1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We have selected the winners of the Old World random draw and competition. For the winning entries, please check this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

[R&F] [1.0.0.229] Levy Military Expense is reflected on report screen

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Bug Reports' started by cholsy, Mar 23, 2018.

  1. cholsy

    cholsy Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    When I levy military from a city state, its expense is reflected on report screen, while it's not on tooltip.
    I'm not sure which is right, but just think tooltip is right and window screen has bug.
    This can be reproduced with SAV file attached.

    levy military.jpg


    EDIT) I found another. In the SAV file, it can be found that report screen and tooltip have different building expense. (3 on tooltip, 4 on report). In this case, I think report is correct. Then, I'm confused about levy expense again. If report is correct and tooltip is wrong, it means gameplay itself is going wrong.... :confused:

    EDIT) I noticed that the 1 difference of building expense came from whether the district under construction is counted or not. Report counts it but tooltip doesn't. I feel tooltip looks more correct and report needs fixing.
    The final balance looks correct and it is linked to tooltip well. But the breakdown is very confusing.

    expense on report.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 24, 2018
    KyivanRusCivPlease likes this.
  2. KyivanRusCivPlease

    KyivanRusCivPlease Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    438
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ukraine
    So the levied military should be free to maintain? What about districts under construction? Do they cost maintenance? That's true - confusing.
     
  3. cholsy

    cholsy Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    This bug is still alive in 1.0.12.9.
    Wiki or some post says I'm to pay for maintenance of levied unit but the game doesn't work like that. Only report screen reflects it.
    Either the gameplay or report is wrong.
    (I'm playing the game, just believing report is wrong.)
     
  4. Zegangani

    Zegangani King

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2020
    Messages:
    757
    Gender:
    Male
    I haven't checked the Game Files yet, but I think it might be just an Issue in the lua Files (the Holy site under Construction in the Report Screen). Have you tried to calculate the GPT that gets increased/decreased each Turn to see if the Issue is in the Report Screen or just a false assumption on how Levying Units actually works? I don't mean looking at the ToolTip, but the Gold Treasury after a Turn. Many UI Elements don't refresh when relevant things change, till next Turn.
     
  5. cholsy

    cholsy Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    I checked treasury but it doesn't seem to be a refresh issue. Through turns, I do not pay for maintenance cost of levied unit.
    Recently I found that this free maintenance ends when the unit is upgraded. Unit cost per turn jumps up whenever I upgrade levied units.
    For example, if I upgrade a levied Crossbowman (maint 3) to a Field Cannon(maint 5), the unit cost increases by 5 instead of 2.
    I think all of these do not look intended.
     

Share This Page