1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

BETA: 1.25 (#2)

Discussion in '[MAC+WIN] Civ4 - History Rewritten' started by Xyth, Jun 16, 2019.

  1. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,052
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    I forget how it works exactly, but I think there's a limit on how much XP an individual unit can get from Barbarians. Part of BTS rather than an HR change.

    I've been meaning to look for a better one for the Explorer. On the todo list.

    The Druidism founding video sometimes causes crashes, but only on certain graphics cards and not every time. Same with a couple other religion founding videos. I don't know why and I don't know how to fix it.

    There is a crash in the current beta soon after when Common Market Agreements are signed. Was that what Egypt and Germany signed?

    There is a 2GB memory limit, but it doesn't cause lag. It causes Memory Allocation Failures (MAFs), either crashing your game or forcing you to exit. After mapsize, unit art is the next biggest contributor to memory usage. In the late game when a lot of the map is revealed and a lot of units are in play, Civ4 is much more likely to hit that 2GB limit. And that's why there aren't any civ-specific variants of late game vehicle units. I'd like to eventually add a little bit of variation though, like maybe 2-5 different varieties of each vehicle where appropriate.

    Has been fixed.

    I think it's just a UI bug, but I haven't fixed it yet. Will do so after the Common Market crash (the thing that's still holding release up, sigh).
     
  2. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,578
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    There are separate limits for XP from animals and XP from other barbarians, both are exposed as XML defines to be easily changed.
     
  3. Civ4Gandalf13

    Civ4Gandalf13 Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    To Xyth:

    Yes, I understand that. But in my game I have two Galleases that have over 40 XP all gained from barbarian ships and others that will not progress over 10 XP. So do you think it is a bug? Also, the XPs only occur in a particular spot on the map - if I move the Galleases with the higher XPs to another spot - they no longer gain the XPs. But if move them back to the spot in question, they start to gain them again.

    As a related aside, I see that Great General points are not granted for barbarian victories. Is that an HR mod? As i recall from Roman history, many great generals were recognized in the wars with the barbarians: Goths, Visigoths, etc.
     
  4. SpartanU

    SpartanU Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    What are your thoughts on dropping the Common Market Agreement from HR altogether? Even if its implementation was not so difficult, I think it will have some unintended consequences, such as potentially making resource trading obsolete after most civs have the Marketing tech. I like the idea that as the world becomes more globalized, that resources become more difficult to control; but if civs can more easily share resources, then rare resources such as uranium could become too easily available. Even if it was implemented and balanced, I don't think the benefit of the feature outweighs the time that would need to be invested to get it to work.

    On my own HR 1.25 (#2) file, I already disabled Common Market Agreements by modifying the CIV4TechInfos.xml so that Marketing no longer allows Common Market. Being Common Market Agreements cannot be unlocked, the crash never occurs. If anyone is running into this crash (sounds like it isn't a problem on Mac), I've linked the file I modified. Just replace this one with the original that you can find at HistoryRewritten\Assets\XML\Technologies\ and you'll be able to play past Marketing on this version of HR
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Civ4Gandalf13

    Civ4Gandalf13 Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    I think I have a bug on the Foreign Advisor screen. There are three selections at the bottom of the screen.: Relations, Factions, United nations. However, no matter which one I select, the screen stays the same: a brown box on the left and a blue box on the right. I cannot get to the screen which shows the relations. Help?.
     
  6. dretnoth

    dretnoth Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    134
    Location:
    Europe - Slovakia
    This is probably reported:
    I found a problem whit super fortress. On my map constructing a fort mark tiles around it not-passable for workers inside it. Military unit has capable leave bud it ignored a roads like there was not any. I do some testing like ship the worker out by ship. He was capable go inside, but again unable to leave. I meet similiar restriction in previus games when workers dint want to walk/refuse trough some tiles. But i dint associate them whit forts. Dint know if spawned barbarian worker try to build enc/fort but leave it be and this is the cause or some other event are responsible for tiles not passable for workers, that shall be.
    Here is save. The fort is in Korea territory on left down conner.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,052
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    Sounds very weird to me. I'd need a saved game for sure.

    No, it's how it is in BTS. Prevents 'farming' barbarians for Great General points (and experience).

