1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

World 2004 - Updated

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Scenarios' started by elfangor801, Oct 17, 2004.

  1. Powerwise

    Powerwise Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Canada
    Just curious..

    what do you mean by larger scenario?:cool:
     
  2. RedwallFortress

    RedwallFortress Necromancer Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    New York City
    A new of the Patch for the scenario will be coming out :cool: soon.
    It will not include any substantial changes, but will try to correct :) all bugs detected so far.
     
  3. Narn

    Narn Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    217
    I always thought this scenario to be very good but the turn times were so so slow. It's very frustrating waiting 7min a turn and it prevented me from fully enjoying it.
     
  4. RedwallFortress

    RedwallFortress Necromancer Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    New York City
    That is one of the issues that I have been unable to :( solve as of yet.
     
  5. mr_lewington

    mr_lewington King

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    627
    Location:
    Canada
    remove sea/air trade. it'll change the game considerably but its ethier buying tanks or minute long turns
     
  6. RedwallFortress

    RedwallFortress Necromancer Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    New York City
    I already :rolleyes: have.
    Now I am working on making sure every Civ has decent unit's.
    Most of the best units in this scenario :mad: required that you buy them, so that causes a problem for the non :mad: major Civs.
    They now can't build any Tank's, Aircraft, or Ships.
     
  7. Alan McG

    Alan McG Cannelloni

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Dresden, Altstadt
    Sounds quite nice! Just one question: why do you use generic names like "South EU" and "Scandinavia" for some civs and "country/country" names (like "Germany/France") for others? Wouldn't it make more sense to have some standard rule here, and change "Germany/France" to "Central EU", Poland and Allies" to "Eastern EU", and so on?
     
  8. Narn

    Narn Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    217
    Will the computer players be smart enough to buy them?
     
  9. RedwallFortress

    RedwallFortress Necromancer Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    New York City
    I am not sure, as I am not the Original :rolleyes: creator of this scenario, and nether was :rolleyes: elfangor801. He made this Updated version of World 2004,
    but later abandoned it. I am only trying to get it finally finished so people can enjoy :) it.
     
  10. Alan McG

    Alan McG Cannelloni

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Dresden, Altstadt
    Well then there should be no reason to not add some modifications along the way, right :p ?
     
  11. RedwallFortress

    RedwallFortress Necromancer Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    New York City
    My thoughts :evil: exactly!!!
     
  12. mr_lewington

    mr_lewington King

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    627
    Location:
    Canada
    lol my only request for now is to change winnepeg to winnipeg!
     
  13. RedwallFortress

    RedwallFortress Necromancer Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    New York City
    I will be sure to :):lol: remmember it.
     
  14. Narn

    Narn Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    217
    I'd like to try this out but i cant find the option to turn those off? Where in the editor are those options?

    Thanks
     
  15. mr_lewington

    mr_lewington King

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    627
    Location:
    Canada
    they'll b under a certain tech and in the boxes "enable sea trade" and "enable ocean trade" you'll b able 2 check themon or off
     
  16. Narn

    Narn Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    217
    ah i see now, cheers
     
  17. Virote_Considon

    Virote_Considon The Great Dictator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    9,333
    Location:
    Skaville UK Reputation: 1
    No, you want to go into the Improvements/Wonders tab, and take off all the "Allows Sea Trade" and "Allows Air Trade" checks from the improvements/wonders. That should speed things up!
     
  18. Narn

    Narn Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    217
    hi how is your version of this scenario progressing?
     
  19. RedwallFortress

    RedwallFortress Necromancer Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    New York City
    I am quite ;) busy at the moment, but hopefully will be able to resume work after the :goodjob: Holidays.
     
  20. Yigo

    Yigo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Philippines
    If you are really interested in trying to update this, why not work on a 2008 version? You can basically keep the original 2004 d/l and just add newer units available throughout the site. Perhaps some of the other scenario creators would be willing to contribute and/or offer ideas, i.e. TCW, Global WW2, etc.. and there are plenty of other resources here to use as well. I would be willing to assist in any way if you really want to make a go of it. If we can get a couple of other guys, we can divide the work up and maybe punch something out quickly and polish it up over time....

    BTW, the best idea I have seen and experimented with to speed it up is to disable air/sea trade with the harbors/airports and just make it available with a small wonder.
     

Share This Page