1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[BtS] Dales Combat Mod!

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by Dale, Jan 2, 2008.

  1. Thomas SG

    Thomas SG CCV-designer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,164
    Location:
    Germany
    Dear Dale,

    why do you ignore my suggestions for battle? Is my English really so bad that nobody can understand it? I think that my solution could improve the situation, because I think

    - it is nomore a 1 on 1 solution
    - it shouldn't be overpowered
    - it should not be too hard to make it
    - the AI uses it automatically and so uses it the right way
    - it is more realistic

    Example from above: One tile is some 10km as you know Dale and so a frigate that is just passing by if I understand it right may not be hurt by cannons or weaker artillery. My solution could avoid such problems.

    Regards
    Thomas
     
  2. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,031
    I will address it here as to why I don't believe your suggestion will work in my mod. Don't get me wrong, it looks like a great idea, but there are reasons it won't work in MY mod.

    1. It goes against my ideal of heading towards a semi-tactical stack attack method. You still think in terms of "one attacker" and "one defender".
    2. In my stack attack, all attackers and defenders will engage at the same time. There will be no spare units.
    3. It will induce mega-micromanagement on the player's part. Not only do they have to remember the rock-paper-scissors matchups, but also battle range matchups too.
    4. In reality, the ability of a unit to fire from the maximum of its range is severely limited by terrain, accuracy, weather, defense tactics. I'm aiming for a more realistic combat model, and all units firing at the maximum extent of the battle range is very illogical and unrealistic.
    5. In the heat of battle, artillery is not THAT accurate. Air smart bombs are totally different, but artillery delivered bombs are not very accurate, and non-discriminatory in what it hits, even in our modern age. Therefore, specifying individual missions is pointless.
    6. For artillery bombardment, its the ammo that determines the mission, not the gun. For aerial bombardment, it's the delivery that determines the mission, not the ammo. Therefore specified missions for artillery will not work due to this either.

    Sorry mate, great idea but I can't see it working in my mod/plans.

     
  3. Thomas SG

    Thomas SG CCV-designer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,164
    Location:
    Germany
    I fear I've got to do it on my own. Very sad. :sad: It will take me a lot of time and it will maybe never be working...

    But if I fail I will believe in the power of the German forum. :goodjob: Than we will try it all together to do it on our own. Yes,... :cowboy:

    But :thanx: any way. I will ask you for help with the nuclear bomber in next days. Can't get it to work right yet.
     
  4. PSYX

    PSYX Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Dale, please, can you add to you SDK, MAX CIV to 34 civs? Likes in Blacksun s SDK. I want to add to my mod your good SDK features:)

    Thx
     
  5. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    Hi Dale,

    Just so you know, I am trying to merge DCM with JKP/NextWar on request of some of the players. Since there's no DLL file in NextWar, it should just be a matter of merging folders and Python/XML files. I'm assuming, though, that certain units and buildings will require some DCM-specific values, though, especially with the air bombing missions.

    I did a real hasty merge last night, but once I loaded the game, the Civilopedia wouldn't load, and the game just didn't seem to work properly. Granted, I did it in a few minutes, so I'm sure there were things I overlooked.

    I already noticed the DCM value for the building bombing missions -- with a value like 1, 2, 3, 4. Since there are a few new buildings in NextWar, what do these values refer to?

    I also noticed the DCM ranged bombardment value -- I assigned it to the only unit that can bombard cities in NW, the Assault Mech (I assumed that this was what it was for.)

    Before I go back to this tonight, are there any DCM-specific values for units/buildings/techs/etc. that I might have missed?

    Thanks!
     
  6. Rhuarc

    Rhuarc Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    I'm half afraid that once I get used to the way combat works after this mod that I will be spoiled and want this type of combat for all my games of Civ IV, regardless of what mod I'm running! LoL

    Here's to full MP support in the future! :D
     
  7. Shqype

    Shqype Shqyptar

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,468
    Location:
    New York + Shqypni
    Guys.

    It isn't difficult to take Dale's DLL changes (his SDK code), add them to the Civ4 GameCoreDLL folder, change the one value necessary to allow for more civs, and then to compile your own custom DLL.
     