    Not as simple as that, unfortunately. I've actually fixed the crash itself but it was the result of poor misunderstanding on my part on how certain aspects of diplomacy work in the DLL. Fixing it has broken a number of other diplomacy features, and it was also indirectly the reason for some of the other bugs reported in this thread. I'm making good progress, to finish I really just need a couple of uninterrupted afternoons or evenings – that's the major challenge at the moment. I'm much slower working with the DLL than other parts of HR because I'm still relatively new to modding it. In particular I find it really hard to resume what I was working on after too much time away from it; partly because it's a different workflow than what I'm used to, partly because life has been much busier this past year. I had two significant changes in life circumstances last year, both good, but both very detrimental to free time to modding. If I'd known beforehand I wouldn't have started something as ambitious as these diplomacy changes, but I didn't so I just gotta push on through.

    I haven't created the Factions or United Nations screens yet. I was thinking to work on them while this beta was underway but they'll have to wait til after. I'll hide those page options for 1.25 release.

    Investigating.
     
    Skidizzle likes this.
  8. KeeperOT7Keys

    KeeperOT7Keys did nothing wrong

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages:
    306
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Mugla, Turkey
    two small problems I see in the tech tree are these
    1. wetlands removal is very late in the tech tree imho.At the start of the game, even if the feature is wetlands I try to settle near resources to later use them. But not being able to use them for almost 3/4 game is a bit annoying. Especially if there's something like spices which can balance growth after crop rotation.

    I just read the Wikipedia article but my argument is: Hydraulics is a tech corresponding to the 1750's, while reclaim of land by pumping water in Netherlands started in 15th century.

    2. Printing is a very useless tech at the moment, it's only useful if you can build Porcelain Tower.


    My suggestion:
    It's not very historic but I suggest we should tie wetlands removal to the printing from a gameplay perspective.
    And from a loosely historic perspective, well: Printing Press ~> Protestantism ~> Dutch Culture == Wetlands Removal
     
  9. Miguel Blackmore

    Miguel Blackmore Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    Oh, I didn't know that, I don't know much about these things. That's why I asked actually. Thanks)
     
  10. Civ4Gandalf13

    Civ4Gandalf13 Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    Messages:
    116
     
  11. Civ4Gandalf13

    Civ4Gandalf13 Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    To KeeperOT7Keys:

    Actually, hydraulic engineering started much further back. The ancient Roman emperors made several attempts to drain the Pontine Marshes. The Chinese Dujiangyan Irrigation Project (which I suggest should be a Great Wonder) occurred before the the change from BC to AD. In one of my upcoming proposals this issue will be addressed.
     
  12. rsab

    rsab Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    135
    Hi Xyth.

    I have not much to report from the new version, I haven't got much time to test.
    Anyway I want to suggest something about the events. In standard map size (that's the size I play the most) some events are difficult to accomplish due to the size of the map. The most extreme case is that event that rewards you if you get to have cities in 8 different landmasses (it says something like "The Gods blesses the seas..."): in standard map size that is almost imposible (obviously depending on the kind of terrain, but I still would find this extremely difficult even playing on archipelago map). It could be a reasonable challenge on huge map size, but definitely not in standard map size. So I think it may scale better depending on the map size.

    Thanks
     
  13. FlashBazaz

    FlashBazaz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Hey,

    Tried this latest version for the first time. Unfortunately I'm running in to the same problem as last version: the game crashes to desktop with no error message when you get in to the middle game. I'm on mac, using the steam version. I included the saved game file below. It's the last turn before it crashes.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. rsab

    rsab Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    135
    Hi,

    playing on a Large sized map and 16 civs on the start, and after some colonies and revolutions are done, I encounter is not possible to see correctly the advisor on the right side of the screen. Could be possible to avoid showing the DEAD civs of this list?
    I attach a pic.

    Now I know that on a large map this event requires to settle in 9 different landmasses. I could still find 9 landmasses on a large map is too much landmasses, but for sure 8 on a standard map is not reachable.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. eysteinn

    eysteinn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    DAE think Explorers come too late in the game to be useful? I have usually mapped out the entire world way before they arrive.
    Also, what about including the totestra map? It has some fine continents, but it needs to include more max civs.
     
