1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Biggest Blunders?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by Larsz, Mar 12, 2008.

  1. madscientist

    madscientist RPC Supergenius

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,954
    Location:
    New York City
    I'll add another recent game (Like yesterday). Playing as Willem on a Pangea map. Excellent start, techs like crazy, with copper and horses in my capital BFC after the second population border pop. Had 4 nice cities with marble, with the Great Libaray built in like 300 BC!!! Every city had 3 axes as defense!!!

    Unfortunately I delayed archery and did not build spears. Got chariot rushed by Hannibal (who was on the other side of the world) and lost 2 cities before I knew it.

    Dumb!
     
  2. obsolete

    obsolete Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,201
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    One more thing.... I had a tonne of prats I was planning to upgrade to macemen. Did I have iron? Yes... Were my units in my own territory? Yes...

    Ooops, can't upgraded. Found out the hard way that having units inside your own territory is not enough, you need to have them in proper upgrade locations!
     
  3. Gwynnja

    Gwynnja Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,010
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    CA
    I didn't know that! What are proper upgrade locations?

    Re: forgetting to do certain things... I made a minor discovery that should come in VERY handy; I you're using the HOF mod, you can go into the option screen and turn on a "reminder option." Very helpful indeed.
     
  4. ParadigmShifter

    ParadigmShifter Random Nonsense Generator

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,810
    Location:
    Liverpool, home of Everton FC
    Proper upgrade locations seem to be on a tile which is connected to a trade network that has the required resources to perform an upgrade. Generally, on a road or in a city connected to the trade network. It is a bit weird though, I got burned by this trying to upgrade a great general war elephant to a cavalry once.
     
  5. CivCorpse

    CivCorpse Supreme Overlord of All

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,930
    Let me know when civfanatics gets a bigger server so I can post all my blunders without using all the bandwidth available for a small city.
    Most biggest blunder of all came back in Civ1...I built my first wonder...then i built another...and another....oh help me Jesus i can't stop....and another ...and another
     
  6. Rameau's Nephew

    Rameau's Nephew Bureaucrat

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    262
    Location:
    Bethesda, MD
    Most of my common big blunders have already been mentioned, but here's another kinda-minor one that I do all the freakin' time:

    I forget to alter the tiles worked in my cities when they switch to making workers or settlers. E.g., I pull citizens off of my big food tiles to avoid exceeding the happy cap, and forget to put them back when a worker or settler is under construction.
     
  7. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam Top Logic

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    25,002
    I've attached GG's and *not* gotten +20xp for doing it. This really bothers me, and I'd say it qualifies as a blunder. Why does the unit not get the xp?

    Note: I assumed that it had something to do with being in enemy territory or a city in anarchy, but I recently attached a GG in one of my own cities, that HAD culture borders. No MASH unit for me, just free upgrades. WTF?
     
  8. CivCorpse

    CivCorpse Supreme Overlord of All

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,930
    How many units were in the stack when you attached? It spreads the exp points around
     
  9. oyzar

    oyzar Have quit civ/forums

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    6,923
    Location:
    Norway
    A GG will spread it's xp to the units evenly even if it is only "attached" to one of the units.. So if you are going to to use a GG for a super medic, separate it from the rest of the units first..
     
  10. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam Top Logic

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    25,002
    :eek:. Didn't know that! Thanks!

    I probably spread about 2 xp to each unit then:lol:. I'd say that would qualify as a blunder...since ZERO units god promos:lol:.
     
  11. obsolete

    obsolete Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,201
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Another blunder... sometimes small, sometimes big, is I keep hogging all the religions by accident. I keep forgetting to check the tech on the last turn and just can never learn my lesson.
     
  12. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam Top Logic

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    25,002
    You just click on the religions button and check to see the date founded right? I often intentionally avoid founding them myself (epsecially on continents or other maps where some AI's are elsewhere), although forgetting to do so is a problem for me also.
     
  13. Sleepless

    Sleepless Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    3,513
    Biggest blunder and also my favourite Civ moment.

    Someone posted a Deity OCC challenge to win by space and not build any military although you could upgrade the original warrior.

    Everything going great into the 1800s had a defensive pact with Gilgamesh (to my West) who was Tech leader and world super power. Not sure I would have been much use to him in a war with my one warrior though :).

    So then I have the bright idea of the getting a dp with the worlds second super power Hannibal (SW of me). I thought very wrongly I would be very safe with those 2 to protect me.

    A few turns later the war horns go and I find I have declared war on Ragnar and Saladin (adjacent to my borders Rag NW Sal NE) with my army consisting of one warrior. After a bit of an :eek::eek::eek: moment and a:rotfl: moment. They had declared war on Hannibal.

    Luckily I had gone for robotics early to get the space elevator so my warrior managed to find a nice new shiny Mech Inf Carrier to get into and with me cheering Hannibals tanks on managed to survive. I also got Gil in on the action but it cost me Superconductors as a bribe and I eventually lost the space race to Gil by a couple of turns. I possibly would have won without the dp pact with Han so just failed in my first deity win.

    So the moral of this story is don't be too greedy on defensive pacts because sometimes you might be obliged to fight a war you really really don't want to.:)
     
  14. King Monkeyman

    King Monkeyman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Boston
    :eek: :confused:

    I can't believe no one has mentioned the BIG ONE:

    Starting a land war in Asia!!!

    :crazyeye:

    --kmm
     

Share This Page