1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

ARCHIVED: WIPs - Interfaces & Static PCXs

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Steampunk Scenario' started by Blue Monkey, Mar 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Takhisis

    Takhisis Jinping, wer fragt uns?

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    51,676
    Location:
    up yours.
    Nah, just a local derby which is nearly as violent as the Old Firm.
     
  2. Wyrmshadow

    Wyrmshadow Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2001
    Messages:
    5,591
    Location:
    Texas
    Hey BM, I was just absently looking through this thread for the 1st time, and I saw some of my SPORE buildings in your previews. Ummm, why? It's rather embarassing.
     
  3. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    Timeless Isle
    I don't understand your embarrassment. I think that work is very well done. They are just there to illustrate architectural concepts. Same as Frazetta's, Dean's or Whelan's work. No intention at all to use them (no conversion or CnP). I will remove them if you want.
     
  4. Takhisis

    Takhisis Jinping, wer fragt uns?

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    51,676
    Location:
    up yours.
    If any of Wyrmshadow's stuff is included in the material BM sent me I'll have no problems with deleting it if he so wishes.
     
  5. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    Timeless Isle
    Just to reemphasize - my intent is only as a general architectural reference. Not to copy anything. Indeed, none of the building designs we have settled on are consciously based on Wyrmshadow's work. Disposition of any posted images is completely up to Wyrmshadow.
     
  6. Takhisis

    Takhisis Jinping, wer fragt uns?

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    51,676
    Location:
    up yours.
    I've been thinking… maybe, to Martianise it a bit, I should turn the World settings into a reddish thing? :mischief:

    I think the height is right:

    Must start on the entrance.
    What colour is the model supposed to be? The dull grey non-colour is a bit off-character.
     
  7. Takhisis

    Takhisis Jinping, wer fragt uns?

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    51,676
    Location:
    up yours.
    Two previews on entrance before supper:

    I know it's too small, but what about the shape?
     
  8. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    Timeless Isle
    I'm working on textures. When the model looks good I'd like to do some test renders with a couple different ones and see how they look on the terrain set.
    It's way too spherical. If you look at the reference image you'll see that the house is oblate (vertically compressed). And the entrance needs to slope, not be a half tube. Can you import the b&w graphic as an image plane?

    But the size is much less critical. Scaling. ;)
     
  9. Wyrmshadow

    Wyrmshadow Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2001
    Messages:
    5,591
    Location:
    Texas
    It's just not my best work, especially the Invid hives.
     
  10. Takhisis

    Takhisis Jinping, wer fragt uns?

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    51,676
    Location:
    up yours.
    Yeap, I see that now. Must do after dinner. It's Mother's Day here, so… we'll see.
    It won't be halftube, I just left it at that as I was dropping off from sleep. I can import the image as a plane but there'd be no use in it.
    Scaling's na possible after I link the vertices and fuse both structures.
     
  11. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    Timeless Isle
    The image can then be used as a reference for the size & shape of the model.
    My intention is to assemble the cities in Unity. It can use multiple model formats simultaneously (ie. obj & ma or mb from Maya) and resize any imported models. Another advantage is that it will automatically update changes to imported models, including applied textures, so things can be still be changed as needed.
     
  12. Takhisis

    Takhisis Jinping, wer fragt uns?

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    51,676
    Location:
    up yours.
    I know, I tried it but it doesn't help with my way of wroking. I prefer to have the source picture(s) open in a different window.
    I dinna ken how to use that…
    Yet :shifty:
     
  13. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    Timeless Isle
    Whatever wroks for you is fine with me. :mischief:
    The assembly is part of my contribution to the effort. ;)
     
  14. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    Timeless Isle
    Here's a really quick demo of using Unity to assemble cities:

    Previously
    • Made a ground texture (based on a screenshot of a LM Grassland map in the C3C editor) in GIMP, saved as a png.
    • Made a house texture in GIMP by manipulating screenshots of LM Grassland, Plains and Desert as layers. Saved as a png.

    This Morning (less than an hour invested)
    • Blender: created a sphere , scaled it in one dimension, & exported as obj.
    • Maya: same steps except exported as mb.
    • Imported both into Unity.
    • Applied textures in Unity -using a standard Unity texture for the obj sphere.
    • No lights were created.
    • No Rendering.
    • Took a screenshot.
    • annotated it in Gimp. Saved as a tiff.
    The result:

    Spoiler :
     
  15. Takhisis

    Takhisis Jinping, wer fragt uns?

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    51,676
    Location:
    up yours.
    Why as a tiff?

    (Bloody hell, you Americans also have Maya)
     
  16. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    Timeless Isle
    :dunno: Screenshot software's default format.
    Aren't you a student?
     
  17. Takhisis

    Takhisis Jinping, wer fragt uns?

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    51,676
    Location:
    up yours.
    Yes, I am, but I'm not American. How do I prove my sudent status from outside? Besides, an interpreter doesn't have anything at all to do with design :(

    (I could schedule a download eventually and start to learn how to use the thing, but i still haven't finished learning Blender. One step at a time!)
     
  18. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    Timeless Isle
    Student id number, student email account... design of interactive media for language/nonverbal cues training... ;)
     
  19. Takhisis

    Takhisis Jinping, wer fragt uns?

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    51,676
    Location:
    up yours.
    We don't have those. You sign up with your ID number (national bureau has every single person born/residing in/entering/exiting the country fingerprinted and numbered) and that's it.
    We don't get those. This is a state university. If I want to contact a teacher I use a regular account like everybody else.
    Would that be even believable?
     
  20. tom2050

    tom2050 Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,516
    Try emailing Autodesk and asking them about it... they offer free 3ds also for students. I'm sure they have an answer, since they are international (I would think).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page