  8. Thomas SG

    Thomas SG CCV-designer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,164
    Location:
    Germany
    Sorry, but I tried to take the Dales changes to use them with bhuric-patch but when tried to make a new gamecoredll I got an error! There is something wrong and I couldn't fix it. As it seems to me there are two or more mistakes in Dales marks. (I found one mistake and there is still a error).

    And there is also no file that tells you how to implement the NB in your own mod. I tried it but my NB is still falling from the sky and then the game hang up. :sad: Can someone tell me where Dale made changes for the NB? That would be very, very nice.
     
  9. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,652
    Location:
    israel
    Thomas SG,

    you want dale code with bhuric patch only?

    cause if you want i have a code with the following:
    dale 1.02 combat mod
    40 civs
    mercenay mod - optionall to use.
    bhuric patch
    attitude icons - also optionall to use.

    if you wish you can use my merged code and basicly enjoy dale + bhuric,
    my other implemnted codes are working only if you want them too.

    tell me and ill get you the source+the finished dll.

    keldath.
     
  10. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,031
    Okay, so there's a request for 34 civs, and 77 civs. :)
     
  11. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,031
    Buildings schema:
    iDCMAirbombMission - Signifies what airbomb mission destroys this building (valid = 2 or 3)

    Technology schema:
    bDCMAirBombTech1 - Specifies what tech allows more chances that airbomb hits a building (basically more accurate targetted bombs) [Default - Computers]
    bDCMAirBombTech2 - Specifies the second tech which allows even more chances [Default - Lasers]

    Units schema:
    iDCMBombRange - Can perform ranged bombardment at this range
    iDCMBombAccuracy - Accuracy of unit for ranged bombard and archer bombard (think chance to hit)
    bDCMAirBomb1 - Can perform standard defense / improvement airbomb
    bDCMAirBomb2 - Can perform Civil building airbomb
    bDCMAirBomb3 - Can perform Prod building airbomb
    bDCMAirBomb4 - Can perform Port airbomb
    bDCMAirBomb5 - Can perform strategic airbomb
    bDCMFighterEngage - Can perform fighter engagement mission
     
  12. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,031
    In the next version I'll include a couple different dll files with different civ limits.
     
  13. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,031
    You might not have seen it, but theres a change to CIV4EffectInfos.xml which you need. It fixes the animation.

    Also make sure you have the artwork definition and artwork in the right spot.
     
  14. cFccFc

    cFccFc Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    297
    Now I have played for some time with your mod and it works great. However I realised that the 100 % great general emergence on imperialistic doesn't work. Unless you need 60 then 120 then -- xp rather than 30 - 60 ---xp. There was no double of points in the "war info" screen after fighting with other units. Is this BTS or your mod?

    And that Get here or whatever can be a little annyoing over time..

    Other than that, its working great. It even seem a bit faster than unmodded gaming to me!
     
  15. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,031
    Was that after adding Imperialistic to your leader through the customiser?

    There's a bug with traits added through customiser that some bits don't function as expected (like the GG increase, or financial +1 GP).
     
  16. Thomas SG

    Thomas SG CCV-designer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,164
    Location:
    Germany
    Sorry. Post can be deleted.
     
  17. cFccFc

    cFccFc Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    297
    Yeh it was. I played Churchill, and it didn't work. I guess I'l cant play both imperialistic and charismatic. Thoose two togheter with Pentagon and the great generals char provides would make my military just awesome. Now its just almost awesome, which sucks as I am playing at Monarch and harder where I really need some quality troopers as I cant build as many as the enemy.
     
  18. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,031
    It does inflict damage on units. :confused:
     
  19. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,102
    Location:
    In orbit
    I know it does - I've used it - but the pic doesn't show it.;)
     
  20. Thomas SG

    Thomas SG CCV-designer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,164
    Location:
    Germany
    Sorry Dale,

    but I need your help again. The animation is working fine now, so far so good. :thanx: But the behaivior of the bomber is very strange. I made a test with worldbuilder. I gave my enemy a city with lots of fighters and attacked him in the next turn with a nukebomber.

    I thought that the fighters would now shoot down the bomber but they won't do so. Why not? Have I made mistake again? Of course bombers must be intercepted by fighters. :(
     

Share This Page