Alexander - Prince Level

mikew633

Chieftain
Hi all,

I am still a rookie to the Prince level and am trying to improve my play at this difficulty. I play with random leaders and this time got Alexander. I am playing on a Standard size Big & Small Continents at Normal speed.

Here is my start:

Spoiler :

A very good start. I am thinking move 1E to pick up the fish and avoid having that grassland hill I will be unable to improve without a galley. However, doing that would make me unable to work Clam OR Fish until turn 6 (I think?) at the border pop. A SIP would give me some extra commerce for those first 5 turns. What do you guys think?

Also, upon reviewing Alexander's traits, I am considering an early Phalanx rush, considering they can't be countered with Chariots, and also the fact I have the Aggressive trait. I could also aim for Aesthetics to pick up The Parthenon and further my Great Person generation as I am Philosophical. Although I might need to wait a few turns and see what my surrounds are before deciding on a strategy.

I have also attached the beginning save. As always, all comments/critiques are appreciated. Thanks!

Attachments

• mikew633 BC-4000_Alexander.CivBeyondSwordSave
    35.8 KB · Views: 36
  • Screen shot 2011-10-09 at 10.20.44 PM.jpg
    Screen shot 2011-10-09 at 10.20.44 PM.jpg
    98.8 KB · Views: 129
And the save you've attached seems to be a lie.

I suggest moving your scout onto the forested hill 2 N of his current position before you decide where to settle. I don't really share your enthusiasm with this start though; lot's of junky coast tiles. I'd consider GLH/Colossus rex and merchant farming.

A very good start. I am thinking move 1E to pick up the fish and avoid having that grassland hill I will be unable to improve without a galley. However, doing that would make me unable to work Clam OR Fish until turn 6 (I think?) at the border pop. A SIP would give me some extra commerce for those first 5 turns. What do you guys think?