1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Beta 10 Talk

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall: Europe' started by 3Miro, May 8, 2011.

  1. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    That would work
     
  2. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,888
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    In the latest version, it's possible to make use of AA with Astrolable. This makes it possible for the Vikings to build Vinland. (There is a AA near Iceland, which disappears after 1050 AD.)
    There is no need for a special AA for the Vikings, because AA is aviable with Astrolable. The resources however, will not spawn until Astronomy is researched by the colonial civs. (or, in the case of the Gibraltar AA, the first civ that discovers Astronomy)
     
  3. Samsa

    Samsa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Can anyone confirm that the last burgundian UHV is broken? I was way ahead in Points (had about 1400, the second 1150) even without my two vassals (Germany and Spain) had more that 100 than the second! Still didnt get the UHV.

    Did some searching in the Victory code for Burgundy. And I found the error in the line 742, the red greater than is wrong here. Has to be a lesser than, the higher the Rank the better.
    Code:
    for iTestPlayer in tBurgundyOutrank:
    if ( gc.getGame().getTeamRank(iTestPlayer) [color=red]>[/color] iBurgundyRank ):
     bIsOnTop = False
    I checked that by comparing my score with the lowest and with the correct lesser than i won. Since the higher the Rank the better it is ;)
     
  4. Barak

    Barak Emperor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,516
    Location:
    Chicago
    So as Austria, there is no way to build a colonies? I was not the first civ to discover Astronomy.
     
  5. Barak

    Barak Emperor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,516
    Location:
    Chicago
    In a game as Austria, i attacked Venice, only to be struck by General Winter! Why would THAT happen?
     
  6. Mekajiki

    Mekajiki Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    St. Louis
    If it was late in the game, it's actually Star Forts. Those things are very powerful against sieges. Late in the game, I always send in a spy force to bring down the Star Forts and if I have extra points and spies, the castles to slow rebuilding of the Forts. If you leave the forts up during a siege they will end you. Awesome design decision and the first time I've legitimately used spies since I've had BTS.
     
  7. Barak

    Barak Emperor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,516
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ahhhhh, so THAT is what star forts do. I was wondering how that mechanic worked. My blitzkrieg against Venice was too good. I needed a victory to get them to capitulate. Instead they collapsed.

    For Austria, I feel that the three vassals should include conquests. After all, my empire was all Austrian, but included the Hungarian and Bulgarian homelands. Yet I only had 2 "true" Vassals in Burgundy and the Dutch. None of my "friends" who were low in score would vassalize to me. I never had a single friendly vassal offer despite being top in power and score.
     
  8. rock_star

    rock_star Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Location:
    Columbus OH
    Star forts are a true pain. Fortunately for the seiging party, they don't defend against gunpowder units (which is odd, since that's EXACTLY the reason they were developed). To have any chance during a seige upon a well-garrisoned (4-6 units) Star Fort, you need a huge stack (15-20 units worked for me), or expect to lose badly. And indeed - spies are useful.

    My favourite use of spies (besides stealing tech) is "support city revolt" - the city's defense rating is instantly stripped to zero for the turn. Siege weapons not needed! (Well, collateral damage is still nice.)

    I had a feeling that UHV would be a real pain, so I played for it from the start - I attacked Poland, Lithuania and the Muscovites while they were still fledgelings and got them to capitulate (think I had lots of wars with Sweden with this stable? Funny, though, since we were on good terms - he wasn't declaring war on me, but on my vassals, so he was always pleased when he'd announce "I hope you realize, this means war!" ;)). At one point Venice declared on me, so I rolled on them, and got them to capitulate, but they declared war on me a few turns later and broke free from me. I tried to vassalize them again, but they collapsed this time. Later on, I decided to declare my own crusade and attacked the Ottomans (and did damn well, too - I pushed my borders to the Aegean and Black Seas, capturing the Adriatic coast, Greece, Thrace and Istanbul herself). In the process Turkey's vassal Genoa broke free from them, and a turn or two later capitulated to me. The game seems to dislike 4 vassals, because this time Lithuania declared war on me, and broke free. When I attempted to re-vassalize them, they collapsed too, so I liberated their cities to Muscovy and Poland for stability's sake. Germany offered to peacefully vassalize several times, which concerned me since Britain + Germany was the only dual Defensive Pact combination I could secure - anyone else (IE Denmark, Sweden, Spain) would agree to a pact, but would turn off the rest of the world from entering into a pact with me, so I was worried the whole game that Germany would wind up someone else's vassal and I'd not be able to hold 2 pacts.

    Overall, though, Austria was an awesome civ to play as - challenging with potenially powerful neighbors, but not too challenging to rise up on your own. I had to play cautiously most of the early game so as to not piss off Turkey & France too much while making sure I was strong enough to hold my vassals and be appealing enough for pacts.
     
  9. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,888
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    No. You just have to conquer Gibraltar to get access to AA. The first civ to discover AA only triggers the resource to spawn near Gibraltar, so that every civ can make use of it.
     
  10. ezzlar

    ezzlar Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,737
    I consider no colonies for Austria a good thing!
     
  11. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,888
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    I agree. It's not impossible for the non-colonial civs to build colonies, but it is very unlikely.
     
  12. Barak

    Barak Emperor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,516
    Location:
    Chicago
    Well, in 1708 both Germany and Poland decided that I was totally awesome and wanted to be my vassals (so I just missed the 2nd condition). I was plunged into a war with Sweden and Genoa, which I will easily win as I am far more advanced than either of them.

    I did manage to order my vassal the Netherlands to give me their AA, so I am in the process of building my colonies. Getting health resources naturally is a must to support my large empire. I think of myself as the Holy Roman Empire, as I insisted on staying catholic as the Hapsburgs did.

    I agree that Austria has become a very fun civ to play.
     
  13. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    Could we add rice to the India Trading Post, would make it a desirable thing
     
  14. 3Miro

    3Miro Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Knoxville USA
    Thanks to everyone posting about the bugs in the code. I will try to do the AA in a better way.
     
  15. 3Miro

    3Miro Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Knoxville USA
    A thousand curses. Sourceforge is down just as I got some time to work on this.
     
  16. 3Miro

    3Miro Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Knoxville USA
    I reverted the Access dynamics to before Vinland stage:

    Spoiler :
    - Atlantic Access is placed on the map from the very beginning and becomes visible with Astronomy
    - Vinland requires North American Access
    - NA Access is visible with Astroable
    - NA Access is placed near Iceland and is removed in 1050AD
     
  17. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    excellent

    EDIT: How long until a release?
     
  18. 3Miro

    3Miro Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Knoxville USA
    Final or another Beta?

    I hope to get the last Beta next week and then move to "release-candidate" (i.e. concentrate everything on fixing bugs and polishing the interface/art).

    I want to get a final version by the end of June or beginning of July. I will be traveling then and I will probably have to move to another job. If I get the new job, it will pay more, but I will be very busy and will not have time to work on such enormous projects.
     
  19. ezzlar

    ezzlar Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,737
    I am playing a game as the Byzantines. My stability drops from 0 to -1. Next turn Alexandria declares independence. I think thats a bit too hard.

    How would you ever survive the -10 drop for revolutions?
     
  20. 3Miro

    3Miro Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Knoxville USA
    Unlucky. The chance of losing a city at -1 is very small. It only starts to count at -5.

    The Revolution drop is only temporary. Since it clears out quickly, the probability that it will cause trouble is small.
     

Share This Page