1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Age of Colonisation

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Modpacks' started by imperator1961, Aug 28, 2007.

  1. EX-terminator

    EX-terminator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Natal - Brazil
    sorry for no answers :)

    well, i didn't know how you put a new civ, but a civ in oceania is good, i have minded in put too the Aborigens in Australia, so, i have made some units, there go it:


    --------------------------------------------------
    Workers:
    Servant Class - Aztecs, Incans and Mayans
    Serf - Italian City States, Holy Roman Empire, Poland-Lithuania,
    France, England, Spain, Netherlands, Portugal and Hungary
    Worker - Barbary Coast, Safavid Empire, Golden Horde, Ottomans
    Eastern Worker - China, Japan, Siam
    Mughal Worker - Mughal Empire
    African Worker - Ethiopia, Kongo, Zimbabwe, Mali
    Slav Worker - Rus, Union of Kalmar
    --------------------------------------------------
    Settlers:
    Colonist - Rus, France, England, Spain, Portugal
    European Settler - Union of Kalmar, Italian City States, Holy Roman Empire
    Hungary
    Arab Settler - Barbary Coast, Safavid Empire, Golden Horde, Ottomans
    Eastern Settler - China, Japan, Siam
    Founder - Aztecs, Incans and Mayans
    Native American Settler - Plains Indians, Eastern Forest Indians
    African Settler - Ethiopia, Kongo, Zimbabwe, Mali
    Mughal Settler - Mighal Empire
    --------------------------------------------------
    Defensive Units
    Slav Pikeman - Rus, Union of Kalmar
    Arab Pikeman - Barbary Coast, Safavid Empire, Ottomans
    Pikeman - Italian City States, Holy Roman Empire, Poland-Lithuania,
    France, England, Spain, Netherlands, Portugal and Hungary
    Tartar Archer - Golden Horde
    Eastern Pikeman - China, Japan
    Siamese Pikeman - Siam
    Tulwar Warrior - Mughal Empire
    Yakutsk Spearman - Yakutsk
    Zarabataneiro - Jê, Tupi
    Sajal - Maya
    Mexica - Aztecs
    Chasqui - Inca
    Maliese Spearman - Mali
    Ethiopian Spearman - Etiophia
    Bantu Spearman - Kongo
    Zulu Spearman - Zimbabwe
    Native Archer - Plains Indians
    --------------------------------------------------
    Offensive Units:
    European Knigth - Holy Roman Empire, France, Spain, Netherlands, Portugal
    English Knigth - England
    Native Horse Archer - Plains Indians, Eastern Forest Indians
    Macan - Maya
    Hungarian Knigth - Hungary
    --------------------------------------------------

    well, i have to work it, some civs have no off units, and some have no def units (i think), but at all, as going well :goodjob:
    well, i have balanced then at all
     
  2. imperator1961

    imperator1961 Last of the Mohicans

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,064
    Location:
    Bologna - Italy
    Well done Ex-terminator. But I have made some changes in the Mod, and I think you must dowloaded ii and play some turns. There are some ideas I think you will find interestings. So you will tell me what do yu tink.
     
  3. EX-terminator

    EX-terminator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Natal - Brazil
    download again?
    =P
     
  4. imperator1961

    imperator1961 Last of the Mohicans

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,064
    Location:
    Bologna - Italy
    Yes, there are many changes and I think you will found some good ideas.
     
  5. T.A JONES

    T.A JONES Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,471
    THis looks A1 quality son!! Your doing awesome mybe legendary! .

    A word of advice? All great mods look like the real game. If you bought real civ3 and looked up a pedia entry for spearman but all you see is a blank page staring back ..well thats some amatuer stuff ya see?

    That means complete pedia entrys for all new stuff is a must to seperate you from amatuer staus and leap into the realms of modding grandmaster. Hope you get time. Good luck on this man. I wish to play this complete some day :)
     
  6. imperator1961

    imperator1961 Last of the Mohicans

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,064
    Location:
    Bologna - Italy
    Thanks T.A JONES. The problem is that I dont'know well English, so I am in trouble to complete the Civilopedia. However you're right, complete the civilopedia is a capital work. I will do.
     
  7. imperator1961

    imperator1961 Last of the Mohicans

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,064
    Location:
    Bologna - Italy
    Hi! Last week I take my holidays in Finland, the land of Santa Claus. So I meet him and I asked a gift: a new version of Civ III according to Virote Considon's petition. Santa Claus told me it is impossible. Sorry Virote, I have made the possible.
    Now I am at home and going to complete pedia entries for all new stuff (or is better to say I TRY to complete....). Merry Christmas to all the fanatics of Civ III and to the staff of Civilisation Fanatics'Forum!!!!!!!!!
     
