1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[CiV pack] Ancient Mediterranean Civilizations

Discussion in 'Civ5 - New Civilizations' started by ambrox62, Mar 26, 2011.

  1. henryMCVII

    henryMCVII Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    \O/ Yeah! Thats awesome, these Leaders are what I am waiting for. :goodjob: :rockon:


    Anyway will this LHs be compatible with Mods like Wars of the Bronze Age? It looks to me, Firaxis/2K don't want total conversions like TAM or FFH, so I just wonder.
     
  2. ambrox62

    ambrox62 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    I think they should be compatible with EVERY mods, simply because they are additional civs (i.e. these civs don't modify anything of vanilla CiV, apart adding themselves to the playable civ list)
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Nielsneutron

    Nielsneutron Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Can't there be problems with the UB and UU if the MOD changes the original ones?

    A MOD like Building made more fun changes and adds buildings and if some of the changed buildings is made into a UB for a civ what would happen?
     
  4. ambrox62

    ambrox62 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    Of course, if a mod is very invasive there is a risk.
    But, imo, a mod should consider that people may add civs to the game. By far, it's the most likely thing that can happen :)
     
  5. ambrox62

    ambrox62 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    Version 1 is out ;)

    Enjoy :)
     
  6. pasal83

    pasal83 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Lyon, FRANCE
    Hello,

    I am French and I set vercingetorix!!!!

    Thank you
     
  7. aatami

    aatami Kuruth Urfarah, kuruth!

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    Finland
    The only thing that is keeping me from downloading this mod is, that you have just copied other civs traits (except for the Gaul first half). I really don't like the fact that people do that.

    Otherwise, I am bewhildered by the extremely good work. Any chance you could make the civ traits completely unique?

    BTW, also, will it be possible at some point to have your leaders have their 2D screen without all leaders being 2D?
     
  8. ambrox62

    ambrox62 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    I agree with you , but ... believe me ... there are no chanches to introduce something different
    At the current modding level, you may manage only existing XML tags, which are very limited both in number and effects.

    When 2K produces new DLC civs, they add new tags that become available for modders. This way I could assign trait to Gauls only because it was released for Polynesia (Moai effect). Before that, you could not use it.

    On the other hand, I'm looking at these civs as a separate universe to play among them. In fact I will reuse traits owned by civs far away from mediterranean ones. Yes, you may also play Japan and Britons together, as England and Britons together, but you well know that you are playing with duplicates.

    2K said that "Civ 5 is the easier modificable game of ever"; for the moment, modders have a very limited amount of tools and items to work on, very-very-very limited compared to the Civ4 ones. Furthermore, if modders could produce for free civs with quality and features equal to 2K ones, how 2K could sell their costly DLCs? :)

    Yes, if 2K ONE DAY will let it, or if someone, in the meantime, will realize what I wrote at the bottom of this post
     
  9. aatami

    aatami Kuruth Urfarah, kuruth!

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    Finland
    Idea: Couldn't the Briton UA be +X food in each city? (Possible?)
    I, at least, am appauled by the idea of making exact duplicates.

    If the thing is so, I think the Gauls et cetera are okay, but please, please do not make exact duplicates. I would rather have you make modified duplicates (like with the Gauls) than exact duplicates.
     
  10. ambrox62

    ambrox62 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    Some UAs cannot be splitted or modified. Japan and Aztec ones, for example, are all-at-once UA. You cannot lower or raise their effects. Furthermore these UA are so strong that you should not add some more.
    I simply decided that "bushido" UA would fit well for ancient Britons also, and there was nothing else I could do than assign it as a whole.

    Whenever 2K guys decide to assign "more food in cities" UA to a (new) civ, they simply write the code to add such UA to CiV executable. Modders cannot do that. So I cannot add "food in cities" and whatever else you may invent.

    As I said, there are very little space to add something new with the existing XML tags; nonetheless I'll try to be as more "creative" as possible, although I cannot do anything else apart to shuffle current UAs among them ;)
     
  11. aatami

    aatami Kuruth Urfarah, kuruth!

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    Finland
    So it has to be an UA, you can't use code from maritime CS's to make an UA like that?
     
  12. ambrox62

    ambrox62 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    No, I can't.
     
  13. ambrox62

    ambrox62 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    I would present the next two civs asking a help to check grammar mistakes in the introductory text. English isn't my first language and I will be grateful to whom will check the text below. Thanks ;)

    I've planned to release new version in the weekend

    EDIT: attachments removed
     
  14. Optik

    Optik Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    France
    Great DOM pictures as previous. I'm impatient to see what gives the UU and UB of the Phoenician Empire, a maritime nation apparently. I have a question about it: how you customize the preferences of the leader(especially focus on maritime features)? You use the IA table already existing or you change something?
     
  15. awesome

    awesome Meme Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    behind you
    only grammar errors i found were some places where there should have been commas and one place where you didn't capitalize "Germanic", so overall, grammar's good.
     
  16. snipperrabbit!!

    snipperrabbit!! Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,396
    Ambrox, if you're looking for Celtic settlements I recommend you to look at L'arbre celtique.

    Also, in DoM screen "blessings of Baal" seems a little too bland ! It can use some more emphasizing like " blessings of the allmighty Lord Baal" or anything that can replace the adjective.

    Edit : cities in Gaul
     
  17. ambrox62

    ambrox62 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    I simply used the XML tags already present in the modificable code. Hopefully it should work, although I'm not very confident on that. For example, I set phoenicians starting location on the ocean, but in my test they often start in the mainland. I'm very disappointed of it, expecially because I set duel-pangea maps with no CS in my test. I think it should be easy enough for the AI to find a suitable coastal location in such situation, but it doesn't happen. The code is there; if it will work is a 2K matter...
     
  18. ambrox62

    ambrox62 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    Thanks a lot! :goodjob:
    I saw the "germanic" word and the "artistic," comma to remove. Where are the remaining incorrect commas?
     
  19. ambrox62

    ambrox62 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    Ok, I'll find a emphasized expression (although Baal already means Lord) :goodjob:

    Thanks for the link also, although french isn't my language. However, at first glance, I notice the absence of the capital Bibracte in the city list, and it's strange enough. Do you agree?

    For Gauls and Britons I copied/pasted a previous city list, without checking it. Your link will be useful for such task.
    Instead for phoenicians I made a carefull research/selection of historical cities in order to assign them cities in the middle east area, and to assign to Chartage the (often phoenician founded) cities in the western mediterranean coast.
    For germanic tribes I didn't found any reference to ancient cities; thus I ended to assign tribe names as city names after a carefully selection of tribes, letting off the scandinavian ones.

    By the way of Chartage, I would assign queen Dido as leader. Unfortunately I haven't found yet a suitable model. Anyone helping me to catch it somewhere on the web is welcome (also body and head separately, as I did with Arminius). The same is true for middle-east leaders (assyrian/babylonian, hittite and median ones)

    Furthermore any link to HD large pictures suitable for ancient leader background is welcome (in most cases I ended to use natural landscapes which are good for european/barbarian civs, not for civilized mideast civs)
     
  20. Optik

    Optik Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    France
    Did you also set regions to avoid?
    Code:
    <Civilization_Start_Region_Avoid>
    <Row>
    <CivilizationType>CIVILIZATION_XXXX</CivilizationType> 
    <RegionType>REGION_GRASS</RegionType> 
    </Row>
    </Civilization_Start_Region_Avoid>
    
    You can add several regions to avoid.
     

Share This Page