1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Age of Colonisation

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Modpacks' started by imperator1961, Aug 28, 2007.

  1. EX-terminator

    EX-terminator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Natal - Brazil
    ok, i'm making the settlers and some defensive units
     
  2. jdladson

    jdladson Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    mod looks and sounds great from what i hear! one small note: remember to put the cherokee in the applacian area of SC, thats where they historically were at the time of Charlestowne's forming. I am a south carolinian in charleston (formerly Charles towne) and i know this because it is my history (i am also 1/16 cherokee).
     
  3. imperator1961

    imperator1961 Last of the Mohicans

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,064
    Location:
    Bologna - Italy
    Thanks and wellcome jdladson. If you can put a map of what you say is great!
     
  4. johnnyjal

    johnnyjal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Glad to see this going forward
    and that the Natives will not be made barbarians.

    But "Iroquois" pikemen?
    Why not use beefed up braves and warriors or war parties.
    There are plenty of those units around.
    And when the Dutch/Swedes gave them flintlock,
    the British and French could not defeat them....

    :goodjob:
     
  5. EX-terminator

    EX-terminator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Natal - Brazil
    well, very much changes are been made in the MOD, so all the MOD that you have downloaded, will be "deleted", so, we are making first the European Civs, and that are no notice that when we will iniciate the making-up units for the natives, arabs, africans and eastern, so, that will take a few months because making five very-very diferent cultures in the game are hard because use diferent tech tree, diferent graphics, diferent units, diferent Victory-Points and diferent searchs for make the reallistic world, so, that will make the MOD take more 4~6 months, but the MOD will be the greatest mod ever, my first work, i know, but this MOD will change all the platform of graphics, and only the graphics will take many days
     
  6. D0NIMATRIX

    D0NIMATRIX Full of drivel

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,663
    Location:
    Political incorrectness
    This mod looks like it's going to be great:goodjob: , and do you guys around when the final version is coming?
     
  7. imperator1961

    imperator1961 Last of the Mohicans

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,064
    Location:
    Bologna - Italy
    Take a look to posts 12#and13#.I've upploaded two new images of Tech Tree for the european and african civs.
     
  8. johnnyjal

    johnnyjal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Looks good :goodjob:
     
  9. imperator1961

    imperator1961 Last of the Mohicans

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,064
    Location:
    Bologna - Italy
    In posts 18# and 19# I put the Tech Trees for the Muslims and the oriental Civs
     
  10. RedwallFortress

    RedwallFortress Necromancer Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    New York City
    I think that maybe you should add Prussia to the game.
     
  11. EX-terminator

    EX-terminator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Natal - Brazil
    well, prussia aren't very important in the time
    we have added some new civs that will be an great surpise
    i think that no one have worked on then
    ------------------------------
    i have made the main-defensive unit for all civs and now we can work on the units with technological advance
     
  12. RedwallFortress

    RedwallFortress Necromancer Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    New York City
    You could call it Brandenburg, the Hohenzollern family got that state in 1415. It included Berlin and the territories that would later form the core of the Prussian Kingdom.
     
  13. RedwallFortress

    RedwallFortress Necromancer Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    New York City
    Also I noticed that you plan to include Mali in the game, that would not be accurate as that Kingdom fell in the late 1390s. Their were place as the Dominant power in West Africa was taken by the Songhay Empire.
     
  14. Virote_Considon

    Virote_Considon The Great Dictator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    9,326
    Location:
    Skaville UK Reputation: 1
    From what I understand, Mali fell around 1500-ish.
     
  15. imperator1961

    imperator1961 Last of the Mohicans

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,064
    Location:
    Bologna - Italy
    From Wikipedia: "The Mali Empire or Manding Empire or Manden Kurufa was a medieval West African state of the Mandinka from c. 1235 to c. 1610." The Songhai Empire: "From the early 15th to the late 16th Century, Songhai was one of the largest African empires in history. By the early 15th Century, the Mali Empire began to decline. Disputes over succession weakened the crown and many subjects broke away. The Songhai were one of them, making the prominent city of Gao their new capital." So it is a personal choice to involve the Mali or the Songhai in the game. In fact the territories occuped by the two Empires are similar.

    For Ex-terminator: I have put a new civilisation in game: The south east asian sultanate. They are put in Giava, Sumatra ecc. What do you think?
     
  16. imperator1961

    imperator1961 Last of the Mohicans

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,064
    Location:
    Bologna - Italy
    Take a look at the first page. I have uploaded a lot of new screenshots from the game. There are much changes.
     
  17. cubsfan6506

    cubsfan6506 Got u

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    6,266
    Location:
    Awesome Land
    Nice to see this mod coming along. But please tell me the mod still doesn't end in the early years of nineteen hundred.
     
  18. imperator1961

    imperator1961 Last of the Mohicans

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,064
    Location:
    Bologna - Italy
    I think the mod will end before the French Revolution. So the mod end in 1789. What do you think?
     
  19. RedwallFortress

    RedwallFortress Necromancer Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    New York City
    Shortly before the American Revolution is better.
     
  20. imperator1961

    imperator1961 Last of the Mohicans

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,064
    Location:
    Bologna - Italy
    But there's a problem: the Mod is based to six's months turns. So from 1496 to 1776 are 560 turns. Each tecnology in the tech tree spawn from 26 to 36 turns to complete the research. There are 44 tech for the eurpeans civs, so at maximum speed its take 1144 turns for complete the tech tree.
    Solutions:
    1) I can reduce the time to complete a new tech from 15/20 to 25/30;
    2) One turn is based to tree months instead of six.

    I cannot decrease much more the time to complete a new tech because many civs have only one era.

    If someone have other ideas please tell me. Thanks.
     

Share This Page