1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice
  1. plasmacannon

    plasmacannon Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,410
    Location:
    Lake Mary, Florida
    I got it!
    It runs now.
    I think may have had something to do with the download speed.
    It took 29 minutes the 1st time, and under 3 minutes the 2nd time.
    So, I think some of the data might have been lost.
     
  2. Bloodstone

    Bloodstone Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Tallahassee
    Silly question #1,422:

    Been playing alot of BAT lately and decided today I wanted to try out a couple of the boxed scenarios that came with the game. Never considered trying them before today but figured hey what the heck why not. Question is do I need to just load up my old BtS basic version, or do the Scenario's run through the BAT mod as they would anything/anywhere else? Any known bugs or issues to keep my eyes open for? Thanks.
     
  3. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    8,816
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    BAT is installed as a mod. The boxed scenarios (ie Defense) is also a mod. You cannot run two mods together so you will be fine.
     
  4. Balnor

    Balnor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    First of all Hi there, and thanks for a very enjoyable mod. Just tried it out a couple days ago for the first time and it's really amazing!

    I originally had the same problem with CTDs when trying to exit to main menu under Win7-64.

    What I found out is that when I disable in-game Music before exiting to main menu, my game doesn't crash...at least hasn't so far in what must have been at least 30 tries...with music turned on it would crash ~9 out of 10 times. I have onboard Realtek sound btw, so nothing fancy there.

    I suspect it has something to do with the Main Menu Music Theme. If you disable the music from the options screen it will also disable the main menu theme. When I still had music turned on, at the rare occasion that I wouldn't get a CTD when exiting to main menu, the sound would stutter suddenly and it seemed like the music tried to continue from the point where I had been during my last visit to the main menu (like just being set to pause while I was actually in-game)

    I checked back with what standard-BTS does, and there the music will start over everytime you go into the main menu (and no CTDing with Music on either)

    Keep in mind that you have to disable the music from the options screen :
    ESC->Options->Sound Tab->Click the Checkbox named "No Sound" underneath the "Music" Slider

    Just disabling Music with Ctrl-M Hotkey will NOT work ...at least doesn't for me, coincidentally that key combo only disables in-game music, not the one in the main menu.


    I have no idea if this workaround is known or whether it even works for other people, just thought I'd let you know, maybe it helps someone.
     
  5. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,170
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    Hello. Thank you for the nice words. I'm happy that you enjoy BAT. :)

    I also want to thank you for the good synopsis of the CTD problem. It got me thinking a little. The audio XML is rather fussy about the formatting and the whitespace in the files, so I did a compare with the normal BTS files and found some discrepancies.

    If I may ask, would you like to help me with a small experiment? (Please) Since your machine will crash regularly, while mine will not, could you unzip the two (repaired) XML files that I have attached and place them into your BAT Mod 3.0\Assets\XML\Audio folder? Please make sure to rename the originals first. Then, if you could set up your machine so it would normally CTD for you and give it a try.

    There's no rush, but if it works, please let me know. I know that many people, especially me, would be grateful if this fixes it. Just think... fame and glory could be yours. ;)

    View attachment Audio.zip
     
  6. Balnor

    Balnor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Hi again, I just tested it, and it indeed seems to fix the problem. Not a single CTD for me since I replaced those files, even with music enabled.

    Thanks for the quick fix ! Just hoping this will help the other people as well with their CTDs, you never know...

    Btw, you can keep all the fame and glory, was just pure luck on my part :p

     
  7. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    8,816
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    I love it when some user somewhere tries something off the wall and provides this sort of report that provides an insight into a solution to a problem that has been a pain in the a$$ for ages.

    way to go Balnor!

    We had a similar issue with BUG back in the day that cased CTD when someone without BUG opened the log file - bad color definition file.
     
  8. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,170
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    I love it too! Balnor reminded me of something that I had read about the XML sound files being sort of cranky. I'm very pleased to see that it works. :)

    Btw, it was a little chilly up here today, but we had a Balnor parade anyway. It was just myself, Andrea, and the cat, but it's the thought that counts. :D

    Thank you again Balnor, and make sure that you watch the credits for BAT 3.1 :worship:
     
  9. Drunk-Monk

    Drunk-Monk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Just to point out some minor (pedantic) cosmetic bugs:

    1. The Ethiopian MBT has the modern South African Flag on its pendant, I'm pretty sure its not a Soviet model either. (Just mentioning to keep consistency with the spirit of the rest of the art-style, and reality)

    2. Despite otherwise using Soviet weaponry the Ethiopians have B2 Spirit model for the Stealth Bomber

    3. The Zulu use Soviet Aircraft
     
  10. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,170
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    Hmmm... I wouldn't know a Soviet aircraft from a Mallard duck, but I'll see what I can do. Most of the units come intact from Varietas Delectat, so I have little or no input into them unless I change them myself.
     
  11. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    18,762
    Hey Lemon...just installed the new version

    I noticed that I'm still having that "music bug". That is, when music is on I crash to desktop when exiting to main menu.

    Also, hate to nitpick, but the BM water seems too bright. Is there anyway to make it a bit darker? It looks too much like vanilla water which makes my eyes bleed. thanks (I always use BM outside BAT as well and the water is a nice rich dark color)
     
  12. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    8,816
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    Soviet aircraft


    Mallard duck
     
  13. SaibotLieh

    SaibotLieh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,414
    :agree:
    They are easy to distinguish, since Soviet aircrafts do not wear dog masks. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,170
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    :lol::lol::lol:

    OK, OK, you got me. I cracked up when I saw these. Nice job, boys. :)
     
  15. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,170
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    The music bug? Still? Dammit! I keep stomping that bug and it keeps coming back. Try the fix earlier in this thread, it should work.

    As for the water, I can see what I can do to darken the texture, though it's darker than the greenish blue it was in BAT 4.0.
     
  16. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,170
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    Hi lymond,

    I think I've fixed the water. Since you have BM installed, copy the Water.dds file from Custom Assets\art\terrain\water to BAT Mod 4.1\assets\art\terrain\water. That darkens the water a little bit and makes it more Blue Marble-ish. :)
     
  17. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    18,762
    Thanks, Lemon! ;)
     

Share This Page