1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Beta 10 Talk

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall: Europe' started by 3Miro, May 8, 2011.

  1. 3Miro

    3Miro Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Knoxville USA
    I still don't have everything that I was hoping to get for Beta 10, but we do have quite a few bugfixes and since it has been quite some time, I decided to post the next Beta. It should also be easier to keep track as some of the useful information is buried in the old threads.

    Here is a link to the download:
    https://sourceforge.net/projects/rfceurope/

    Here is the changelog:
    Spoiler :

    Changes for Beta 10:

    Map and province changes:
    Dense forest near Lyon and Umea is a forest now, so the sulphur can be mined without researching Machine Tools first
    The province of Netherlands is now called Holland
    New Polish City Name Map and New Polish resources

    XML updates:
    XML cleanup (unused lines of code are removed)
    New pedia text for some objects (There are still some things that haven't a text yet. Feel free to make one and post it)
    Proper text for Feudal Law civic
    Ivory does recieve food without an improvement
    "The Masjid al-Haram" is no called: "The road to the Masjid al-Haram"

    Python Updates:
    Correct spawndates for the independent cities (the info after # shows the correct date now)

    Balance:
    If England dies, then the English Atlantic Access would be spawned by the Norse discovering Astronomy
    Sweden starts with Guilds and Apprenticeship (used to be Free Peasantry, for which they don't have the tech)
    The Bonuses from Imperialism and French UP are now "capped" to 6 points max
    Podolia is now stable for Moscow
    Granary no longer gives health bonus with Rice (there is little Rice on the map anyway and Rice by itself gives +1 Health)
    Contant with the Pope is initiated as soon as you get a Catholic city (this is needed now as one cannot declare state rleigion until Theology)
    Increased the research penalty for the Pope (this is done for purely balance reasons, otherwise he techs too much)
    Longbowman now requeres Replacable Parts
    Nerfed Longbowman strength to 8 (it is still more powerful than Knights in cities, hills and probably forest)

    Bugfixes:
    Fixed: a bug not resetting player data properly when starting a new game from within an existing game
    Fixed: Genoa second UHV should work now
    Fixed: Sweden UHV 2 should work now
    Fixed: If the AI doesn't have Atlantic Access, then it will not build East/West Trading Companies
    Fixed: Colonea stable for the Ottomans
    Fixed: Vassalage bonus properly associated with the Exp civic (it was with Colonialism before)
    Fixed: Expansion stability is updated on Civic change, before you had to conqer a city to get update on the bonus
    Fixed: Hungary UHV 1 should be working properly now (it was mixed up with UHV 2)
    Fixed: Atlantic Access should now properly appear near Gibraltar
    Fixed: The AI should properly weight the benefits from cottages vs water tiles (this was a problem with cottage growth time mechanics)
    Fixed: A province bug making most provinces "Natural" as opposed to "Core"
    Fixed: A bug with the settler AI making units hand in an infinite loop
    Fixed: Provinces now reset on respawn, this should prevent players from dying right after respawn


    The threads for older Betas should die, post all comments and suggestions here.

    As always, if you have a bug to report, it is best to provide a savegame from a turn or two before the bug appears.

    PS: Added an updated Map here that fixes the issues with France and the Walrus.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Science Rules

    Science Rules Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Great! I'll download and play a game tomorrow.

    Question: Are you still planning on replacing Ephesus with Smyrna (and moving resources around a little)?
     
  3. mathl33t

    mathl33t Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Is Colonea intended to be unstable still for the Byzantines?
     
  4. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    I presume Muscovite UHVs are still broken and Ottomans don't have most African Provinces as OK?
     
  5. Veshta

    Veshta Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Deleted folder and unzipped to location.

    Norse start doesn't show any Walrus' in Iceland, think the food change broke them and they disappeared.

    FRA needed a massively insane spawn boost (8 settlers, 4 missionaries, 12 troops) why exactly? They were top tier already and UHVs fairly easy. If they are to start with a ton of settlers then the independent spawns should be removed .. kind of game breaking unless they get hit by severe penalties like Byzantium.

    Lyon sulphur is still dense forest on my map.
    Poland food is going to be mad .. think it is now the best core in game :)
     
  6. 3Miro

    3Miro Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Knoxville USA
    Added an update to fix the French issue and added the walrus.

    Anyone making changes to the map! If you change the terrain, you must use the latest map from sourceforge.

    I will look at the Moscow UHV thing.
     
  7. Veshta

    Veshta Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Hahahahahahaha. Damn you, can't stop laughing now .. DAMN YOU!
     
  8. 3Miro

    3Miro Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Knoxville USA
    Ops. At least I bring joy to your life.
     
  9. FakeShady

    FakeShady Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    388
    Location:
    Singapore
    Well, the Arabs are still not interested in retaking Jerusalem.
     
  10. Kawzmo191

    Kawzmo191 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S
    Pray tell you mean the dynamic names. The beta's around 65% or so right now. Can't wait to "fire it up" ;)
     
  11. ezzlar

    ezzlar Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,746
    I dont get the French boost either. They feel somewhat OP. They get more settlers than any civ now.
     
  12. 3Miro

    3Miro Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Knoxville USA
    It was a mistake. This happens when you go around changing stuff on the map. I just forgot to remove the extra units. Get the updated files.
     
  13. corovanrobber

    corovanrobber King

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Germany
    What's up with Polish city names? The capital turns out to be "Poz" (Poznan?), and the next city I went for appears as "Szcze", exactly where Szczecin is supposed to be.
     
  14. 3Miro

    3Miro Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Knoxville USA
    We got a new Polish City Name map ... gosh, who uploaded it, I have to go back to check. It is not working or something?
     
  15. corovanrobber

    corovanrobber King

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Germany
    From what I can tell some names just end off by the middle of the actual word. I don't think the one who was making it really intended to have Warsaw as "Warszaw" (it's Warszawa).
     
  16. Science Rules

    Science Rules Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I tried to play as the Ottomans, but my units spawned in Eastern Anatolia instead of at Bursa. Byzantine culture overwhelmed my newly founded Sebaste. My units were pushed to the SE where I founded Karalusar.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. youtien

    youtien Lyricist

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,315
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Taipei
    Then don't found city, on turn 3 one will flip as your capital.
     
  18. Science Rules

    Science Rules Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    It's still a bug because my units are in Eastern Anatolia.
     
  19. yogiebere

    yogiebere Civilization City Planner

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I found a few things, no bugs really but some over-eager settling on France and Germany's part. Also Spain doesn't seem like it's going to be conquering Iberia any time soon. And Venezia is getting some interesting barbarian conquers. Arabia is pretty dang weak.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Ogi123

    Ogi123 The End is the Beginning is the End

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    329
    Location:
    Somwhere in time
    Yeah I made polish city map, tested it in beta10 and also get half names... Problem is I don't know why, in WB save which I send all changed labels shows themselves correctly. In general feedback thread I re-uploaded city names map this time as a zip and without compression. Perhaps that will help.
     

Share This Page