds take me
    I couldn't get them to howl either, when idle or fidgeting. I think you will really have to tweak the .ftsxml file to get it to work, perhaps add an action?

    Spoiler :
    <trigger type="FTimedTriggerAction" id="100" time="2.60" duration="0" repeat="0" ec="1040" track="4" tier="0" action="1" />


    I haven't messed around with actions much, but they seem to be relative to something in the DataGraphs so I'm not even sure it would help. I'd like to unravel the mystery to me of the difference between "time," "duration," and "tier" because I don't understand the mechanics as of yet.

    In the .ftsxml file that I made for testing, I instead added in howls when running and attacking to try to compensate for the lack of howls elsewhere.
     
  19. Civitar

    Civitar Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,507
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Howls are just supposed to play in the fidget animation, and I had to do some editing to what animations play at what event codes in order to make it have an animation for all occasions. It's more than likely that this messed up the ftsxml. I must confess the ftsxml is an illegible jumble to me, all I can figure out is the ec part, the effect part, and the sound part.:p
     
  20. pineappledan

    pineappledan Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    3,500
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    This is amazing work. Has anyone made a dog sled team for an inuit unit?

    I am working on a 3rd and 4th unique component for CL's Inuit civ, I was hoping to use Barathor's excellent Qamutiik icon, but there is still no unit model for a dog sled.

    With the wolf already reskinned, would it be hard to add a sled?

    Barathor's inuit icons, top, an inuit sled on bottom:
    Spoiler :
    upload_2018-3-28_13-39-29.png

     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2018

Share This Page