1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[GS] Antarctic Late Summer Patch Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Aristos, Apr 2, 2019.

  1. skodkim

    skodkim Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,221
    Location:
    Denmark
    Downloading!
     
  2. 679x

    679x Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    195
    Gender:
    Male
    upload_2019-4-11_13-8-5.png
    Fix is here! Here is a snip of the patch notes for those who can't access Steam right now.
     
  3. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    11,016
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Anybody test it out yet? I wasn't planning on starting a game, but perhaps I can.
     
    Eagle Pursuit likes this.
  4. DWilson

    DWilson Where am I? What turn is it?

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,463
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI, USA
    They continue to impress with response to fan concerns, for example also changing the great works back.
     
    oedali, Stilgar08, Kjimmet and 7 others like this.
  5. Eagle Pursuit

    Eagle Pursuit Scir-Gerefa

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    14,132
    The 2 week turnaround is pretty impressive considering they had to QA it on 3 platforms.
     
  6. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    11,016
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Of course it makes me wonder if they even tested some of these features. I know their QA team isn't large, but the great works thing was kind of obvious. Not a big deal when everything is on one page, but god forbid you play Eleanor and have theater squares in every city.
     
  7. Aristos

    Aristos Lightseeker

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Deep inside...
    Fighters can still NOT deploy from Airstrips. :mad:

    Back to Vox Populi.
     
  8. _ViKinG_

    _ViKinG_ Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    277
    Same. havent even test the new patch. war is boring and i dont hear mutch improvement so still play VP
     
  9. Aristos

    Aristos Lightseeker

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Deep inside...
    Yeap. Everyone congratulating them here, for what is basically a poor job of "fixing" a few issues among the many reported in the Bug Reports subforum. :thumbsdown:
     
  10. Arianrhod

    Arianrhod Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    190
    Gender:
    Male
    The Great Works system would have been more or less fine if they added a "compact mode" for the Great Works menu that eliminated excess space and made everything take up about half the space it does now in both dimensions. ...and also made it scroll vertically, since it doesn't for some reason.

    But the way it is now is just silly. It's one of the ugliest menus in the game and it's so ugly that trying to make it more functional just makes it worse.
     
  11. Jaybe

    Jaybe civus fanaticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,531
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    But they are still good as bomber bases, right?
    Just have to re-conceptualize what airstrips are, and their purpose.

    (sigh), until their function changes, if it ever does.
     
  12. dshirk

    dshirk Firaxian

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    820
    Squashed. As an FYI, this update was a quickie to take care of the most egregious problems that you folks were kind enough to point out. We're still working hard, reviewing each of these issues. Thanks all!
     
    Drudy, CPWimmer, PonderThis and 25 others like this.
  13. Aristos

    Aristos Lightseeker

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Deep inside...
    Seriously? I'm done "re-conceptualizing" to compensate for bugs. I had to do that a lot already to be able to "suspend-disbelief" my civ 6 games against the "AI" in order not to feel like I am playing SimCity with tanks. Nope, no more "re-conceptualizing". Air bases are air bases, period. Waited long enough to be able to TRY to enjoy the air game.

    Unless this is their way to "buff" the AI... :rolleyes:
     
  14. UWHabs

    UWHabs Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,994
    Location:
    Toronto
    Even if they just added a "filter" menu so that you can limit to only show relevant city spots for great work pieces. Or having some sorting options, or other way to arrange things. Especially with some civs' cities, it can be really hard to remember exactly which one it was that I wanted to move the work to.
     
    Pietato, Elhoim and WillowBrook like this.
  15. Zyxpsilon

    Zyxpsilon Running Spider

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,057
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    On Earth
    AFAIC, @dshirk 's precisions above are good enough -- for relatively simple (and expected, asap) repairs to generic "flaws" experienced by many.

    Soooooo.. i certainly can honestly wait even more for further (less but still important) fixes. The gameplay is stable while nothing really breaks the essential(s).
    Keep 'hem coming, Firaxis! :)
     
    King Rad, Meluhhan, Kjimmet and 2 others like this.
  16. Zyxpsilon

    Zyxpsilon Running Spider

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,057
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    On Earth
    You might want to give this stuff (( https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=1652106496 )) a full ride. I found it to be intuitive enough to cover just about any situations. More so now that the latest mini-patch is supposed to be removing "Drag&Drop" from the component.

    PS; Although.. you'll likely have to wait until the modder adapts his stuff to the newest LUA/XML codes!
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2019
  17. leandrombraz

    leandrombraz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    855
    It's really nice to see devs posting here after a patch/hotfix.
     
    Abaxial, Meluhhan, Kjimmet and 4 others like this.
  18. local_hero

    local_hero Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    488
    Location:
    Sweden
    I thought dragging Great Works worked quite well actually and adapted fairly quickly. Did we really give this change a fair chance civfanatics community?

    (Sorry Firaxis, I know you are pulling your hair because of my comment. "You can't please these guys!!!!!")

    I'm sure I'll have no problem switching back to do things the old way, cheer up!
     
    SammyKhalifa likes this.
  19. TheGrumpyBuddha

    TheGrumpyBuddha Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    820
    Does this affect current games? (I hope so!)
     
  20. Arianrhod

    Arianrhod Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    190
    Gender:
    Male
    Really, the drag-and-drop system's main problem was the interface around it; it is awkward to use drag-and-drop for something you can easily get lost in, and something you'll probably need to scroll through. I would love to see this interface get retouched in a later patch, if anyone's watching.

    The old system is clunky, but it's at least effective.
     
    WillowBrook likes this.

Share This Page