  8. EX-terminator

    EX-terminator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Natal - Brazil
    well, i am going to another city, so, i don't know how to say that i will change to another city in english =P
    but i will stay some days away and when i arrive there and install internet and all, I will download again ^^
     
  9. T.A JONES

    T.A JONES Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,471
    Just want you to know you've choosen a spectacular terrain compliation for your mod. You should be proud . The units look very clear and crisp aswell. THis will be the mod to look out for in the new year.

    About the pedia one way to get info in english is wiki(just copy and past the parts you think intresting) ) Another sure way is using other mods with massive pedia enties lists already completed like Balancer Reloaded and Rise n Rule.
    Happy holidys man and Thanks for your hard work this year . Im betting your efforts will pay of grand.
     
  10. cubsfan6506

    cubsfan6506 Got u

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    6,266
    Location:
    Awesome Land
    Just a note serf isn't a very good name for a worker during this time period. I would also have some auto generated african slaves. They have to be auto generated in the americas however as the ai won't ship them.
     
  11. cubsfan6506

    cubsfan6506 Got u

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    6,266
    Location:
    Awesome Land
    If you wan't to give it to me in improper english I can fix it for you.
     
  12. imperator1961

    imperator1961 Last of the Mohicans

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,064
    Location:
    Bologna - Italy
    You're right. I have made a small wonder named African Slave Market to be buil in America - whit a specific resource - that build african slaves. For this unit I used the Plotinus' africa slave worker.
     
  13. imperator1961

    imperator1961 Last of the Mohicans

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,064
    Location:
    Bologna - Italy
    Thanks cubsfan6506. It's a great help for me.
     
  14. cubsfan6506

    cubsfan6506 Got u

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    6,266
    Location:
    Awesome Land
    I would make it a regular improverment. African slaves were prevalant throughout the new world. If a civ say builds it in vriginia there will be no slaves in the carribean.
     
  15. RedwallFortress

    RedwallFortress Necromancer Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    New York City
    I think that you need a better map for this Scenario, this one has the Europeans Civs far to cramped up.
    Also, I just noticed that you forgot to give Denmark any Cities.
     
  16. imperator1961

    imperator1961 Last of the Mohicans

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,064
    Location:
    Bologna - Italy
    I choose to not include the Danish in the Mod. The Union of Kalmar was formed by Norvegian, Danish and Sweden, so I put in game only the Swedish, representing the Union. In the historical period of the Mod only the Swedish (in my opinion, of course) have a significant role. The question is if the focus of the Mod is on the European Power or not.



    ___________________________

    The Age of Colonization MOD
     
  17. cubsfan6506

    cubsfan6506 Got u

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    6,266
    Location:
    Awesome Land
    The kalmar union was dissolved in 1534. I would make sweden (containing finland) a country and Denmark-norway a country
     
  18. RedwallFortress

    RedwallFortress Necromancer Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    New York City

    Well, a Mod called Age of Colonization has to focus more or less on Civs that were Historically important to the period of Exploration and Colonization. And I have to say that the Tupi, Jê, and other native American Civs, while very interesting in their own right, would not have a realistic :rolleyes: chance of winning against the Europeans in the real world.
    So while I think that they should be included if possible, it should not be at the expense of the main focus on European colonization of the world.
     
  19. imperator1961

    imperator1961 Last of the Mohicans

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,064
    Location:
    Bologna - Italy
    Ok, it's true. But the problem is to leave most of the world with no civs. Historically the colonization of america, africa an east asia was very difficult for the european power. So if I leave those areas only with barbarian camps the conquest is too simple. For example, in the south american continent is more simple build cities in the large part without civilisation than attack Incas or Mayas. The colonisation, for the european powers, was a process with two problems: in Europe the frequently wars, and in the other world the presence of many civilisation that do not appreciate the europeans.
    I hope to have explained well what I want say, but my english is very poor, so sorry if someone doesnt understand this post. :)

    ___________________________

    The Age of Colonization MOD
     
  20. RedwallFortress

    RedwallFortress Necromancer Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    New York City
    On the other hand, the AI has not colonized the Americas at all, in the game I play tested so far. The entire Colonization drive of Europe was aways concentrated on Africa and Siberia, because according to the AI thinking processes, the Americas were all permanently occupied.

    I think that it would be most prudent to leave such areas as, Coastal Brazil, and the area of the 13 Colonies, vacant. That way the AI will colonize :goodjob: them.

    I agree with Cubsfan, Denmark and Sweden should be separate Civs.
     

Share This Page