  16. SpartanU

    SpartanU Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    Think I found a couple bugs:

    If you build a highway you can build a railroad on top of it even if you don't have the required resources

    Also drones aren't able to destroy improvements
     
  17. evilcoward

    evilcoward Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    Minor bug I have discovered - if you change Tenets and immediately build a Great Temple, bonus specialist from new tenet seems to be granted twice (1 from building temple and 1 on a next turn from changing tenet). Probably can get negative specialist that way too. Possible solution - get tenets with HR_Religion.Tenets().getTenetData(pPlayer) when processing onBuildingBuilt for Great Temple?
     
  18. dretnoth

    dretnoth Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    134
    Location:
    Europe - Slovakia
    Hi, I have some notes of thinkings and observations, and probably many has been, already stated or noted.

    Ram, Siege Tower: Shall posses +(25-50%) against archery units.
    Spoiler Reason :
    Because, its moving barricade, and otherwise they are quite useless in other means that last resort. Additionally, dint knows, if no promotions are good option, and if no: then if only access to the 'drill' promotion are good or left it without promotions.


    Factory: From ( base: '0' ,and whit power: '+50% production +3 pollution') to (base: '+10% production', and whit power '+40% production +3 pollution')

    Model on fort, fortress, shall have more contrast to tile where is placed. Maybe if the model will be bigger to see it clearly.
    -Don't know if is possible to turn Forts and Fortress into pseudo cities to solve (if not jet) the issue from claiming false ownership of tiles around the forts that make them impassable for workers, and troops ignore roads.
    Spoiler Similar Experience :
    (Scout exploring map, get a worker from village. But the worker cannot move to others tiles because 'reasons' and got stuck. But he can go to tile where the scout standing. So basically the worker can follow scout because, the tile is 'occupied by friendly?')
    The forts as pseudo city dint need actually increase the maintenance of others but have its own cost (like 1 gold per turn).
    -It can have option, if marine resources are present in range to buy an improvement.
    -Additionally a fort, fortress can affect dissent in near cities, decrease for friendly, and increase for hostile.

    Model for island village shall have more contrast to tile where is placed. (To see it better.)

    The shadow on 'Man of War' (Ship of Line) are stretched out to orbit. Maybe some value drop his under map and that translate to place on up. (0-255)

    [maybe local] The occasionally glitch that make units don’t appear on map (tile looks like its explored revealed bud standing units are not seen, like there is something whit mask of war), but only the flag or dot on the flag (occasionally)-- The units are displayed somewhere else on the playable map. Similar glitch appear when some units are going from tile to next tile, but the model do excursion route around it passing sometimes more tiles that shall be capable. (Sometime the tile was so protected by the mask of war that any unit visually disappear)

    When city decrease its population due starvation the stored food are 0. Change can be to 20% by base, +10-20% from granary, +10-20% from abattoir. Potentially if 'bad events' like move population from city to city via trade routes are on.

    [if not already implemented] Even if Barbarians don't build National wonders(NW), they shall not have (single) limits to national wonder. NW shall be protected prom raze due conquest (city turn to barbarian then liberating the city) If conquering the city whit NW, then you cannot build a another NW(same type, sold). Small issue can occur, when owning more that one same NW, and whit Hagia Sophia (Conquering unique building)

    How about increase, scale up, the cost of late techs (Digital era) To actually deal whit the tech rush setting.

    Maybe the doom stack can be solved by denied the option (maybe code) for Great general to join the group of units. (Join the unit.)
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2019
    The 13th Earl likes this.
  19. Sword_Of_Geddon

    Sword_Of_Geddon Mysterious Jungle Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13,437
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New England, USA
    Seems like Xyth is gone. Hopefully not for long.
     
  20. EdmundIronside

    EdmundIronside Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Messages:
    367
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI.
    I really like this mod, great work.

    Just a few bugs I noted. When as the Greeks I had naval combats I would always get a text message popping up which said something like "TXT_COMMERCE_BONUS."
    On trade agreements it shows the trade goods the wrong way round, so if I agreed to give them coal for iron, the agreement shows as me giving them iron for coal.
    Also I did come across an unresolvable CTD towards the end of my game.
     

Share This Page