1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Yet Another Merger

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Revolution Modpack' started by Duneflower, Nov 7, 2008.

  1. David Smith

    David Smith Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    Maryland
    Still doesn't work for me, tried Opera, SeaMonkey, Foxfire3 and EI7still nothing!:crazyeye::(:cry:
     
  2. QwertyKey

    QwertyKey Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    180
    I'm having trouble with Opera...

    Why not just upload it to rapidshare? Much easier.
     
  3. Duneflower

    Duneflower Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    SW Utah
    :hmm: Okay...I thought you had to sign up for RapidShare, and signing up for new services makes me go :aargh:. I should have a link for it in a bit here.

    RapidShare link.
     
  4. Duneflower

    Duneflower Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    SW Utah
    Double-post for separate topic: jdog, have you ever tried going into the foreign-affairs screen when you don't know anyone? I'm not sure if it's a Rev problem or a NwT problem, but I accidentally did so a while back and Python barfed all over me. Didn't crash anything, but still possibly with looking into.

    Also, about ChangePlayer: I just used it to change Wilhelmina of the Netherlands into Cunhambebe of the Tupi, and it worked quite well - in fact, the noted bug about the flag not changing did not occur; but oddly enough; the units' artstyle didn't change, though units produced subsequently were created with the new artstyle.
     
  5. QwertyKey

    QwertyKey Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    180
    Thanks :) It works!
     
  6. jdog5000

    jdog5000 Revolutionary

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,601
    Location:
    California
    Duneflower: Thanks for the heads up about the foreign screen, I'll check it out.

    About change player and art styles ... did the city art styles change? I'll see what I can figure out to change the unit art styles but that may be tough.
     
  7. Duneflower

    Duneflower Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    SW Utah
    Yes, the city-artstyle does change.

    Hrrrm...how much work do you think it would be to repackage the Next War stuff in modular format?
     
  8. Duneflower

    Duneflower Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    SW Utah
    Can someone tell me why this text-modifying XML isn't working?
    Spoiler :
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
    <Civ4GameText xmlns="http://www.firaxis.com">
    	<TEXT>
    		<Tag>TXT_KEY_CIV_CELT_DESC</Tag>
    		<English>Gaulish Empire</English>
    	</TEXT>
    	<TEXT>
    		<Tag>TXT_KEY_CIV_CELT_SHORT_DESC</Tag>
    		<English>Gaul</English>
    	</TEXT>
    	<TEXT>
    		<Tag>TXT_KEY_CIV_CELT_ADJECTIVE</Tag>
    		<English>
    			<Text>Gaulish:Gauls</Text>
    			<Gender>Male</Gender>
    			<Plural>0:1</Plural>
    		</English>
    	</TEXT>
    	<TEXT>
    		<Tag>TXT_KEY_UNIT_CELTIC_GALLIC_WARRIOR</Tag>
    		<English>Gaulish Warrior</English>
    	</TEXT>
    	<TEXT>
    		<Tag>TXT_KEY_CIV_AMERICA_DESC</Tag>
    		<English>
    			<Text>United States of America</Text>
    			<Gender>Male</Gender>
    			<Plural>1</Plural>
    		</English>
    	</TEXT>
    	<TEXT>
    		<Tag>TXT_KEY_CIV_AMERICA_SHORT_DESC</Tag>
    		<English>The USA</English>
    	</TEXT>
    	<TEXT>
    		<Tag>TXT_KEY_CIV_AMERICA_ADJECTIVE</Tag>
    		<English>Union</English>
    	</TEXT>
    </Civ4GameText>
    
     
  9. QwertyKey

    QwertyKey Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    180
    What do we do with the rebeltypes.py file?
     
  10. QwertyKey

    QwertyKey Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    180
    It appears nothing can be upgraded? I can not spend the money like usaual to upgrade my units?
     
  11. Duneflower

    Duneflower Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    SW Utah
    Who are you playing, and what are you trying to upgrade to what?
     
  12. Duneflower

    Duneflower Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    SW Utah
    Updated to v0.9! GameFlood has been updated, RapidShare in progress.
     
  13. Duneflower

    Duneflower Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    SW Utah
    Crapple, I just found out my copy of Rev is out-of-date! :lol: Ah well, I'll include the new one in the next release.

    Jdog, exactly what edits did you make to Civ4UnitInfos.xml?
     
  14. jdog5000

    jdog5000 Revolutionary

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,601
    Location:
    California
    There are no Revolution changes to Civ4UnitInfos.xml that I remember, but there was an unofficial patch change to make Conquistadors ignore city walls or something. I think that's all. You can always use this really great program called WinMerge to see exactly what's changed, I may not remember everything ...
     
  15. Duneflower

    Duneflower Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    SW Utah
    Initial post edited!
     
  16. Duneflower

    Duneflower Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    SW Utah
    Hokay, why is BUG breaking my CIV4GameText tweaks?

    Edit: Finally got that crap sorted out...
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Duneflower

    Duneflower Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    SW Utah
    Version .95 is live!!! OP will be updated shortly.

    New Stuff:
    • Rev updated to DCM 2.51
    • New button-style for flags
    • A whole lotta flags replaced (again)
    • PLAYERCOLORs shuffled to cut down on too-similar ones and match new flags better (experimental, will almost certainly reshuffle at least once as some of the current ones really suck)
    • New Civilizations added:
      • Gold 5 New-World Realignment implemented
      • Ainu
      • Assyria
      • Mexico
      • Poland
      • Goths
      • Huns
      • Olmec
      • Magyar/Hungary
    Known Issues:
    • ChangePlayer seems to be broken
    • Irish UB

    Also, a note on the way I re-rendered names involving diacritics, specifically the ones that use macrons (-, as in &#333;) and breves/carons (roughly like u/v above another letter, as in &#259;/&#353;) above letters, which are mostly Mandarin vowels with tone-marks: The charset CIV uses doesn't have chars with those marks except for &#352;/&#353;, so I substituted circumflexes (^, as in ô, which I've already seen in use for Japanese long vowels) for macrons and umlauts :), as in ä) for breves/carons, which works because none of the languages in question uses both members of either pair. The lone exception to this rule is "A&#353;&#353;ur-baani-apli" (Ashurbanipal); since Romanized Assyrian does use both a macron and a circumflex, I instead rendered "-b&#257;ni-" as "-baani-", since from what I could tell the macron just denotes a lengthened vowel.

    A further note on the Mandarin names: They're not spelled in proper Hanyu Pinyin (ie "Qín Sh&#464;huáng") or Wade-Giles (ie "Ch'in Shih-huang") form at all; after a bit of research, I re-rendered them in the best way I could come up with to represent to myself how they're pronounced. YourMileageMayVary.

    Hrrrm, I think it may be time to get my own subforum. How does one go about that?
     
  18. edingess

    edingess Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    @Dune flower
    I apologize for posting a visitor message but I had not been able to find the thread until now. I start a game but there is no display.:aargh: Any suggestions would be welcome
     
  19. Duneflower

    Duneflower Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    SW Utah
    "No display"? Could you be a little more detailed?
     
  20. edingess

    edingess Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    The map appears with units but there are no advisors on the top or bottom and no mini-map.:( P.S. was the download supposed to have a civlopedia?
     

Share This Page