1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Beta Testing

Discussion in 'Civ4 - The Second Revolution' started by GarretSidzaka, Oct 30, 2006.

  1. Hadrean

    Hadrean Hi, how are you?

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    948
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I already upgraded to 2.08 is there a possible way to take off the patch?
     
  2. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,013
    Sorry, not without uninstalling then re-installing again. Once you get back to warlords 2.00 then copy the folder and install the patch onto your normal "gaming" version, leaving the second copy at 2.00 for mod compatibility till they start getting converted.

    GS:

    There isn't really much that can be done from my side till Firaxis release the 2.08 SDK. However, I posted something for you on the other forum. :)

    Dale
     
  3. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    cool, i saw it, thanks :goodjob:

    @Everyone
    This mod works well enough to consistantly play on single player. So follow Dale's advice on reverting to 2.00 warlords
    We can still debug the game rules and make more text submissions to the mod!!
     
  4. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,013
    ^^^ He means 2.00 (Retail Release) Warlords. ;)
     
  5. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    :p lol thanks
     
  6. ArneHD

    ArneHD Just a little bit mad

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,153
    Location:
    Tromsø, Norway
    I did infact patch, but I reinstalled Warlords afterwards.
     
  7. Fabrysse

    Fabrysse Charming-snake learner

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    I'm back !!!!!
    Well. I'm now downloading. I'll try the mod this evening.
    Hope that python work to make the mod running with the new Warlord version won't be too hard...
     
  8. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    there is a problem. we are going to need to redo the Python and SDK...when the 2.0.8.0 SDK comes out :(
     
  9. Hadrean

    Hadrean Hi, how are you?

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    948
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Garret: I know why the stadium shadow is pink. you need to copy the rest of the coloseum files from it's default location to the mod's stadium folder
     
  10. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    ok will do! was that in the readme?
     
  11. Hadrean

    Hadrean Hi, how are you?

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    948
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    It should of have had been...
     
  12. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    well, it figures, i have the attention span for readme's like a eleven year old kid with ADD.
     
  13. Fabrysse

    Fabrysse Charming-snake learner

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    OK. It's not a problem. I haven't yet installed the patch to be able to test the game without installing a new version of Civ. I'll do it soon, and so, I'll see what have to be changed.

    Here is a list of "problems" I listed while playing yesterday evening/night (no crash of game for me) :
    • There is no "Dawn of man TITLE". In French this title will be something like "Birth of humans". It should be modified for exemple just by "Second Revolution"...
    • We should replace the butons "Religion" (joined hands) by something else representing ideology...
    • Rebel coalition and Zapatistas doesn't know each other at the beginning of the game. Normal ?...
    • We should change the "religion advisor" to "ideology advisor"...
    • Playing as rebel coalition, we have to convert (revolution) to become Anarchist (the religion). So it's 1 turn of anarchy. I think this should be already done when game begins... And we should change the word "anarchy" to "chaos" or "civil desorder" everywhere it is...
    • When you open the game, rebels are not able to train "guerillas", and zapatistas are not able to train "zapatistas"... Is it logical ? Not sure. (I tried only these 2 civs, it might be the same for the others).
    • Turn 2: Calderon became vassal of Bush :( Testing an alpha version with the old map (V1.6), it was Canada that became vassal of Bush... If think you can modify that in the map.
    • A Great General was born in one of my cities. But the small icon appearing in the city, was the one of Great Ingenier.
    • Castro wanted me (zapatista) to become communist (he is mad !!). In each text about that he talked about religions. We should modify these texts to make them talking about ideology...
    That's all for now.
     
  14. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    cool, we'll get this one done!!

    • fixing..."The heartbeat of Revolution beats again..."
    • Yeah, been working on that.... lemme see... ok i believe i have fixed it. changed 4 more instances of praying hands
    • those are just some quirks of the game. the first one was like that, and im fine with it.
    • what would you recommend?
    • ok im checking...cant find the text entry for anarchy....will have to update the map to set state religion. maybe civilizationinfos too
    • i will have to fix this, too when i get into the map file.
    • make them more pissed at each other?
    • that will probly be addressed in the official patch.
    That's all for now.[/quote]

    that will be the final beta phase. completing the flavor texts!! not an easy task.

    Thanks fabrysse, im glad i could get to some of those things!
     
  15. Fabrysse

    Fabrysse Charming-snake learner

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    I think that just adding and modifying that should run :
    Code:
    	<TEXT>
    		<Tag>TXT_KEY_RELIGION_SCREEN_TITLE</Tag>
    		<English>Religion Advisor</English>
    		<French>Conseiller religieux</French>
    		<German>Religionsberater</German>
    		<Italian>Consigliere religioso</Italian>
    		<Spanish>Consejero religioso</Spanish>
    	</TEXT>
    
    EDIT : I'll add it (look at next next "edit")


    Do you want me to have a look and purpose something ?
    EDIT : Don't know if you are still there, so I do it.

    I don't know...
     
  16. Fabrysse

    Fabrysse Charming-snake learner

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    I changed :
    • "Religion" to "Ideology"
    • "Revolution" to "Trouble"
    • "Anarchy" to "Chaos"
    • "Holy City" to "Emblem City"
    • "Convert" (to a religion) to "Adopt" (an ideology)
    • "Faith" to "Ideology"

    For each one, you can search/replace with what ever you prefer...

    This file (download at bottom) should be placed in "Assets\XML\Text". Then, it should run (not tested).

    Something else to do in this same file :
    • search "TXT_KEY_VOTE". You'll find texts for UNO resolutions (with the best civics). It would be better if the resolutions talk about the best civics of Second Revolution...
    • and search ancient civics too (I saw "religious freedom", but there is probably the others too) and replace with your best civics.
    Not enough time now to do it...
     

    Attached Files:

  17. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    thanks. i'll have to open game. having crappy morning
     
  18. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,013
    In the WBS in the team section you can set what teams have contact with each other.

    Dale
     
  19. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    Yeah, i know in the first version i only learned about that late in my creation of it. But when i played it made sense because of the great distance that the civ's would have of enemy territory and no satellite networks. You will probly get in touch with them in 2-5 turns, depending on naval situations in the carribean.

    So, after that, should we give them contact automatically?
     
  20. Gyathaar

    Gyathaar Warlock Retired Moderator GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,753
    Location:
    Trondheim, Norway
    The 2.08 patch I downloaded from the links here at civfanatics contained the SDK..
     

Share This Page