• Civilization 7 has been announced. For more info please check the forum here .

A Returning Player: Refamiliarizing Myself to the Game

Hello forum, I am a veteran player, and although I was never good at the game (I could beat Monarch a few times), I played it ridiculous amounts of time while I did. In all honesty (and I'm sure most of you are familiar with this), it almost consumed my life during some binges, and most of the rest of the time, I would still play it consistently for unhealthy intervals of time for weeks at a time, off and on for a period of a few years at least. All in all, I'm sure I've clocked at least 1500+ hours on this game. I actually got the vanilla game the Christmas of the year the game was released, and since then have upgraded to Beyond the Sword. The reason I think I didn't progress to a level that that amount of a time investment would deem realistic, was because for the most part, at the time I was just a kid having fun with the game, and for the most part I wasn't taking the game seriously or playing to win.

That aside, I just wanted to let you know that I have prior experience with the game, and I am familiar with all (or at least most) of the rules and features, so relearning the actual mechanics and stats of various components of the game (such as units, buildings, promotions and such) is not my concern at all. My problem, of course, lies in the strategic application of them.