Caveman2Cosmos

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by strategyonly, Oct 26, 2011.

  1. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,634
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    The AI is probably drafting, slaving or simply building fast enough to produce 2 more after the previous ones - there's also the fact that sometimes they'll hide some potential defenders on ships and only bring them out if they NEED to.

    Thanks to promotions, they may indeed become stronger as they are attacked. Even in the same round if they get a battlefield promo and go mostly unharmed.
     
  2. Marshall Ney

    Marshall Ney Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Okay, I have learned some things in the last responses from you all and I thank you.

    My feelings, from so many games I've played thru the years, is why do Devs have to give the AI so many advantages??? Speaking specifically to about promotions here; the AI can get promos instantly??? , while player has to wait until next turn for his to take effect; WHY, why is the AI never subject to the same playing rules as the player??? I have seen in other versions, me the player settles a city w/horses, develop the resourse & whala, very next turn barbian horsemen show up attacking me. WHY? If they are just another Civ, why don't they have develop a resourse?? I'm sorry, but this kind of cheating by AIs just drive me nuts. Instant promotions, healing one turn vs player 1 or 2 or 3-4, etc to heal, even w/healers???

    Please, understand I want to like this game. I have tried going back to vanilla BTS or Invictus, and they are so bland!! But I have to also, find a way to make this game run better. Would you suggest that I buy a hard copy disc( use to have one) and put files in another place on C:drive and then place your mod there and try using??? I came across a great sub-sima while back and they right from start said not via Steam for mods!!! I just don't understand why the CIV IV & BTS files now via Steam, keep needing re-aquires files.

    Thanks for reading my rants and your help.

    MN
     
  3. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,709
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
  4. Drakarska

    Drakarska Epic Dadness

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Location:
    Twilight Zone
    Ermm, you do know that you can customize your game in the customs settings, as wll as in the BUG menu, right? If your having that much of an issue with barbs, perhaps tweaking the game a bit may help alleviate some of your angst, or if I may recommend, perhaps visiting the S&T forums to assist in your enjoyment of the game.

    Also, because I'm curious, would you mind expounding on your statement of how you consider Realism Invictus "bland"? Between C2C and RI, I would consider them to be highly creative and innovative. Bland wouldn't seem to be part of my lexicon concerning that, so please explain.
     
  5. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,634
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    No advantage given here that the player wouldn't have. They aren't getting to select promos immediately - battlefield promotions can happen for ai and player units alike and are more likely derived during survived battles with more difficult odds. There's a few quirks about them that probably aren't optimal and some players prefer games without them at all as a result. It's a BUG option whether they are included in play or not so whether it's on or off can be adjusted mid-game.

    RE Barbs: They are NOT just another civ - only categorized as such for some game function purposes. We've not changed the way the setup has always been for barbarians in this regard. Unlike actual players, barbarian units spawn randomly across the map - their tech development and resource requirements work completely different to a normal civ and always have. It's not an 'unfair' advantage as they are not a 'competitor' in the game but are rather intended to be a random challenge element. They maintain cities but do so rather poorly and only with a military focus to produce more units to challenge the actual game players with. There IS a game option to turn them off without disabling animals now. Recently they've been made incapable of birthing hero units out from under those players that had rightfully earned the cultures required to train them.
     
  6. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,555
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Battle promotions happen instantly for both AI and player but then neither get a choice about which to choose. For those from experience both have to wait until next turn to choose them. At least that is my experience.

    Again as far as I know we have not programmed any advantage to the AI over what is in BtS except one for food production where they don't loose as much food to waste as human players do early in the game.
     
  7. Pomphis

    Pomphis Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    I just completed my first carracks in my first C2C game. They have no cargo capacity at all, not even for explorers. Is this deliberate ? If no, how can I restore it ? If yes, why ? The civilopedia claims that they have the cargo capacity they used to have.
     
  8. Pomphis

    Pomphis Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    So I wanted to build explorers and had to realize that I cannot build explorers anywhere in my empire. I researched geometry long ago, and am not yet advanced enough to build adventurers, which are not available anyway either. Any idea why that might be ?
     
  9. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,634
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I've noted this discrepancy myself and I'd like to adjust it... Actually I'm not sure if I have already or not.

    You can't build any hunting or recon units?
     
  10. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,816
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Carracks have always (well since v29 at least) come without any cargo space. I agree that's probably wrong, but it's not the recently-introduced bug. The more recent bug (which as you say you may have fixed in the SVN - I dunno) is they are unable to get Transport Troops promo(s).
     
  11. Pomphis

    Pomphis Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    Do you know how to do it ? Could you tell me ?


    Hunters (Wardens) yes, recon no.
     
  12. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,634
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Find them in the unitinfos.xml and adjust iCargo (probably to 2) and give it a DOMAIN_LAND designation for domaincargo.




    hmm... I wonder if it has something to do with Scouts still being able to upgrade into hunters - they don't get an equivalent recon upgrade at the same time but may still be incapable of being built once you can build a hunter. At a point, the next Scout upgrade opens up (Guide I think.)
     
  13. Bakaroyna

    Bakaroyna Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    I have a problem using landmarks from the Worldbuilder. EVery time I add a landmark, it simply disappears after a couple of turns. Sam if I use a personalised map, where it names lakes, ridges etc.

    Does anyone know of a fix, or if this is a problem for anyone else?
     
  14. God-Emperor

    God-Emperor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,551
    Location:
    Texas
    The next version should have a fix in it for the game-added markers (personalized map and event signs). A fix for signs added by the player has not been put in, as far as I know, so they will only stick around until your next save (auto or manual) or viewport shift, if using viewports.
     
  15. Bakaroyna

    Bakaroyna Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Thank you for the quick reply. A shame about the personal landmarks not being fixed, they are the only thing I miss in this mod.
     
  16. Echse

    Echse Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    291
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi there,

    first of all i have to say thanks again and how i love this mod. I have played it many times in the past and now again for a few month.
    In my latest game i came around something very unusual what i really cant explain. I conquered a city that is now too good in everything. After i had build every available building in a few dozen rounds this city produces now more than all my 40 other cities i have combined, but not just hammers also commerce, food, culture and everything else.
    I play on the slowest possible speed but now it feels like the fastest at least in this city. In all other cities it is now impossible to keep up with new invented buildings.

    Does anyone have an idea what happened here and how i could avoid something like that in future games because now this doesnt make fun anymore because i will be too good too soon.

    This is a sceenshot i took in the city screen:
    Spoiler :


    thanks
     
  17. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,555
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    As answered on the Caveman2Cosmos thread to fully find out what went wrong we would need a save from before you capture the city. For you to continue playing this game try a recalc (Ctrl-Alt-R I think) it should fix those excess production numbers.
     
  18. Angelos79

    Angelos79 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Love this mod, but it simply gets too slow at about mid-game. Any clues? Playing the latest ver. on a large map. Thanks for any suggestions, i just love this mod....
     
  19. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,709
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Wait till next version, twice as fast. I an currently playing a 25-30 civ game and i am in the Ren Era, and it takes me less than 45 seconds per turn.
     
  20. Angelos79

    Angelos79 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Finally, thank god :) Officially camping the mod until new version comes !
     

Share This Page