1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Beta Testing

Discussion in 'Civ4 - The Second Revolution' started by GarretSidzaka, Oct 30, 2006.

  1. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    Big Update!!Download in Main discussion thread!

    I also plan on sending PM's out to people who i think would like to beta test, so if you want me to send some out to your friends, list their civfanatics name here. :goodjob:

    Edit:
    Current testing Team
    Fabrysse
    Dale
    asioasioasio
    Jaythekiller
    Leif
    Hadrean
    ArneHD

    EDIT: OKAY I UPDATED THE DOWNLOAD LINK! THIS ONE SHOULD BE PLAYABLE, but only in 1.00 warlords :rolleyes:
     
  2. Jaythekiller

    Jaythekiller Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    Ajaccio,Corsica,france (Europe)
    Thanks for this good news!!:)
    I can't wait to download!!!
    I could not believe i gonna be the first one to download it!
    THANK YOU VERY MUCH !!!:) :) :)
     
  3. Leif

    Leif Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    A state of Fear and Loathing
    Pleaaaaaase
     
  4. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    ok guys, i'm uploading it now, to a temporary host. so get it quick.

    TO DO's:
    all of the flavor and civiliopaedia texts (if you have already submitted some, they havent been added yet :( ) if you want to submit, just post here
    also need to add strategy texts

    and please, tell me if something glitches, right here in this thread!
     
  5. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,013
    Looking forward to seeing this in action! :)
     
  6. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    ok added the download. Im using Quicksharing, but eventually i will be using 3d downloads and probly civ4files.com for the mirrors (after the beta)
     
  7. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    im already having bugs, reinstalling Warlords/civ4 and retry
     
  8. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    the first error is this: the load time on the map when the scenario is initialized does not end (ive waited maybe 5-7 minutes). it normally loads way before this time.

    my GUESS is that there are some conflicts with the new python that was implemented before i uploaded. i hope that Dale and Fabrysse can work this out
     
  9. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ok, i reverted to an older python, and it loads again, so i will have an updated download real real soon!
     
  10. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    Huge Update

    I sucessfuly played about 20 turns multiplayer. It started to get a little unstable. I think it might have crashed on click an arty, but it could have also just randomly crashed. It crashed for my wife a couple times too.

    Fixed Two Banks thing.
    Added Mount rushmore (world wonder)
    Fixed "Fallout cleaning glitch"
    Fixed a buncha crap

    uploading newer version now.
     
  11. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    Ok add me to the beta testing team
     
  12. Hadrean

    Hadrean Hi, how are you?

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    948
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    You sent me a PM and the download link. The first thing I noticed was it was 109MB, do you think it is possible to cut that down? Maybe make two seperate downloads, one for what is needed generaly, Graphics, units, leaderheads, but put the Music files in another file for those who don't have a fast computer and is not nessesary to have the music files but can download them if nessesary.
     
  13. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    this is a good idea. i think this will have to be addressed in the next release. I also think we should discuss this more...

    I just finished making the bugs go away for the soundtrack. But please pay attention for the load fail if a song has an error.

    anyone who has a wireless network, or a LAN in their house, or even just two computers, might want to try multiplayer out and see what kind of things crash it out.
     
  14. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    we are gonna have to back up civ4 before we patch so that we can stil beta until the SDK and python are worked out. Im getting crash before loading.

    dale were you gettin that too coz of the patch against AoD mod?
     
  15. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,013
    Nah, AoD is vanilla 1.61 civ4 only, not warlords. :)
     
  16. ArneHD

    ArneHD Just a little bit mad

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,153
    Location:
    Tromsø, Norway
    I'll be downloading now.

    Edit: Ok, bug. Failed to load file CvAbInterface error whenever I select a unit. It states that it's a python error.
     
  17. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,013
    Just so everyone knows, you won't be able to play this mod if you've upgraded to 2.08 warlords.

    Well, not till next week when the sdk is released anyways. :)

    Dale
     
  18. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    Did you patch before playing. the beta was release the night before the 2.0.8.0 patch was, and it wont play when patched.



    fix: reinstall civ4/warlords, then copy the entire civ4 folder to you desktop and run it from there for second rev. then install the 2.0.8.0 patch in the normal installation folder.
     
  19. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,013
    Also, if anyone wishes to test this mod AND play 2.08 at the same time you can. :)

    Before upgrading to 2.08 make a copy of your ENTIRE "\Sid Meiers Civilization IV\" folder. Upgrade one to 2.08 and voila you have both version. :)

    This will need to be done until we get the new SDK to upgrade the DLL file. The python will also need to be revisited, but that can be done now.

    Dale
     
  20. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    yeah, dale, let me know anything you can think of that i can do to help with this
     

Share This Page