1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ4 Plugins for 3dsmax 6 and 7 now available for download

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Creation & Customization' started by Kael, Feb 15, 2006.

  1. Kael

    Kael Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,400
    Location:
    Ohio
    The following contains plugins and scripts made to export into a format Civ4 can use. Have fun.

    Plugins:

    3dsmax version 6: http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=10
    3dsmax version 6 (mirror): http://files.filefront.com/CivilizationIV_MaxTools_v6zip/;4768052;;/fileinfo.html

    3dsmax version 7+: http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=11
    3dsmax version 7+ (mirror): http://files.filefront.com/CivilizationIV_MaxTools_v7zip/;4768063;;/fileinfo.html

    [tab]To install the 3dsmax 7 plugins just extract the contents of the zip file and copy everything into the c:\3dsmax\ directory.


    Documentation:

    Download here: http://kael.civfanatics.net/files/UnitsinCiv4.zip

    [tab]Please let me know if you have any feedback from this. Incorrect info, stuff you would like to see added, etc. Huge thanks to Firaxis for producing all of this stuff.


    Example files:

    Download here: http://kael.civfanatics.net/files/ExampleFiles.zip



    Other Files:

    30 day eval 3dsmax 7: http://www.softpedia.com/get/Multimedia/Graphic/Graphic-Editors/3D-Studio-Max.shtml
     
  2. vbraun

    vbraun Raytracing

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,530
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Could you upload these to the civfanatics server?
     
  3. Kael

    Kael Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,400
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, let me see what I can do.
     
  4. kandalf

    kandalf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    116
    Sweet! (Now I have to get 3ds max)
     
  5. Kael

    Kael Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,400
    Location:
    Ohio
    I added a link that should allow you to download a free 30day eval.
     
  6. kandalf

    kandalf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    116
    Already did that a long time ago. It expired.
     
  7. kandalf

    kandalf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    116
    I was able to get 3ds max 7 working, but how do I install the plugin? When I try to run the boundshape.max file, it says mimmerse.dlu is missing.
     
  8. Kael

    Kael Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,400
    Location:
    Ohio
    The 3ds max 7 plugins should just be and executable you run, it takes care of everything.

    If you have installed it correctly you should be able to export a file in CivilizationIV (*.kf, *.nif) format.
     
  9. kandalf

    kandalf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    116
    what file do I run?
     
  10. Kael

    Kael Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,400
    Location:
    Ohio
    Im sorry, your right, just copy everything in there into the 3dsmax directory.
     
  11. kandalf

    kandalf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    116
    Do I extract to the 3dsmax7 folder? Or a subfolder? I can't get it to work.
     
  12. Kael

    Kael Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,400
    Location:
    Ohio
    Copy everything in the zip into the c:\3dsmax\ directory. So the Boundshape.max should end up copied into c:\3dsmax\Boundshape.max etc etc.
     
  13. Belizan

    Belizan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,060
    This is such huge news. Pity I'm a graphics monkey--Give me a million clones of myself and a million years, and I'll make you one helluva model! 8).

    BTW, does the plug-in allow you to do encode animation information?
     
  14. Kael

    Kael Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,400
    Location:
    Ohio
    I don't know for sure, Im not a 3d guy. But it includes a lot of scripts for Civ4 that seem to deal with animations. It also allows exports in a *.kf format, which I believe is the animation's. So I believe you can.

    Im excited to see what folks more talented than I can come up with.

    The only thing I wasn't able to do is I can't find a way to import any of the models that come with the game.
     
  15. kandalf

    kandalf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    116
    Me too. It says invalid format
     
  16. Kael

    Kael Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,400
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, I don't think its possible. 3dsmax exports Nif's in a format Civ4 can use, but its not as high of a version as the current models in Civ4.
     
  17. Thunderfall

    Thunderfall Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    12,150
    Gender:
    Male
  18. Kael

    Kael Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,400
    Location:
    Ohio
  19. Kael

    Kael Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,400
    Location:
    Ohio
    Is it to early to start asking for a Dragon model?
     
  20. TheBladeRoden

    TheBladeRoden Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,257
    Location:
    The Middle West

Share This Page